We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business/solo travellers.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of V Hotel Lavender

Save Saved
You added V Hotel Lavender to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
V Hotel Lavender
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Jellicoe Road, 208767, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 306 hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good for business/solo travellers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Lavender for nearly a month when I first moved to Singapore, as it was booked by my company. It's a very modern corporate style hotel, above the MRT station - very conveniently located for first-time visitors to Singapore, but somewhat lacking in charm and character. As noted by other reviewers, the rooms are pretty small - mine was fine for one person, but would have been crowded for two. The rooms were adequately furnished, but an additional mirror and bedside light would have been nice!

The staff were mixed - a few were very friendly, but the front desk were not particularly helpful - when I attempted to adjust my booking I was told they couldn't help and I had to instead phone a sales manager. Laundry was also exorbitant.

Still, on the plus side the pizzeria isn't bad (if expensive compared to the much cheaper Asian foodcourt below), and the pool is lovely.

The streets immediately around the hotel are pretty dull, but Arab st is about 15mins walk away, and Bugis another 10mins from there (or one stop on the MRT); Little India is a short bus journey, and it's only about 15mins on the MRT to get into the centre of the city.

All in all, I'd recommend this as a convenient and reliable option, but if I was travelling for pleasure I'd be looking to stay somewhere a little less anonymous.

Room Tip: 50% of rooms look inwards at the pool and rooms opposite - I'd suggest requesting a room looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    731
    565
    176
    111
See reviews for
465
454
141
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Advantage is the location, but the rooms are really small and the bathroom even smaller. Service is poor be it at the reception or room service. It was expensive for the room of that size. But I used MRT to travel within Singapore and since the hotel is just above the lavender station it was convenient,

Overall it was just average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just finished a cruise from Hong Kong to Singapore on Royal Caribbean lines. The hotel was easy to get from the cruise ship terminal with Metro. The check in at the hotel was fast, efficient and friendly. As I was walking in the lobby, I was fortune enough to meet the Guest service manger. He was very nice to us gave us some tips of where to visit in Singapore and nice places to eat.
The room was as nice as any other hotel I stay in the orient. After Singapore, we went to Shanghai China and surrounding area for a week. All hotels in HK and China we stayed at were 4 to 5 stars and I think this hotel is about the same. I think all hotel rooms in the orient are smaller than in North America but if your there to site see how much time do you spend in the room? Breakfast was good as always ate to much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for a night on a business trip. I know rooms are expensive in Singapore but the room I stayed in was literally a box. In the shower in the morning I couldn't even wash my hair without banging my elbows off the wall. It may be a good location, but really it is uncomfortably small.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

First of all the rooms are tiny!! can't find a place to open my luggage!!

There were only two towels in the bathroom, so i called the service n ask for more towels, but she didn't understand what i said!! (gosh, i thought the singaporean are good or ok in English or am i wrong?)

Please do NOT take the elevator in the morning, coz it will stop at every single floor, staff are trying to push in even its full loaded!!

Apart from the hotel is closed to mrt, i don't see any point of staying in this hotel ever again!! (i think is a kinda 3 stars hotel only, not 4)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sumella
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice now; once just us and once with a set of grandparents. The location is very handy to Little India and Mustafa Centre where we usually spend most of our time. The staff were always polite, courteous and friendly what ever the request be. The triple room had a lovely view of the Kallang River, great firm beds and everything was tidy. We would love to stay here again when we visit Singapore. So far this hotel is the best place we have stayed in Singapore for value and comfort at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Picked this hotel to stay at on our stop over prior to our wedding in Bali. This hotel had plenty of sound reviews & yet it did not reflect this whatsoever.

Upon arriving the porter / door men barely bothered to look sideways. We practically had to open the door ourselves. They stood there looking & craning their necks to check females out but lacked the service that most people who travel are familiar with.

After finding our room we were literally shocked at the size. We are well aware of small rooms in Singapore but this was tiny.

The smell was like someone let off 40 flea bombs in a room the size of a toilet & shut the door for a month. We had no choice but to keep the door open for hours until we had to close it to sleep.

We paid for internet & it did not work 4 times. We proceeded to go down to reception to try to resolve it for the second time only to be told by the rude staff that this was the last time they would do it & next time they would charge us again. Check your system we never even logged on! Height of rudeness.

Never would stay here again. Not even if it was free.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to V Hotel Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Hotel Lavender

Address: 70 Jellicoe Road, 208767, Singapore
Location: Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 306 hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — V Hotel Lavender 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
V Hotel Lavender is an exciting new hotel located just above Lavender MRT station with direct access (via MRT/tube/subway) to/from the airport and various parts of Singapore (for instance, only stops to City Hall or Promenade Station) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your V Hotel Lavender reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage V Hotel Lavender, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.