We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael

Save Saved
You added Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Sentosa Gateway, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Sentosa Island
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I do not consider myself a difficult guest but too many little things made this a poor experience overall, such as the:
- long walk from the car park B1 East to the hotel lobby
- refusal to allow me to check in on my wife's behalf, even though she was on the phone
- lack of a bathtub in the room
- insistence on signing some authorisation form for wearing the hotel bathrobe to the Hard Rock pool (most hotels verify any shortfall on checkout no?)
- breakfast spread which did not change every day, and the prata that was especially hard and inedible
- lack of shuttle on Sunday mornings before 10am and the resultant long wait for a replacement buggy

Without these little things, the stay might have been a bit more average. The only positive was that staff did generally try hard to be helpful. I would agree with current rankings that Festive and Hard Rock are better hotels to stay at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    100
    86
    25
    9
See reviews for
114
62
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Of the 3 hotels that I've stayed at RWS, this is one of my preferred choice. Room is bright & clean, and nearest to monorail station & restaurants. The only thing I didn't like about this room is that it doesn't come with a bathtub.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with friend in September last year. The overall room are clean with interesting design in the bathroom and wardrobe. The room wasn't very huge but the good part is you can just walked down to the Universal Studio. They have shared their hotel facilities, like swimming pool, gym at the Hard Rock Hotel next to it. We have to go to the restaurant at the Hardrock Hotel as they have many choices.

The services are good and the staff there are very helpful.

Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

my family and I checked in for two nights last December during the school holiday period.
we went to USS - and this hotel is located very near to USS (which was good).

at arrival (about 1000hrs) we drop our luggage and left for USS.. by 1500hrs we went back to check in - upon arrival the counter was quite "messy" - no proper Q line (no proper guidance as to which counter go for check in).

Other guests just cut my queue and the receptionist, NONE were ALERT!!! I was really fuming mad after waited for more than 30mins and others just cut my queue. When my turn to see the receptionist - the lady receptionist just walked away, without looking at me and asking me to wait for a while - leaving me unattended at the receptionist!!

What kinda of service is this?? Oh! I forgot - it's a casino hotel - they do not emphasize on service!! just $$$$$ talk!!

SECURITY issues at RISKS!! - the guest lifts to guest rooms, no security features for a casino hotel? This is dangerous, as I have seen many people loitering around the lobby, lift landing area as well as swimming pool areas!! I even seen non-hotel guest sleeping on the benches at the swimming pool area!! There were no security officers seen doing their rounds throughout my few hours at the pool the next morning!!

ON the good side - I must say the rooms were very nicely done up, bed and pillows were very comfy. But as for the amenities, for the price I paid for I would expect as better quality amenities and not some "cheapo" looking amenities. The tiles in the bathrooms were difficult to care for, hence I must say Housekeeping done a GREAT job!!

If you asked me, will I stay here again?
My answer will be - "till the security issues has been looked into and work out and the day the management look into Trip Advisor and reply to guest feedback; I will then consider".

Because NO matter how comfy the bed and pillows can be.. if the management do not bother to look into other issues - nothing will improve but will only get worst!!

As for now, Movenpick is a better choice for the rates I paid for!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at room 958 for my partner's birthday so they sent a cake on one of the nights.
Smooth check-in and friendly staff.
There's cable tv but chargable for movies and wifi.
If this is a 5 star hotel then it will be the first 5 star hotel I stayed without a bidet.
Room was ok except the toilet was not clean. I saw a strand of hair stuck at the side of the toilet bowl and yellowish stain. Yucks!!
Breakfast at Palio restaurant was decent, not much variety.
Small swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

After complaining about the noise level on building works near our room we were upgraded to a two roomed suite with cable tvs in the lounge, bathroom with a deep sunken bath. The staff are polite and friendly always accommodating if you encounter a problem.
The is a good transportation to Vivo City where the tourist can hang out with the all the rest of the shoppers and tourists as its less pricey than shopping or eating in Sentosa World Resorts.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's nearby the waterfront station & walking distance to vivo city (10mins).
Room was clean. Swimming pool is quite small but has jacuzzi. The bed is quite big, good for family. So 4 people can stay in the room (twin bed) without extra bed. Good design. No free wifi. Think it's not 5stara hotel, coz there is no comb, sewing kit, or body lotion like other 5 star hotel has.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael

Address: 8 Sentosa Gateway, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious treat for art lovers, Hotel Michael is designed by one of America’s greatest contemporary architects - Michael Graves. This boutique hotel bears the designer’s elegant and distinctive touches, from lamps and crockery to furnishings and the decor. You will also enjoy a myriad of conveniences, including 24-hour access to the hotel gym, and a short walk to the various attractions: 2 minutes to Universal Studios SingaporeTM and 5 minutes to S.E.A. AquariumTM, Adventure Cove WaterparkTM and the Merlion statue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.