We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at this hotel because of the excellent location, not much else to offer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Sentosa Gateway, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Stay at this hotel because of the excellent location, not much else to offer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Here are my pros and cons of staying at Hard Rock Hotel:

Pros

1. Excellent location. Literally only 5 minutes walk from hotel to Universal Studio Singapore (USS) and one of the monorail station of Sentosa. Great for late risers but who wants to be at USS when the park opens. Also perfect if you hate leaving early from Sentosa because you're afraid of missing the last bus to the city. We were able to just stroll to our hotel after we finished seeing the Songs of the Sea show. Added bonus was that since a lot of people leave by 9pm from Sentosa, we were able to enjoy some popular attractions in Sentosa, such as the Luge, with absolutely no line.

If you have small children or a senior, save yourself the hassle of travelling by getting a hotel inside Sentosa. My mother loved the fact that we could just walk to the hotel after a long day and immediately relax.

2. Entrance Fee is waived. I know it's only $1-3 (depending on whether you walk, drive or use the monorail), but still it's money you save if you show your hotel confirmation print out at the entrance toll gate of Sentosa.

3. Big pool. Located at the back of the hotel. I think there are 4 kinds but the most popular one had sand and made to look like a beach - children would enjoy this.

4. Good size room with nice, comfy yet firm pillows. Well decorated from the color (purple which I loved) to the furniture (nice lamps) and accessory stand (shape of a guitar). There is even extra space in the form of a pull out bed although we did not feel it necessary to use since each twin bed can accommodate up to 2 people.

My sister loved the flip flops they offered instead of the usual flimsy hotel slippers. It had the Hard Rock logo and best of all was free.

Cons

1. No free WiFi. Seriously, even at the lobby. You have to pay a fee for this which I find ridiculous since most of the lesser expensive hotels is offering at least free WiFi in the lobby.

2. No door in the bathroom. There is a separate room/cubicle for the toilet but anyone in the room can hear your private business. That makes it awkward if you are staying with friends. The bathroom was separated from the room by some kind of frosted glass. At night, when you open the lights on the mirror stand in the mirror, the glare of the light illuminates the bed and would sometimes disturb the person sleeping.

3. Music Blaring. We stayed at the 3rd floor which is just above the hotel restaurant/lobby. The hotel had set up speakers all over their outside area and would play music until 11pm-12mn. Eventhough the door to our balcony was closed, you can still hear a lot of the music which is distracting especially if you want to sleep already.

4. Poor cable TV offering. Most of the channels were in Chinese and I think the only English speaking channel was CNN, AXN and MTV. I watched Charlie's Angel : Full Throttle about 4x in 2 days.

4.Poor curb service. From the time we arrived to the time we checked out, nobody helped us with our luggage at the entrance - even though there were no other guests around. We finally asked one passing bellboy to help us get a taxi, which he did, then he promptly left. At the check in counter, the receptionist did not even ask us if we need help with the luggage. For a supposedly "rock star" theme hotel, I did not feel at all like a rock star - maybe a groupie?

Normally I wouldn't book a hotel this expensive (standard rate is about $400/night) but found a great package on their website for 3d/2n plus 2 tickets to Universal Studio (value $120) for only $470 total. The initial hotel I was thinking of staying near Orchard Road was about $160/night.

Final verdict? For the amount we paid and the hotel location, definitely worth staying at the Hard Rock especially if you have small kids. With the standard rate, forget it. You are better off spending the money somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get rooms 4th floor up facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    400
    276
    113
    75
See reviews for
500
207
21
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It's a decent hotel with interesting deco. Near Universal Studios, starbucks, etc.
Kid friendly. Rooms tastefully decorated with rockstar memorabilia. Decent breafast. Pool nothing fantastic but a good hotel because of accessibility.


However, I recommend Capella if you want a lovely couple spa experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids were very happy staying at the Hard Rock Hotel 7 January 2013. Our room overlooked the back part of the hotel towards the ocean side. This room actually had a 24\7 view of the dolphin training area at the marine world which is beside the hotel. What a treat it was to come back to thre room and observe them swimming and playing around. Another very positive comment is with regards to the concierge and front desk staff. We requested a babysitter at a very last moment and although our first request was met with any apology that there were no babysitters available, they called us back to offer the assistance of a front desk worker. (Who has 2 children of her own and lots of experience with kids) We were rally appreciative and not only did she look after them with our permission she took them to see the light show on Sentosa Island and spoilt them too. Thank you again for showing them such a good time. That kind of service is above and beyond expectation. Many thanks!!!

Room Tip: Ask for dolphin views if that's what you would enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

It is close to universal studio and Aquarium. Malaysia food street is also near the hotel.
Easy to go Santosa anywhere.
The hotel have very nice swimming pool, it is good for all of your family.
Need charge local phone.
No free WiFi.
Breakfast is good, it is expensive if your fee exclude breakfast.
Room is excellence, but view is so so. It will be great if your room is swimming pool side.
Not everyone can speak Mandarin.
No complimentary shuttle bus from airport to hotel.(You can take the shuttle bus of Marina Bay Sands Hotel, and then take MRT from Bay Front to HarbourFront . If you dare.)
飯店很靠近環球影城與水族館, 旁邊也有馬來西亞美食街.
到聖淘沙任何景點都很容易.
飯店有非常好的人工沙灘游泳池,非常適合全家大小.
撥打新加坡電話需付費,無線網路也要收費.
早餐不錯,如果住宿費用不包含早餐的話,早餐費用很貴.
房間很棒,我們住的是King size的床鋪,而且床鋪底下可以拉出另一個小床.
房間景觀一般,除非是人工沙灘泳池那一邊.
不是每個人都會說中文普通話.
沒有免費的機場接駁巴士(如果你敢的話,可以搭乘金沙酒店的免費接駁巴士到金沙酒店,再由金沙酒店的Bay Front站搭到HarbourFront站,最後再搭一站的單軌電車)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you are in Singapore and plans to visit Sentosa Island, Universal Studios, then Hard Rock Hotel is the place to be. It is a beautiful, luxurious hotel and our room was facing the swimming pool which added to its charm. The rooms and the bathrooms are quite spacious and are well maintained. My son loved their swimming pool to the extent that every morning he would get up early to enjoy the slides and artificial beach. In the lobby they played excellent music and for a music loving person like me it was a treat. The food in the hotel was average but you have other options, just five minutes away from hotel. Whenever I go next to Singapore, would definitely like to stay again provided that the same standard is maintained or improved.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed HRHS for 2D1N as a Staycation mood on 26th Jan 2013.

For the one night stay paid for - its a little steep! *3 Stars

Based on our experience only.

PROS
1. Check-in/out was swift considering WEEKEND *5 stars
2. Lobby & Resort extremely clean and always entertained with good music *5 stars
3. Room type (requested for a king bed, but was given twin bed and far end of the aisle. beds were very comfortable, HR personalized slippers) *3.5 stars
4. Beautiful swimming pool with sand area and different types of pool, good for family & friends *4 stars
5. In-room amenities were sufficient & clean and well prepared (includes iron & ironing board and WORKING lock-safe) *4 stars
6. Employee service (front desk didn't smile at all, concierge kept us waiting without a clue when we asked for our room which was suppose to be check-in at 3PM but turned out later then the given timing and yet not given our requested room. However, operators responded quite fast even in the middle of the night & so was the housekeeping) *3 stars for Front Desk & Concierge / *4 stars for Operators & House Keeping
7. Gorgeous swimming pool view *5 stars
8. Concept of hotel displayed works/wardrobe of famous artists at each level *4 stars
9. Located in a Resort with many activities to do/visit

CONS
1. Dark lobby & walk way to room at level 6
2. Small room size, very little walking space, some may find it uncomfortable with the toilet (no door) open concept
3. Limited TV channels
4. CUPBOARD SMELLS AWFUL
5. EXPENSIVE room service menu
6. There was a party going on at the pool that day. Music was rather LOUD even when balcony doors are closed.
7. Experience at breakfast: We were told we could have breakfast at other hotels within the Resort. We had ours at Festive Hotel. The fore person registering us for the table was ANNOYING. We told her from the beginning we are from HRH and our room number. Then she said: I can't find your room number. Did you just check-in? We said no and told her again we are from HR. Then she said I can't find anything. We gave her the booking number, she said no she can't find with that info. Silent for a few seconds and then my friend got impatient and raised her voice informing her once more we are front Hard Rock Hotel and our room number.
"EXCELLENT" response from the officer: OH YOU ARE FROM HARD ROCK *ROLL EYES*.
- My friend and I had no comments to that. We have no idea if she didn't understand English or she had problems hearing? But certainly, she didn't have to respond with that tone and facial expression. That was RUDE and Horrible start for the day.
- Then breakfast spread was alright. Crowded with kids! And the yoghurt was already SPOILT as seems to be placed too long out, only on ice cubes, had an extreme awkward sour taste.
------------

My friend and I both enjoyed our stay which includes visit to the attractions. Almost wanted to extend our stay!

** We apologize we spilled a huge portion of strawberry & chocolate gelato on the blanket, which gave the housekeeper a very strange reaction upon seeing it.

Room Tip: Choose away from lift if do not wan to hear any noises. When it was 3+ AM, we could hear housekeepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

If your staying in Singapore and wanting to stay on Sentosa Island, This place is a must. We stayed in room 694 It was the 6th floor up and facing the pool.It was one of the last rooms at the end so it was quite for us and you cant hear no elevator or people walking up and down. It was quite and the staff were very friendly. Cleaners done an amazing job cleaning the room. Wifi Is very expensive its just over $30 a day.
Pool is the best, It's good for people of all ages especially for kids. There is a swim up pool bar with very friendly staff. Bryan the person in charge of the bar is very friendly and helpful with anything you need. Drinks are about $14 sing or a jug for $50 Sing. We made good friends with Bryan and our photo is up on the pool bar : ). The only thing I could fault about the pool is that it finishes/closes at 8 pm. In Australia the resorts/hotel pools closes at 10 pm which were use to.
The location is in a very convenient place and short walk to restuarants and universal studios if you plan on going. If you need the train and want to go to the beaches it is a bit of a walk but very well worth it.
People say the reception area is dark and gloomy etc but why should that bother you? Your staying in your room and spend very little time at reception.
The staff are very friendly and it was a very pleasent stay for us.
I love this place, I've actually got withdrawals writing this. would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the end of the elevators as I heard it can get noisy with people walking up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore

Address: 8 Sentosa Gateway, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock and roll attitude meets five-star service at the Hard Rock Hotel Singapore. Breathtaking design, fashionable dining options, and the legendary entertainment experience only Hard Rock can offer make this the obvious choice for those looking for a stay that is beyond the ordinary.If unique networking venues are what you need, the hotel is home to some of the resort's best meeting and conference facilities, and indoor exhibition space. This includes 30 function rooms and one of Asia's largest ballrooms with seating for 6,500 guests. All at the doorstep of Universal Studios Singapore ®, the world's largest oceanarium and Asia's newest casino resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel, Singapore Hotel Sentosa Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.