We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing in many ways” 2 of 5 stars
Review of V Hotel Lavender

Save Saved
You added V Hotel Lavender to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
V Hotel Lavender
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Jellicoe Road, 208767, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 306 hotels in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing in many ways”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed many days at the V hotel and continued to be disappointed in the hotel. Small rooms, lighting that burns into your brain, and very few amenities. It amazed me that tissues are not even supplied in the rooms. The restaurant is not part of the hotel so you need to be prepared to pay independently, It seems to be the overnight stop of the inexpensive package tour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    741
    569
    179
    112
See reviews for
475
456
144
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We brought a group of students for a conference. The rooms were clean and they had nice facilities, but the management was not very accommodating. There was a rigidness of policy that was not helpful when facilitating a large group. For instance, the breakfast meal required a ticket. Students who had a ticket for the wrong date were denied entrance. Then had to report to the front desk (4 floors down) to have them change it. The manager was not flexible about this. I reminded me of the Soup Nazi episode of Seinfeld, except the breakfast was not worth the hassle. We also had to go to the front desk for internet slips (instead of being given them at check in). For a couple or a single traveler, these issue are not a big deal, but when leading a large group it can make the trip less organized and enjoyable. When I suggested these details be sorted at check in, the manager basically told me I was stupid and should have been able to figure it out. While this may well be true, it was not stated in the most polite way :) There... done venting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the skyline (mine was facing another building and it was very dark).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Room and bathroom are very small - especially for more than 1 person, but modern and functionel. The best worth is the location on the MRT route from airport to city, directly above the MRT station "Lavender". That is ideal for a short stopover in Singapore. The airport can be reached in about 30 minutes by train, the city in about 20. You can get from the train to the hotel entrance without getting wet when it is raining, which is not seldom in Simgapore.
The next MRT station towards the city is "Bugis" where you find a lot of shops and restaurants. From there you can walk in 10 minutes to "Little India".
The hotel has a lot of rooms, so that there is always a "coming and leaving" - also of big tourist groups.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not situated between the two tower twins because of the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went there for our second night stay in Singapore so we were familiar with the size of room and bathroom so it did not shocked us when we saw the size of mini bar or the electric kettle and size of bathroom. Also we did realized that all the hotels in Singapore don't have bidet for toilets. However compare to our first night stay at enother 4star hotel of Singapore, the breakfast was much better. If you compare to Malaysia it was average but compare to singapore it was very good. We payed 350 MYR for 1 night stay with breakfast, 50 MYR of it was for tax and services. Then we had to pay for parking since parking was not free, we had to pay 12 $ singapore dollars. The location of Hotel is good and quite, you can get to National Stadium, Little India, City Sqare Mall and Mustafa Centre by walking, it is 1KM far. The room and bathroom were clean but very small. It looked very new. I loved bed sheets, very nice clean and good smelling. Stuff were friendly and nice. It was easy to find in GPS since all that place is named V hotel and can see the sign from main street. The pool was also nice.

Room Tip: We had pool view in 7th floor, not too much to see. I think they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Lavender for nearly a month when I first moved to Singapore, as it was booked by my company. It's a very modern corporate style hotel, above the MRT station - very conveniently located for first-time visitors to Singapore, but somewhat lacking in charm and character. As noted by other reviewers, the rooms are pretty small - mine was fine for one person, but would have been crowded for two. The rooms were adequately furnished, but an additional mirror and bedside light would have been nice!

The staff were mixed - a few were very friendly, but the front desk were not particularly helpful - when I attempted to adjust my booking I was told they couldn't help and I had to instead phone a sales manager. Laundry was also exorbitant.

Still, on the plus side the pizzeria isn't bad (if expensive compared to the much cheaper Asian foodcourt below), and the pool is lovely.

The streets immediately around the hotel are pretty dull, but Arab st is about 15mins walk away, and Bugis another 10mins from there (or one stop on the MRT); Little India is a short bus journey, and it's only about 15mins on the MRT to get into the centre of the city.

All in all, I'd recommend this as a convenient and reliable option, but if I was travelling for pleasure I'd be looking to stay somewhere a little less anonymous.

Room Tip: 50% of rooms look inwards at the pool and rooms opposite - I'd suggest requesting a room looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Advantage is the location, but the rooms are really small and the bathroom even smaller. Service is poor be it at the reception or room service. It was expensive for the room of that size. But I used MRT to travel within Singapore and since the hotel is just above the lavender station it was convenient,

Overall it was just average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just finished a cruise from Hong Kong to Singapore on Royal Caribbean lines. The hotel was easy to get from the cruise ship terminal with Metro. The check in at the hotel was fast, efficient and friendly. As I was walking in the lobby, I was fortune enough to meet the Guest service manger. He was very nice to us gave us some tips of where to visit in Singapore and nice places to eat.
The room was as nice as any other hotel I stay in the orient. After Singapore, we went to Shanghai China and surrounding area for a week. All hotels in HK and China we stayed at were 4 to 5 stars and I think this hotel is about the same. I think all hotel rooms in the orient are smaller than in North America but if your there to site see how much time do you spend in the room? Breakfast was good as always ate to much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to V Hotel Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Hotel Lavender

Address: 70 Jellicoe Road, 208767, Singapore
Location: Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 306 hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — V Hotel Lavender 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
V Hotel Lavender is an exciting new hotel located just above Lavender MRT station with direct access (via MRT/tube/subway) to/from the airport and various parts of Singapore (for instance, only stops to City Hall or Promenade Station) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Venere so you can book your V Hotel Lavender reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage V Hotel Lavender, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.