We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shanghai'd in Singapore” 1 of 5 stars
Review of V Hotel Lavender

Save Saved
You added V Hotel Lavender to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
V Hotel Lavender
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Jellicoe Road, 208767, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 305 hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Shanghai'd in Singapore”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you enjoy the continual sound of water flushing, ringing the front desk everyday to acquire toilet paper the maid who "cleaned" you room neglected to provide, battling hordes of Chinese tourists for the lift, or trying to circumnavigate the bell hops who apparently have yet to master the mechanics of door opening; then you will surely love your stay at V Lavendar. How this hovel attained 4 stars, or who maniacally awarded these stars, is entirely in defiance of reason. The walls are paper thin, so you will be pleasantly surprised with the minute details of your neighbors life and bowel movements. Which, again, is a concern due to the aforementioned tp issues. The only plus side to our stay was the convenience of MRT access, which we gladly accessed to get out of this terrible place. We left feeling scammed, cheated, and delirious from lack of sleep.

Room Tip: Stay in a hostel or an Air Bnb room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    675
    527
    164
    104
See reviews for
428
431
130
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

1st - Rooms here are small, even shower(tiny) and bathroom. However, going on others reviews, I was mostly expecting it.
2nd - location is perfect. It is located directly above Lavender MRT. So even if it is raining and you travel by the MRT to here you wont get wet.
3rd - hidden costs. Pretty much everything in Singapore has a cost put against it. Internet which most hotels will provide for free you will pay $10SG per day. Expensive for something that requires next to no maintenance or up keep.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. The MRT was really easy to use to get around.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magelang, Indonesia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Near MRT Lavender, which located right in the downstair (walk only 1 minutes), and there's Kopitiam right next the hotel. This is the great location of budget hotel. The room is OK, not too big. My room has a beautiful side of city. So far it's comfortable to stay here. Fast check-in and check-out. The staff is friendly too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Hotel_Lavender, William Lew, Guest Service Manager at V Hotel Lavender, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear AnnaWong5,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to extend our hosoitality to you during your stay with us. It is also a pleasure to know that you found our location highly accessible and our team were very helpful and friendly during your stay.

Once again I thank you for your kind review and please kindly email me at vip@vhotel.sg on your future visit with us and allow me to provide you special arrangement and also would like to personally thank you for your kind appreciation towards V Hotel Lavender.

Sincerely,

William Lew
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Have been staying at V Hotel Lavendar whenever I am in Singapore. Reluctant to share this gem but good things must share lah. Good size rooms but the winner is its location at Lavendar MRT station. Very convenient. MRT and buses can take you to many places e.g. Orchard Road, Chinatown, Harbourfront (Vivocity), Tiong Bahru etc. There is also a good Kopitiam nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Hotel_Lavender, William Lew, Guest Service Manager at V Hotel Lavender, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Colin L,

It's was heartfelt to know that you and your family has always been staying at V Hotel Lavender whenever you are in Singapore.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back again with us for another enjoyable experience soon. Once again I thank you for your kind review and please kindly email me at vip@vhotel.sg on your future visit with us and allow me to provide you special arrangement and also would like to personally thank you for your kind appreciation towards V Hotel Lavender.

Sincerely,

William Lew
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Pros:
Courteous staff, good location - close to MRT and food shops/restaurants around the corner, small fridge inside wardrobe provided, good TV, Coffee making facility.
Cons:
Room not clean on arrival - cleaned later after complaint, crowded with people and stored luggage in lobby, slow lifts, poor sparse, black theme room design - no light switch accessible from bed - no bedside lamps - small room/bathroom/shower - wardrobe door one is half high, city view is looking at the next skyscraper a few meters away, no face cloth provided, Aircon was freezing the room - switched it off as it could not be adjusted, Twin beds apart instead of double bed - only one bedside cabinet, S$10 for 24h Internet (go to McDonald's - free) did not use, noisy water outlet of shower and wash basin, hard tile floor - no carpet, no electric shaver point in bathroom, asked for extra pillows as the one provided was very thin, hanging space but no shelf storage in wardrobe, S$14 for breakfast - did not use as it is cheaper outside.

Room Tip: City view should not be looking at the skyscraper opposite, If you like dark black theme. I am sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Hotel_Lavender, William Lew, Guest Service Manager at V Hotel Lavender, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Emelda V,

Thank you for staying with us at V Hotel Lavender.

It is to our regret to learn of . We sincerely value the well-being and comfort of all our guests and we acknowledge that this incident fell short of our standards. We have since looked into the matter and taken corrective measures to ensure that there is no repetition.

Thank you for your feedback and the team hopes to have another opportunity to be of service to you again soon.


Warm regards,

William Lew
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights. Room was small and small bathroom, but decor was nice enough. Check in was fine and staff friendly and helpful enough. Our room wasn't cleaned one day and on another day they turned up to clean it at 7pm (not a helpful time as we were showering etc getting ready to go out). The hotel is in a convenient location- right next to the mrt and only a 10 minute walk from bus stop. There is a cheap local eatery next to the hotel, where a lot of locals seem to frequent (main meals for only £1.50). There is a restaurant at the hotel, but it is very expensive compared to eating outside the hotel. We didn't have breakfast included, and again it was very expensive.
Not the greatest of hotels, but it served it's purpose as a base for exploring singapore.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Hotel_Lavender, William Lew, Guest Service Manager at V Hotel Lavender, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Marmoo,

Thank you for your valuable feedback during your recent stay with us.

We commit to providing a high standard of service at V Hotel Lavender and it is thus highly disheartening to learn that your experience fell short of expectations. We will investigate on the matter and ensure that corrective action is carried out to prevent any recurrence.

The team sincerely hopes to have another opportunity of showcasing the true experience of which we are known for.

Sincerely,

William Lew
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had an unexpected two night stay in Singapore and therefore paid a walk-in price, which I am sure could have been bettered with planning. The hotel was very busy, but efficient, clean and comfortable. It is situated above a metro station, giving quick access to any part of the city. The breakfast room is open-air and on an upper floor, with an attractive pool area, which would have been good if I had the time. All-in-all ideal for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Hotel_Lavender, William Lew, Guest Service Manager at V Hotel Lavender, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Devonish31,

Thank you for your positive endorsement of V Hotel Lavender.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the guest room and our services. We have received many encouraging comments about the convenience of our location and we are happy that it served you well too.

Once again I thank you for your kind review and please kindly email me at vip@vhotel.sg on your future visit with us and allow me to provide you special arrangement and also would like to personally thank you for your kind appreciation towards V Hotel Lavender.

Sincerely,

William Lew
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to V Hotel Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Hotel Lavender

Address: 70 Jellicoe Road, 208767, Singapore
Location: Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 305 hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — V Hotel Lavender 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
V Hotel Lavender is an exciting new hotel located just above Lavender MRT station with direct access (via MRT/tube/subway) to/from the airport and various parts of Singapore (for instance, only stops to City Hall or Promenade Station) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your V Hotel Lavender reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage V Hotel Lavender, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.