We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellcome Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wellcome Hotel to your Saves list
Wellcome Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Molave St. | Escario-Kamputhaw, 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 190 Hotels in Cebu Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very good hotel, staff excellent, Charlie the porter was very good, we didn't have change for the taxi so he paid from his own pocket! Brilliant room, excellent amenities. Pool quite small but still good, lovely cafe in the lobby, breakfast was all good with fair variety. After the maintenance is complete this will be a brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    35
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
17
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We chose the hotel as they had 2 + 1 bed option = no additional room charges for our daughter, breakfast was extra however only PHP 100/day. Breakfast was OK however not stunning. The pool is tiny = more of a plunge pool. Bathroom was also really small, would have been nicer if it was a little bigger; not a game breaker.

Beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. Hotel is really close to Ayala Shopping Centre - safe to walk there, so heaps of eating opportunities, and some "local" restaurants close by too. Staff are friendly and helpful.

We would stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellcomestaff, Owner at Wellcome Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
In behalf of the personnel and staff, we would like to thank you for your very positive remarks, which always inspire ua to serve you even better. We hope you the best of luck. May you have more chances of going back to Cebu in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a very good stay at Wellcome just this past weekend, I couldn't pass up an opportunity to write a review about them, especially since they are still quite new. Definitely a good find. One of members of our group found them on the internet. Our requirements were clean and modern, basic is fine as we are just going to spend a few hours a day in it, a good bed would be preferred and accessible. Wellcome Hotel answered all these requirements.

Replies to our inquiries were very efficient and when we asked for additional information about van rentals and tours, they were very responsive and even gave us recommendations on additional places aside from the very popular ones. I've been to the city previously but it was a long time ago, and two of our members are there for the first time. I was glad I still had new places to see, so it was a good trip for all of us.

Check in was a breeze, and we were soon in our rooms. Staff were very friendly all over, not just at check-in. And what I like best was their responsiveness. When we asked for additional towel and toilet paper, it was up in our room within minutes.

Room was clean and very minimalist :-) Although could do with a bit of decor like maybe some wall art or just a simple poster :-) I actually like the clean and fresh look. Basic amenities available, a TV, a small ref, hot water kettle, coffee, tr eea, toothbrush, shampoo, soap. Doors locks are digital, and incorporates a Do Not Disturb setting that prevents door bells from ringing. Cool gadgetry. Speaking of gadgets, for wifi-they gave us a pocket wifi as the signal from lobby does not reach the rooms. It's of course slower because it's 3G but sufficient for normal email access, etc. A sign at the lobby refers to Wired connections in the room and I did see a LAN port, but did not try for myself as I didn't have a laptop, probably a new addition since other guests did mention no internet in rooms.

Room lights were a bit limited for me, although it's perfect if you like the romantic mood type :-) The bathroom was clean, although 2 things here: the flush kept on getting stuck (had to push it again for the water to stop) and hot water comes only after 5 minutes of turning it on, so if you're first to take a shower, be sure you turn the water on ahead. It's ok to wait and the temperature of the hot water is good once it warms up, but so much waste of water.

Breakfast is average. I'd expect more variety of the Filipino breakfast meats. They had only one which rotated day to day so if you don't like the particular choice that day, then you're left with the rice and eggs, and bread. I like the mini donuts, those were a hit! They also served kimchi rice and kimchi which was ok, since they also had korean guests. The dessert were too colorful, hahaha. Sorry, I'm not into unnatural colors in my food. I like that they serve breakfast early, 6am so that if you plan to leave hotel early, you still have time for breakfast.

Location was ok, not a stone's throw away from the mall. The only challenge is crossing the busy street Escario and for some who choose to take the small road even further down towards Ayala Mall via Tune or Quest Hotel, it's quite dark. Busy it's crossing a traffic light less busy street vs a small dark road. We've had the same problem crossing the st before when staying at Park Lane Hotel which is just blocks away. Anyway, Wellcome offers a drop off service to the Ayala Mall, so I'd suggest you take advantage of that. The only thing is that it's not regular, it's only available if they have a driver and car available. We never had problems getting one though, but if it's peak time, then the owners should consider a regular route even coming back from the mall at night. We actually planned to just walk back since we're in a group but it rained so we had to take a taxi which was less than Php60 so we didn't really get to meet the challenge of crossing the busy street or going through the dark alley ourselves. Taxis are abundant and quite economical anyway. Even coming from the airport, we did not ask for the hotel service since taxis are quite abundant. Be ready though with the hotel address, as this is new. A couple of taxi drivers did not know, so we had to say Escario St which is big road off the hotel's street Molave St.

Pool, yup, it's a kiddie pool, but can also be a good place to hang out at night cause the pool is out on the 3rd floor. After a tired day, it's a good opportunity to just take a dip at the pool or even just go outdoors and sit on the lounge chairs on the pool deck. The pool is lighted with changing mood lights :-)

We also rented day transport from them to go around the city, but our driver didn't really know too well the location of the smaller attractions which their owner had recommended to us, but we just gave him the list which had addresses, so we eventually covered everything. The second day, we went further to Kawasan Falls, and Simala Church, and they had a guide who's local to Cebu accompany us. That was really a nice trip, but a long way. Nice option to take if you want to explore Cebu outside just the beaches and the city. Another option to take is Oslob, to see the whalesharks but be prepared to leave really early :-)

Overall a very good stay, and I would go back again.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the pool, excellent ambiance :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I definitely recommend this one!!everyone was so nice and helpful. They greet us whenever they see us plus they answer the front desk in 2 rings or less.. They are located at heart of the city so the malls, restaurants were walking distance or at most a twenty minute taxi away.well,at least for the places we had in our itenerary.I really did not want to leave!!it was so much fun!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellcomestaff, Public Relations Manager at Wellcome Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Maam/ Sir. We were so glad to hear those positive comments from you. Your comments not only invigorate us, but also pushes us to serve you better, next time around. We really make it a point to try each day to go the extra mile to serve our customers. We are not like the giant hotels around us, but as far and as much as we can, we "find ways".

For the internet, we really optimize what we can extend to our guest without asking any additional fee for it but the property is entirely dependent on the infrastructure that's available to us from the providers. We are still hoping they can improve their infrastructure in the near future, as they require a certain volume of sure customers before they lay additional cables - an investment assurance. But it is still a wonder, though, because according to several guests, one best-selling OTA recommended the hotel to them as the hotel with the "best free internet connection" in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything was superb. The hotel was very clean plus the staff are very nice and accomodating. Room is elegant. Howbeit the pool is good for kids only. Other than that, this is a very amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellcomestaff, Public Relations Manager at Wellcome Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Maam/ Sir. We were so glad to hear those positive comments from you. Your comments not only invigorate us, but also pushes us to serve you better, next time around. We really make it a point to try each day to go the extra mile to serve our customers. We are not like the giant hotels around us, but as far and as much as we can, we "find ways".

For the internet, we really optimize what we can extend to our guest without asking any additional fee for it but the property is entirely dependent on the infrastructure that's available to us from the providers. We are still hoping they can improve their infrastructure in the near future, as they require a certain volume of sure customers before they lay additional cables - an investment assurance. But it is still a wonder, though, because according to several guests, one best-selling OTA recommended the hotel to them as the hotel with the "best free internet connection" in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I would recommend Wellcome Hotel since it is only 6 months old and comes with a free breakfast. The only downside is that if you bring a wifi netbook or wifi tablet there is no wifi in the room but you do have wifi access in the lobby. If you bring a laptop the front desk will let you use the cable for lan access. Don't walk down the road that leads to the 7-11 next to Tune Hotel at night since there are quite a few billyboys,(trasvestites), that hang around that road as soon as the sun goes down. A short taxi ride to the entertainment area on Mango Ave.

Room Tip: The best things about Wellcome Hotel is the free breakfast buffet and friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Wonderful hotel just 10 mins walk away from Ayala Terraces Cebu.
Room prices were affordable and staff were really courteous, friendly and helpful.
Need a cab? No worries, staff will assist to book a taxi for you at the time of your choice.
They have excellent service!
Breakfast was just nice, served with tea or coffee.

The best part was we celebrated my sister's birthday here and when we planned a surprise party for her, Wellcome Hotel made the experience a very memorable one. They agreed to make all the arrangements including decorations and purchasing my sister's favorite cake prior to our arrival. Everything was coordinated through e-mail without hassle. When we arrived everything was set and our sister was very delighted.

Thank you Wellcome Hotel! I will definitely stay here again when I return to Cebu!

This hotel feels like a home away from home!

Room Tip: Any room will do but those on the 3rd level are closest to the pool and have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellcomestaff, Public Relations Manager at Wellcome Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Maam/ Sir. We were so glad to hear those positive comments from you. Your comments not only invigorate us, but also pushes us to serve you better, next time around. We really make it a point to try each day to go the extra mile to serve our customers. We are not like the giant hotels around us, but as far and as much as we can, we "find ways".

For the internet, we really optimize what we can extend to our guest without asking any additional fee for it but the property is entirely dependent on the infrastructure that's available to us from the providers. We are still hoping they can improve their infrastructure in the near future, as they require a certain volume of sure customers before they lay additional cables - an investment assurance. But it is still a wonder, though, because according to several guests, one best-selling OTA recommended the hotel to them as the hotel with the "best free internet connection" in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellcome Hotel

Address: 18 Molave St. | Escario-Kamputhaw, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 190 Hotels in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellcome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in the heart of Cebu City's Central Business District, WellCome Hotel is the ideal vantage point for one's excursions around Cebu or the region. The hotel is located just a few meters from Cebu's Ayala Mall and the nearby public transport station that provides access to most of Cebu's important points of interest and attractions. This modern hotel is in the area of the circle of hotels - where tourists and visitors to the city primarily seek accommodation. The hotel is also near Cebu's I.T. Park, convention centers, Mango Avenue and all the favorite hang-outs for locals and tourists seeking fun and exhilaration.WellCome Hotel is committed to ensuring that one's stay is as comfortable as possible, offering hotel guests with superior services and a broad range of amenities. Guests of the hotel can actually avail of on-site options, such transfers to the airport and seaport, tours, a restaurant, Wi-Fi in public areas, concierge, coffee shop, and massage. The hotel's outdoor pool is a favorite spot to unwind and a way to enjoy one's stay in the country's Queen City of the south.Step into any of the property's 68 inviting guest rooms and escape from the day's stress with a wide range of amenities, ranging from kitchens in choice rooms, balcony/terrace at the lower floors, refrigerator-mini bar, interconnecting rooms in certain room pairs, and internet access for free wherever available. Whatever is the purpose of one's visit and with unmatched value for the money, WellCome Hotel will always be an excellent choice for one's stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wellcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellcome Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.