We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Things Life has to Offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael

Save Saved
You added Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Sentosa Gateway, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Sentosa Island
Iloilo City
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Things Life has to Offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife was really rambling praises about Hotel Michael. We stayed 3d2n and we have nothing but lavish praises to the staff and the hotel as a whole.
We were upgraded to a deluxe suite when we arrived because our request of having one queen size bed was not available. The front desk lady, Corinne, was really helpful and upgraded us to a suite room on the spot - because it has a queen sized bed. Talking about hassle free checking. Her last words to us were " you're gonna love your room on the 11th floor". And we are still smitten even up to now.
The room was very large with a receiving area which was beautifully decorated by works of Michel Graves. Flat screen TV was even available in the bath tub. Our butler Rommel gave us the room introduction and a guide to the attractions. The best part was that the location of the hotel was very near to the attractions that we really want to go like Universal Studios.
Again, we would like to praise Resorts World Sentosa for bridging the best things life has to offer to us ordinary people to enjoy and cherish.

Room Tip: Take a taxi from Changi International airport going to Sentosa, the train service was efficient but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
294264Rws1963, Manager at Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Franco035

It was indeed a pleasure having you at Resorts World Sentosa-Hotel Michael.

We are glad that you had a wonderful experience with us and have forwarded your compliments to our team members Corrinne & Ronnel.

We look forwarded to welcome you back to Resorts World Sentosa in the near future.

Thank you

C T Lim
Director of Rooms
Hotel Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    100
    86
    25
    9
See reviews for
114
62
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just stayed there 3d2n with the family. Location wise was quite horrible for a staycation as there's no connecting carpark and it is definitely the furthest hotel from the main attractions compared to the other RWS hotel.

When we check-in, we asked if it was a double bed which we indicated when we booking the hotel online in early May, but we were told by the check-in desk that it is not guaranteed and they will try their best?!

Room was new and pretty standard, nothing exciting for the kids. Pool was the smallest compared to festive and hard rock hotel (biggest among the 3). Will definitely try festive or hard rock if I am going to RWS for staycation again. We requested for additional towel as we are bringing the kids for a swim but was told they give a max of 2?! Asked for more water, and there's a max of 4?! Compared to our time in MBS, the service here is really worst of. Also, we found the cleanliness questionable as we found bedsheet, pillowcase and towel stained.

Room Tip: Better email them to ask if they can really give you double / king bed which you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Booked a staycation with 2 connecting rooms. Their King-sized bedroom comes with a daybed, while the twin-sharing room comes with 2 super-single beds. Rooms are spacious. The best part is the rooms smells OK, without the strong musky smell of the other RWS hotels like Festive Hotel and Hard Rock Hotel. The cafe where breakfast is served is not as crowded as the cate at Festive Hotel. The only downside is the tiny pool of Hotel Michael.

Our package comes with attraction tickets to USS, Adventure Cove and SEA Aquarium, and also daily breakfast for 2 adults. Great value for money for the price I paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

THIS IS NOT A 5-STAR HOTEL!!!!
We were super excited for our stay at Resort World Sentosa Michael Hotel. Check in was fast and easy and the staff was friendly. The room was small, but beautifully decorated, and I loved the mosaic-patterned tiles in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, likewise the pillows. The monorail around the Sentosa is very nice and runs very frequently. The entire grounds were BREATHTAKING. Lovely landscape, the theme parks and attractions are fantastic, and all within walking distance. Lots of dining options. Check out was super fast. I would be willing to stay at another hotel on Sentosa, but not Hotel Michael.



THIS IS NOT A 5-STAR HOTEL!!!!
The room’s temperature is set to 21 degrees and you can turn it up but not down. Every night I woke up hot and sweating like crazy. Bearing in mind that Singapore is a tropical county and it was the middle of June. WE were very hot & miserable!!

House-keeping made up our bed AND THAT WAS ALL THEY DID!!!.
*The trash (cookies wrappers & juice bottles) left in the room
*Dirty glasses that we used were left on the desk
*Shampoo bottles in the bathroom were empty (after just one use so that goes to show they were practically empty when we got there)
*Iron was left out on the floor
I COULD NOT BELIEVE THE CONDITION OF THE ROOM WHEN WE GOT BACK IN THE EVENING!!!

No computer / work desk is in the room. There is a vanity table, that could double as a work desk, but the chair is to low for you to comfortable work on your computer.

The “balcony” is almost nonexistent!! You cannot turn on it…you can just step forward onto it and then step backward to get back into the room. It was the width of my feet!! And it was FILTHY!! I can say with confidence that I don’t think it has been cleaned since the hotel opened. It had mounds of dirt and hair and the curtains were dirty and gross.

Although they are not the only hotel to charge for Internet service, it’s ridiculous to pay the equivalent of USD $50 to get Internet access for 24 hours!! ON ONLY ONE MACHINE. That means if I wanted to have it on my computer and my son’s computer I would need to pay USD $100 per day…. that’s RIDICULOUS!!!

No newspaper was delivered to the room as advertised!

There were no movie channels BUT movies had to be bought at an exorbitant fee each.

Lots of restaurant but they all close at approx. the same time- 10 pm.

Room Tip: I just booked a room...didn't ask for anything special
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Location ist very near from 2 Monorail station ca 5 minutes walk & bus stop in the basement .
Also the entrance for Universal Studio is nearby. Room was good but so many drawer , bed is very comfortable but no bathtub in the toilette .Breakfast was everyday same .Very small pool.
We book through Asia travel package accommodation incl USS , SEA aquarium & Adventure Cove ticket was value for money

Room Tip: Choose non smoking floor for better airflow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochen, Oberosterreich, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I thought that this Hotel will be great because of the good reviews, but now I have to write about the things that happened there. The room was very nice (0621) and the bed was very relaxing. I took a shower there and put the temperature to low and after one minute I jumped out because the water became more than 60 degrees. It was not only in my room, also my business colleagues had the same problem. In the morning Iput the temperature of the air condition to 22 degrees and on the evening when I got back it was very cold there about 17 degrees. They changed this every day. You also have to pay for WiFi SG$ 5,- for one hour, SG$16,- for four hours and SG$ 30,- per day. The problem with the WiFi was that the datarate was so low that you were not able to make a Skype-Video Call. Also a normal call had connection problems. I reported this to the hotel and they said they will fix it, but they didn't. Also the breakfast for SG$22,- was a joke I think. I came there and there was no bread. After 15minutes the next load of bread came and the food there wasn't very spectacular for this price. How many stars do they have 1 or 2? No they have 5!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed last May 22-24, 2013. Check-in was efficient. Take note of the official check-in time of 3pm. You can just leave your luggage with them and explore the resort, or you can go to nearby Vivo City. Be sure you have a printed copy of your booking confirmation to avoid paying the resort entrance fee.

The hotel in itself is good, but not the best. The lobby has no chairs, lounges for waiting (HardRock and Festive Hotels have better lobbies). I booked a non-smoking room, but it has a somewhat foul smell upon entering (I cannot help but compare how good smelling Shangri-la rooms are). We were given a room towards the very far end. It was very very far from the elevator, that you just want to crawl to reach your room at the end of a long day spent walking around Singapore and the resort. We did have a nice view of the Lake of Dreams show at night, so we did not have to go down.

They have an approachable and efficient staff. Room service is efficient as well and food is good. Location is really good. Nearest to Universal, the Forum and everything else. And since RWS is an integrated resort, it is easy to go to the other hotels, Festive and Hard Rock. You can check them out and even use their facilities since you are a guest in one of their hotels. Explore. Explore. Explore. There are so many great things to see around the resort. So many artworks (Romero de Britto, Roudin's The Thinker, Fernando Botero's Adam & Eve at the entrance of Hotel Michael and Michael Graves' furnitures and artwork. Don't forget to check out the Michael Graves store (if you are the artsy type) and Palio Italian Restaurant (if you get tired of the Asian food fare around the Forum). In the end, it doesn't really matter which hotel you stay in.

One big downside? There is no complimentary wifi! Really? Almost all less expensive downtown hotels in Singapore have free wifi. But you're not really there to use the net are you? Still, you want to be able to access the net anytime you need to.

As for the price? As much as I would like it to be less expensive, you are after all staying a hotel which is an ode to the resort's main architect and designer Michael Graves, with access to one of the best integrated resorts in Singapore. So I still recommend that you stay at least a night or 2 in RWS when you are in Singapore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael

Address: 8 Sentosa Gateway, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious treat for art lovers, Hotel Michael is designed by one of America’s greatest contemporary architects - Michael Graves. This boutique hotel bears the designer’s elegant and distinctive touches, from lamps and crockery to furnishings and the decor. You will also enjoy a myriad of conveniences, including 24-hour access to the hotel gym, and a short walk to the various attractions: 2 minutes to Universal Studios SingaporeTM and 5 minutes to S.E.A. AquariumTM, Adventure Cove WaterparkTM and the Merlion statue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.