We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alegre Beach Resort has always been our sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of our daily work life!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alegre Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alegre Beach Resort to your Saves list
Alegre Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calomboyan, Sogod | PO Box 1094, 6007, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 190 Hotels in Cebu Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Alegre Beach Resort has always been our sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of our daily work life!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Coming to Alegre is a respite. Birds hum, the staff and service are absolutely superb!!
Our ocean view cabana is huge with easy access to the white sand beach... Wish we can stay longer... Just want to add more to the current menu so we have more choices on food... Other than that it has , and always is a blast! The GM is the kindest and most efficient person I have ever met.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    65
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
105
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Alegre is the perfect beach getaway. We stayed there for 4 nights over Easter, and though the resort was at full capacity, we barely saw anyone. Getting to and from the resort was painless as they had organised comfortable transport to and from the airport for us. The staff were incredibly friendly, attentive and eager to please. We felt absolutely spoiled by the amount of attention we received from the staff (it was my birthday over the weekend and the resort went out of their way to make it special for me). The location is incredible - the beach, although small, is private, and there are great views of the ocean from virtually everywhere around the resort. The food was outstanding - as two people who really enjoy our food, we absolutely loved everything we ate, and there was plenty of variety to choose from while we were there (we highly recommend the coconut and chicken salad, the purple cheesey bread, and beach BBQ). In terms of our room, we stayed in the Deluxe Ocean View Room which was nice and spacious, although the decor is on the old fashioned side.

The only real downside was that the gym equipment was basic and some of it was quite old. There were still plenty of other activities to keep us occupied (sea kayaking, trip out to an island by boat, fabulous spa with great treatments, and incredible snorkelling on the beach - one of the better snorkelling spots I've been to). And as with any island getaway, make sure you take a lot of mosquito repellant!

Alegre is absolute bliss - I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for peace and quiet and quality time with your significant other.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was my niece's first time to experience a beach and Alegre Beach Resort & Spa was definitely worth the first time experience. Their clean beach and well maintained sanctuary abound with fishes friendly enough for our 5-month old to play with and our 8 year old to discover the joys of underwater nature. The natural sounds of chirping birds, the beauteous rise of the moon by their pavilion restaurant would make it a moment worth treasuring for all ages. Its distance from the city is not such a hindrance when your purpose is a family get-away and relaxation. Nothing to fear because everything you need to relax is in the resort and when you need to do urgent business, their wi-fi is strong enough to send an email to finalize a day's work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have been to Alegre Beach Resort three times already and every time we go, we can't just get enough of it. We always end up saying "how we wish we could stay another day". It's the perfect getaway for a weekend. My husband and I don't like to go to crowded places. Even if Alegre beach resort is fully book, the place, the pool, the beach especially does not get crowded at all. They have 3 coves which you can choose from to sit back and relax and enjoy a swim. The rooms and the bathrooms are huge. If you want a quiet weekend and enjoy the beach and snorkeling, Alegre Beach Resort is the destination!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

PROPERTY/ ROOMS
The property is rather clean and manicured. We reserved two de luxe rooms that were adjoining so it was quiet convenient. The rooms have a native/bohemian flare and are clean and spacious.

RESTAURANT/ FOOD/ SERVICE
The restaurant and bar looks like it has been renovated and has a modern twist compared to the rooms. Their two page menu does not offer much options and their portions are quiet small for what you pay for. We were sick of the food by the second day. When we ordered a meal for lunch or dinner we would be waiting between 30 minutes to an hour; which I think is unacceptable when the resort was not even full (only 10 huts were vacant). The waiters and waitresses are not very pleasant. They take your order, bring your food to your table and then disappear. On our last days we gave out tips to the ones that served us throughout our stay even though I felt it wasn't deserved and as soon as we did that we got smiles, "hellos", "how are yous" and exceptional service. The only ones that were courteous to us were the receptionists.

BEACH AND POOL
The beach, restaurant and rooms are not conveniently located to each other so you get quiet a workout walking and climbing stairs. The pool was dirty with leaves floating in the water and sand on the bottom. The beach was nice and private. The sand is rough with shells and rocks. The color of the water was beautiful. It's quiet amazing to see an array of beautiful colored fish. They charged for all the sports activities and the excursions were super expensive; be prepared to spend over $200 us per person.

SPA
My family and I used their spa services at least 3 times. I personally had a full body massage and the cucumber and yoghurt wrap. The massage was relaxing. The wrap mixture helped relieve my sunburn but when they wrapped me they used a tarp (tarp that you would use for camping). I did not feel papered from that point on.

My family and I stayed for 5 nights. Overall I think this resort was overly priced for what you get and overrated. Would not return and would not recommend this to anyone. There are so many more islands and resorts in the Philippines that have exceptional service, with a phenomenal beach and awesome food.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a big group and want to stay together ask for adjoining rooms. Also, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed only at this resort for day and I find it...good. Ideal for vacationers and honeymooners. The place is peaceful, away from busy and noisy city. There's a shuttle
transportation from Cebu City to ferry you back and forth. Be sure to book in advance as it is
always fully booked especially during summer. Everthing is ok. You can also use your credit card if you wish which is convenient for travelers....the fact that it is quite far from the city. It will take you one hour and a half from Mactan Intl. Airport to this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I were driving around the area and decided to stop for a drink and refreshments and have a look around.Security guard at entrance gate was curtious and helpful. Grounds large and at first glance appeared to require a bit more TLC No one in reception when we arrived but later a young lady arrived and was very helpful. Souvineer shop close by but nobody in attendance. Inner pool area and gardens beautiful. Restaurant and service very good. We were alone in the restaurant and enjoyed the cool environment and magnificent view. The area outside the hotel grounds is very busy with many homes close by. Not many guests here so if you want a very very quiet time away and be very very private this is the place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alegre Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegre Beach Resort

Address: Calomboyan, Sogod | PO Box 1094, 6007, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cebu Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cebu Island
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alegre Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alegre Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegre Beach Hotel Cebu
Alegre Beach Cebu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegre Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.