We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my second stay at kiwilodge.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwilodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cebu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiwilodge Hotel
Save
You added Kiwilodge Hotel to your Saves list
1060 G. Tudtud Street | Mabolo, 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 195 Hotels in Cebu Island
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“my second stay at kiwilodge.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was my second stay at kiwilodge, and again a lovely experience. Situated smack in the middle of everything. The staff are not only lovely and helpfull, but i now regard them as friends. One staff member in particular, Ralph, bent over backwards to show me the sights and places that i wanted to see. He made my holiday!!!!! The food, my god, bangers and mash, shepards pie, english brekkie , all absolutely top class, even the baked beans are prepared right their in the kitchen. I see a few sad people are complaining about the room standards lol, Remember, you are in Cebu, take a look at the local people , soak up the atmosphere of the local area and people. If you want Hilton type rooms, go to Paris and book into the Hilton. Kiwilodge is not for snobs, For me, Kiwilodge is perfect. The prices are good, and i have not experienced any under quoting at all. I could go on and on about my experience in Cebu, and Kiwilodge is just the place to base yourself if you want to see real Phillipino life . Thanks for the beer Dick. I wil be visiting again sometime after Xmas and i would not consider staying anywhere else. Kiwilodge feels like my home in Cebu, and once again, a big thank you to Ralph for giving me an insight into the local community, It was priceless. See you guys soon. Darryl.

Room Tip: Dont worry about the rooms. Chek out the local area and meet the people. You are there to see Cebu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi Darryl, Many thanks for the review, it was good to see you and Chris again.
Now that we have the new rooms
open we are going to be refurbishing the old rooms and have started with replacing the old TV's with Flat screens.
Nothing happens fast in the Philippines but we are acting on the problem.
I did not comment on your first review Darryl because to be quite honest I did not realise there was a way we could do that....under control now
See you at Xmas..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    15
    3
    8
See reviews for
11
20
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

stayed for 3 nights in aug 2012. shopping mall. ferry port ten minutes away. ATM machine across the road. clean rooms with good showers. comfy beds. nice and quiet here you get a good nights sleep. staff are friendly.helpful.jokey. the food is very good. choice of food is good as well. theres alot of hotels who could learn from this hotel. enjoyed my stay here will try and get back there again next year. robin :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I think this is the first 5 star review we have had and I shall be passing this onto the staff.
Their goal this year is to get 5 star ratings, They will be very happy about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I ahve stayed here a number of times when visiting Cebu. This hotel is tucked away in a side street in Mabolo but every taxi driver knows it. It is within easy walking distance of SM Mall (10 minutes) and if you feel energetic you could also walk to Ayala Mall but taxi fare is only 50 pesos or so. Getting there from Mactan Airport will only cost you about 160 pesos.

The rooms are homely but clean and comfortable. CRs are good with instant hot water. Aircon works well. WiFi works and has good throughput. Dick Dunlop and his loyal staff are approachable and friendly. Western style food is readily available. A excellent large beef burger is only 145 pesos. Don't know what the cook puts in it but it tasks real good! SM Light is 55 pesos.

This hotel will not be for those who wish for a top of the line Western-style hotel experience but for those travelers looking for value for money and a friendly clean hotel, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Many thanks for your review, most appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Kiwilodge may have a big difference with all those other fancy hotels in Cebu, but that difference is what makes it better.you may be quite far from where you came, but here there's nothing to worry about,because it has all the thing you need at a high standard like good food , comfortable bed , and a clean CR . I would really suggest people , especially those new to Cebu to come here at kiwi lodge hotel,because not only the surroundings are nice the employees are friendly as well

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments, I will pass this onto the staff, they do try hard....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I usually stay in the KiwiLodge when I am in Cebu. Although it is not very smart in appearance, you could even call it scruffy, the owners understand what westerners like, so it has lots of advantages compared to many Filipino-run hotels:
- The service is generally quick and helpful
- The food appeals to western tastes with favourites such as fish and chips, steaks, roast dinners, good burgers and pies and proper English/American-style breakfasts
- There is a bar (with pool table) popular with expats
It also has a convenient location, between the main Ayala and SM malls. (I often walk to SM).
The rooms are unpretentious but a reasonable size, with the usual facilities – aircon, cable tv and many with fridge/mini-bar. Free wifi is available in the public areas and reaches some but not all the rooms. There is no lift.
Perhaps it will not appeal to those looking for luxury or fashionable styling but I recommend it to those who seek simple comforts and friendly service.

Room Tip: Wifi reaches some rooms (I think mainly the newer ones) but not all, so ask for that if it is import...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Yes we agree it is a little scruffy at the moment, but there has been a lot of political nonsense going on which still may require us to change a staircase and as soon as that is resolved we will be painting asap.
Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

not correct , dont respect the price its write one price but when its time to pay the cashier say you its 10 % more expensive, new roles from the manager !!!!
the food is overpriced, in the standard room the bed is small for two people...no wifi in the room you must stay in the bar, depending on the room sometimes very noisy, very limited comfort, you can find easaly a hotel near this location, less expensive, clean, quite and honest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwilodgeHotel, Manager at Kiwilodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Customer is clearly upset about something.
Prices stated are exactly that.
I do not know who this person is otherwise I would contact and see what the problem is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

i stayed at kiwi for 9 days in March/April. I found the staff absolutely fantastic, thank you Ralph for your friendship and help. The food was well priced and delicious. The room was basic, but was a standard room anyway, i walked in from the street. They must pick from the most beautiful girls in Cebu, because the girls behind the bar are stunning and so polite. The overnight seurity guard was really friendly . Kiwi is situated close to everything really, i enjoyed the fact that i was close to both malls and also the more impoverished squatter areas, which i explored and photographed. The local people are also great and friendly. It was my first time in Cebu but i will be back, and i will definately stay at Kiwi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kiwilodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwilodge Hotel

Address: 1060 G. Tudtud Street | Mabolo, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very central location in Cebu City, rooms have air con, en-suite bathroom, HD Cable TV and full 24 hr security with plenty of parking, very close to the two main malls and the Piers. Bar-Restaurant opens at 7am with free wifi and serves great breakfast along with many European Favourites like Fish and Chips, Beef Stews, Roast Dinners, etc. Always cold beer on hand. All the taxi drivers know us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kiwi Hotel Cebu City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwilodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.