We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simala Shrine

Simala Shrine
Lindogon | Simala, 6020, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 134 Attractions in Cebu Island
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Mandaue, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Started the day around 6am took a Jeepney from Cebu North Bus station to the south station, from there a bus that left at 7am cost was 66 peso, when you get off the Bus there was a very nice and clean Sari Sari store that we had something to eat at and rest after the 3 hour bus ride. took a 3 wheel bike up the hill that cost 20 peso (myself I feel that part is over priced) it is free to get in the Shrine a lot of people outside selling Oil and other small things. Over all that trip was nice.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lleida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Charming shrine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

If your thing is catholic devotion, you will love this templet devoted to Virgin Mary. Even if you are not a catholic, the atmosphere that exudes the place is something to remember. Light a candle !!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Pretty Shrine in Cebu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Simala Shrine is pretty from the outside. I didn't find the inside as visually inspiring. There are many filipinos traveling there to pray to the Virgin Mary statue which has cried in the past. An interesting experience but I wouldn't do it again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Just another church!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Okay, this place does have charm since it's really a lovely building and in the midst of park-like grounds. The highway that goes from Cebu City to the south of the island passes the road that goes to Simala. That side road is just before you arrive at the Argao City line. All the bus conductors know the place.This church is nice but it's new, having been built in the last 20 years in reverence to Mama Mary's having cured lots of the locals of some epidemic. All along the highway south of Cebu City there are some very beautiful old churches from the Spanish colonial days: Pardo, Basak, Minglanilla, Carcar, etc. I would much prefer to visit one of the older and more historical churches than this shrine in Simala. One more negative issue: When you get off the bus at the crossing you walk just 20 meters or so and there's a trike terminal which offers the only means of transport up the mountain road to the site. It's too far to walk so you have no choice but to negotiate with those mafiosos who operate the trike service. They will take you up the mountain road and then wait for you to finish your tour of the the church, then will take you back down. When you negotiate with those dirty dogs make sure you've agreed to the fare going UP and DOWN! They will try extort double the agreed price if you don't. For me, I won't be going there again; I much prefer to visit the old colonial churches which are alongside the highway. The one in Minglanilla is especially charming.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartwright, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

don't know if they're referring to something different than the church or not. if it's the church you have to make the trip to see it. it is one of the most spectacular churches i have ever seen.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simala Shrine also viewed

 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Oslob, Cebu Island
 

Been to Simala Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simala Shrine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.