We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwilodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cebu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiwilodge Hotel
Save Saved
You added Kiwilodge Hotel to your Saves list
1060 G. Tudtud Street | Mabolo, 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 190 hotels in Cebu Island
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I arrived in Cebu in mid January and checked in to the Kiwi Lodge, having no previous knowledge of the hotel. We were both pleasantly surprised. The rooms were good and the staff were very friendly, offering good service. The menu was not extensive but the quality was good and reasonably priced. We were due to spend 4 nights initialy, but were happy with the place and extended for an additional week. I read a couple of comments by some other supposed guest who criticised the hotel and claimed that the staff were unfriendly to Americans. One individual complained along the same lines about the food, but when I checked on his link he made comments about 3 other establishments on the same day with the statement about one establishment that the food was not American. I find his posting rather suspect as it does not match the experiance we had at the Kiwi Lodge. We shall certainly return there on our next visit and would heartily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    13
    3
    8
See reviews for
10
19
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

When you look for a hotel in Cebu, these are reasons why to choose the "Kiwi Lodge Hotel":

- They check the e-mail with your request for reservation several times a day, so you have a fast answer.

- Every taxi driver knows the place (i have been there serveral times, all knew it).

- Only a taxe drive of about 20 minutes from the airport to the hotel for about 200 pesos (with taxi meter online). An advice: When the "sharks" at the arrival zone are too agressiv, take the stairs in the building just opposive of your position and go to the arrival zone, where the taxis drive back to the town, often empty. Ask to start the taxi meter, most will do it.

- The restaurant of the hotel and the rooms are clean. Some of them are just made new.

- The cabinet in the room is not stinking, so you can use it for your things without problems.

- They have big and good beds.

- They have a good bathroom with a real hot shower, the towels are ready for use.

- There is a very friendly and helpful staff.

- They have good meals in the restaurant of the hotel to good prices.

- In the restaurant they have a strong WiFi. In the rooms there is not WiFi, it would be good to have.

- It is near a SM store at walking distance and near to the piers to departing with the ferry boats to the islands.

So, the next time I shall choose the "Kiwi Lodge" again, when i have to stay some days in Cebu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a quiet aircondition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen Luna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I am also an American and have stayed at Kiwi four times over the past year (last week being the most recent). As stated by other reviewers, the rooms are adequate, with 210 in particular being excellent.

Thee are two aspects of Kiwi Lodge that separate it from just about everywhere else in Cebu.
1) The staff. Anyone familiar with the Philippines knows good service is difficult to find. The staff at Kiwi are extraordinary in this regard. I can barely leave my room with a tray to bring downstairs without staff sprinting up the stays to take it from me. Want coffee at 3am? No problem. Need something delivered to you in Cebu? They'll accept the delivery and store it for you. I've had nothing but positive experiences with the staff.

2) The food is excellent. I live on a small island in the Southern Philippines where the food is really basic. Kiwi is my chance to reacquaint with western cuisine during my visits off island. I've tried every dish on the menu and they've all been excellent.

Lastly, while it doesn't reach every room, Internet access is blazing fast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bogo city, philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I AM AN AMERICAN! My wife and I have stayed at the Kiwi Lodge at least once each month for the past 6 years. The rooms are more than adequate. The food is above average with MANY choices depending on your preference. They offer a well stocked bar with a wide range of options. The biggest selling point is the LOCATION. It is exactly halfway between SM mall and the Ayala mall. Staff is well trained and answers all of our personal needs. THANKS FOR BEING THERE!!!!

Room Tip: No elevators, so not good for people that are in need of handicap facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I spent a few days here, and several times I overheard management and staff bad mouthing Americans. Everyone else seems welcomed, but if you are American you might want to choose a different place.
Average hotel. Mediocre food, but the service ranged from OK to very bad.
The waitresses just seem annoyed to see customers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am just now about to leave the restaurant at Kiwi Lodge. This will certainly be my last experience here. The food is terrible. They used instant mashed potatoes instead of real ones.

The service is terrible. The waitresses have zero desire to help customers and visibly roll their eyes when you try to catch their attention, or just ignore you altogether.

Lots of other places in Cebu with great service and awesome food. Stay away from here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
I don't believe this is a genuine review as we went back on meals sold that day and can guarrantee we used fresh mashed potato.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Three years after my last visit, we stayed overnight at Kiwilodge Hotel in Cebu City in January 2013. Rooms are clean and average with notable lack of shower curtain because of having slip-proof tiles. At 10am the bar already had nine expat boozing customers. Restaurant has fewer choices now and quality is slightly lower (using instant mashed potatoes, slightly too much ice in otherwise excellent milkshakes). Microwave is used on almost all dishes, disappointing.

Kiwilodge's somewhat isolated location, in a downscale residential area about a half-mile from Cebu City's SM Mall, means taxi rides to eveything. Roosters heard all day long. Remember, filipino law does NOT allow majority foreign ownership of any business of any size. Elderly Kiwi co-owner actively involved in all phases of the hotel which makes Kiwilodge cleaner than filipino hotels.

Room Tip: Stay at Cebu City hotels on Juana Osmena Ave, closer to the best mall (Ayala Mall) and to many resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thanks for your review. Sorry to here you don't like the menu. Firstly we now have 30% more items on the menu than 3 years ago that's why we had to cut out a lot of images, the menu may have looked larger then, because of all the images.
There are only four items on the menu which are microwaved, We do use the microwave for defrosting but all items are cooked with fresh ingredients.
Some items like stews and goulash's are thawed then cooked.
As far as mashed potatoes, we use instant only if we cannot source non waxy potatoes, 90% of the time we use non waxy potatoes.
Anyway if your over this way again please contact me (Dick Dunlop) and I'll shout you a meal....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiwilodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwilodge Hotel

Address: 1060 G. Tudtud Street | Mabolo, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very central location in Cebu City, rooms have air con, en-suite bathroom, HD Cable TV and full 24 hr security with plenty of parking, very close to the two main malls and the Piers. Bar-Restaurant opens at 7am with free wifi and serves great breakfast along with many European Favourites like Fish and Chips, Beef Stews, Roast Dinners, etc. Always cold beer on hand. All the taxi drivers know us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kiwi Hotel Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwilodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.