We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but the cost is too much for what you get....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capella Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Capella Singapore to your Saves list
Capella Singapore
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 The Knolls, Sentosa Island, Sentosa Island 098297, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very nice, but the cost is too much for what you get....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was surprised with a stay at the capella for my birthday. We stayed in a constellation room for one night in September. The room was large and had floor to ceiling windows which provided a fantastic view back onto the city. The balcony also had a jacuzzi which overlooked the city and a complimentary soft drinks mini bar.

The hotel itself was architecturally very interesting, with really lovely landscaped gardens. The session at the spa was very nice and very relaxing, the facilities were excellent and one of the better spas i have been to.

The dinner and breakfast we had at the hotel restaurant, The Knolls, were very good, although the breakfast service was very chaotic and we were pretty much left to work it out ourselves, food selection and quality however were great.

The library, above reception has refreshments available throughout the day, this was free which was a nice touch.

Only negative, was that we thought we would have a drink at the bar before dinner, but most of the seats had been reserved for a function and the few that had not been reserved were already occupied.

I have rated the stay as average as a reflection of the cost of the stay, I did come away thinking that it was very expensive for what we got. If you take the cost of the stay out of the equation I would have rated the Capella 4 out of 5, based on comfort and stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us at Capella Singapore. I hope you had a wonderful birthday celebration here with us.

I am happy that you enjoyed all the facilities in the Constellation room and the hotel such as the award-winning Auriga spa, The Library and The Knolls. I do however apologise for your experience at Bob’s Bar. Bob’s Bar is a lovely place to unwind and relax and a favourite spot for many of our guests. Perhaps on your next visit you could give them a call to book a seat or alternatively our staff would be happy to arrange for you to relax and enjoy your drinks by the poolside which is just as lovely.

As for your concern about the cost, at Capella Singapore we are priced higher than the average hotel in Singapore as a reflection of the quality of service and experience that we strive to create for all our guests. We present each guest with personalised services, facilities and experiences. Nevertheless, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    126
    42
    18
    7
See reviews for
244
334
30
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It really is a lovely property; a great place to have afternoon tea on weekends, or just lounge around with cocktails from Bob's Bar on sun beds, day or night. And the service, as many others have written, is outstanding - certainly the best I've experienced in Singapore.

Now onto the Sea View room: the one which we were appointed had an amazing panoramic view of the sea, was generous in size, and had a wonderful bath and indoor sun bed (really, it's just not a getaway unless there's a sun bed).

Unfortunately, however, all the sea view rooms are situated above the hotel's pools, Bob's Bar and an area used for wedding ceremonies. And a surprising number of hotel guests were families with young children on the weekend we went. For the sea view room guest, this meant we were unable to enjoy the balcony without the sound of overexcited children. And even with doors closed, music and the mic from functions on both Friday and Saturday could be heard in the room. We ended up playing our own music to mask the noise one night and going out the other.

So I wouldn't recommend the sea view room to couples looking for a tranquil weekend getaway. But we did enjoy the property enough to attempt another stay in the future mid-week, when hopefully the property is quieter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The stay started off on an unexpected note with the hotel unable to provide the suite & inter-connecting room which we had booked due to "unexpected damage" but an upgrade to a contemporary manor was quickly offered. My concern about being cut-off from the hotel proper was unfounded because the service standards didn't dip in the slightest - room service was exceptionally quick and a buggy was made available within moments of asking. Unfortunately, we had a packed schedule in Singapore during the 4 night stay and couldn't really enjoy all that the Capella had to offer (in terms of restaurants, spa, etc) so I am looking forward to going back soon. Check-out was smooth affair in the manor itself (and they were kind enough to also agree to a late check-out so that we had time to shower after spending time at Universal Studios on the last day of our stay). Must say that the property looked fabulous and its unfortunate that we didn't get to spend more time enjoying all the facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were given a four hour spa package. Excellent, staff great, place was spotless not ver crowded, and the package included a fruit platter in between which was fresh and super. At the end we were re given a choice of a mocktails and a platter of Tappas which were excellent

A definite must for spa lovers. Will go again very soon
D

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

service service service !!!!
one of the best service I ever experienced.. the room was extremely spacious and the food was great.. this time was not a business trip for me so I brought my family along and they all enjoyed it.. there are 3 swimming pools and each of them face the ocean.. the food was great as their buffet breakfast is like a dinner buffet already.. so many choices of food and excellent drink menu.. I would highly recommend this hotel to those who are really looking for a topnotch hotel..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for this lovely review and testament of Capella Singapore. I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and all the facilities and epicurean treats we had to offer. We do our utmost best to provide the most attentive and caring service to create that unique experience for all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Capella Singapore be it for business or leisure.

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked a Sea-view Villa which was very private, spacious and well appointed. We paid an additional S$300 per night for the 'Sea view' which supposedly had 'views of the South China sea' but truthfully we had a view of the roof of the Villa in front of us with the South China sea in the distant background. The villa had and amazing outside bath and shower and a private plunge pool, but sadly it's not heated, neither is any of their 3 main pools. The room is very well appointed with quality furniture and fittings, and every amenity one could ask for. Capella is very well located on Sentosa (just 5 min walk from Universal Studios) and the staff tried very hard to attend to our every request. They provided bicycles for us to tour the island and a complimentary birthday cake and Champagne. Room service was speedy but unfortunately not very accurate. We ate at the Knolls restaurant twice and while the food was great, it's not for romantic couples. Way too many kids running around. They try very hard but just haven't cracked the service yet. Don't let this discourage you, we highly recommend Capella for a family vacation.

Room Tip: Book a private villa but don't bother with 'Sea view', there isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review on Tripadvisor. I do apologise that the room was not to your expectations. As for heated pools, given the weather in Singapore, most outdoor pools would not be heated as it would cause a safety hazard. On your next visit, perhaps you might be interested to visit Auriga spa which has a delightful vitality pool, designed after the Japanese hot springs.

I am glad however that our staff were great hosts to you, and we will continue to work on improving our quality of service to create that special experience for all our guests.
Nevertheless, thank you for your recommendation. I do hope you will consider coming back to Capella Singapore on your next vacation.

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The service of the staff is impeccable. booked the garden villa for my wedding proposal and had them arrange for in-room romantic dining. the hotel's preparation was seamless and they even gave me a complimentary tattinger champagne. my fiancee loved the spa treatments at auriga spa!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandyliw, Director of Sales & Marketing at Capella Singapore, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Firstly, congratulations on your engagement, thank you for choosing to create this special memory with us at Capella Singapore. I am thrilled to hear of the wonderful experience you and your partner had with us. Auriga spa is indeed a wonderful haven to relax.

Once again, congratulations, I hope you and your fiancée will be back again soon to Capella Singapore.

Best Regards
Sandy Liw
Director of Sales & Marketing
Capella Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capella Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Singapore

Address: 1 The Knolls, Sentosa Island, Sentosa Island 098297, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ultra luxury resort situated on Sentosa Island, Singapore. Guests can enjoy an on-site spa, restaurants, golf courses and the beautiful landscape overlooking the South China Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Capella Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Singapore Sentosa Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.