We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe in the '80s.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Virgin Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Virgin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Virgin Beach Resort
Suba | Malbago, Daanbantayan, 6013, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 238 Cebu Island B&B and Inns
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Maybe in the '80s.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The place is almost rundown, with pictures of foreign visitors from decades ago (read: white men with arms around consenting Pinays) inside the rooms and along the walls in the common area. I didn't even attempt to take a picture of the place as it was not worth my phone's memory. The food was expensive for the kind of quality and service offered. When we cooked our own dinner, they didn't even allow us to use their tables -- we had to pay for every single thing if we wanted to -- and we had to beg for the use of their plates. It's not like they're Astoria or somewhere expensive but they act like everything's so wonderful and high-class when in fact the cheap hotels in Batangas will beat them like The Hulk toying with Loki. There were huge cockroaches in the bathroom for crying out loud! As for what amenities they have left, there was a billiards table that cost P100/hr -- guess what, the table is not even. Don't even get me started with the corkage. Argh. We were not treated as customers -- we were treated like unwelcome guests. And there's no beach to start with, only pools made for '80s kids. So please, don't go here. EVER.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Virgin Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your stay with us at Virgin Beach Resort. We are sorry that your stay was not enjoyable. We try hard to serve our guests and always work to improve. We paint/varnish the entire resort each year and with the harsh sun/weather of the Philippines/tropics, we are constantly maintaining the resort. Of the more than 1,000 pictures in the resort of guests/groups, less than 200 are of foreigners with their wives and families. The rest are of Filipino guests/families/groups. We apologize for those who are offended by such pictures, and the guest is welcome to take them down and place them inside the cabinet or give to front desk or ask the staff to remove them while you are there. Many of those guests return and ask to stay in the room where their picture is and many of our guests look for themselves, their friends and families in the photos. We feel our menu items are reasonable for a resort and rice is the same price as Jolly Bee and the portion size more than compensates for the price. You were given a free upgrade to a Deluxe Cottage (you purchased a MetroDeal for P700 with breakfast for 2 for the Superior Room) and the cottage has a kitchenette for long term staying guests. Of course if you cook in your room, you can eat at the table in your room, but you cannot bring outside food into the restaurant...that is standard all over the world. We spray the rooms for bugs and apologize for the ones in your room. Please contact the staff and we will spray again for bugs. Thank you for letting us know our billiard table is not level, we have corrected the problem and is now level. Yes, we do charge corkage in our restaurant as even Mc D does not allow you to bring in outside food. You were told of our corkage when you made your reservation. Our swimming pool is 30 meters by 10 meters and average size for a resort our size. It is 5 feet deep and thus is a "swimming" pool and not a "diving" pool. We are sorry you felt like you were not treated like a guest, we apologize and will try harder. We value you as a guest and strive to satisfy every customer. Please contact me by email (same email as you made your reservation) and we will refund you your money. God Bless You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mandaue, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My stay in the resort was just short due to urgent concerns way back to City. I wish i've prepared good enough for my booking so i could have stayed longer. But nevertheless, surely, i will be back at Virgin sooner. The place is a great escape from city noise, very affordable, and the service is really great. The food, surely i will missed them more, specially the calamares and chopsuey. Yummy and completely spice up. I love also the pool. Just enough for relaxing moment in the late afternoon or early dawn morning. No too deep part so everyone could enjoy even if you don't know how to swim. And the slide, wow its long, it make the moments more fun.

One more reason i love the resort because it is design that make you feel at home. Its a resort but when your there, you want to stay outside of your room to enjoy sight seing and park yourself if not in the hall or anywhere in the resort.

Room Tip: Superior room are located in the hall itself. Very good location specially if you want to stay outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Virgin Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thanks for the positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Our chopsuey is the favorite of many of our guests and is in fact one of our specialties. Sorry that you had to leave early, but we look forward to your return visit. Thanks again for choosing Virgin Beach Resort for your getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We had great day staying at Virgin Beach Resort. The place was quite and peaceful, perfect for relaxation and enjoying the cool ocean breeze. The staff were very much accommodating and provides good service. And the food, very great. We also have a great fun at their pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginBeach, Owner at Virgin Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thanks for the review for Virgin Beach Resort. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you'll return again and again. We agree, the resort is a great place to relax. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

we choose to go to virgin beach resort for the photoshoot of the wedding gowns creation of Jason's boutique...and we are not mistaken as we really enjoy our stay...actually we are really a virgin beach resort fans..we used to go there always when we have free time for get away...the place is so breathtaking have nice views and very accommodating...the rooms are also very affordable...we enjoy the 12 person room where we stayed and the food they serve...so yummy..sad part only is when the time to go home that u feel your heart was left and still want to stay...and for the last glance and words comes out to your mouth is " I shall return " hehehe like what mc arthur says....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginBeach, Owner at Virgin Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thanks for the review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay at Virgin Beach Resort. You're photos are great and we wish you success in your business. By the way, we are currently offering our Barkada Lodge, good for 12 persons, for only P1,000 per night, just bring your own bedding/towels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mactan Island, Philippines
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I together with my mom, sis and bf visited this resort in North Cebu. Bus travel took awhile close to 4 hours to reach the area but its the price you pay if you want to escape the dizzying pace of the city. Love their breakwater area and the fact that they have a swimming pool with water slide (most affordable resorts in Cebu don't). Also enjoyed their wall climbing facility. Room is clean and staff very courteous and accommodating. If you dine there don't miss their calamares!!!

Room Tip: Duplex cottages are best as you can cook your own meal, very ideal for small families and long term...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginBeach, Owner at Virgin Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thanks for your review of Virgin Beach Resort. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and glad you were able to purchase a discount coupon from MetroDeal. Good luck on your blogging travel site and thanks for up-to-date information on jeepneys, buses, planes and ferries in Cebu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

the place is very run down, must have been a lovely place years ago
there are photos of guests from years ago all over the walls,even in the bedroom which
we found a bit strange
the food is not very good, a gourmet 5 course meal was ( advertised as gourmet),piece of fried chicken, rice, noodles, and tinned fruit, that is 4 not 5, not being picky but best not to advertise things thats you are not going to give
it is far from everywhere else so you depend on them for food etc,
waited 15 minutes to order something to eat, the one man seems to do everything
all the things advertised like, swimming pool with slide, slide has paint peeling off, cannot use, all sports things to use all grown over
would recommend you give this place a wide berth

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginBeach, Owner at Virgin Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Virgin Beach Resort. We are constantly trying to give good value, good food and good service. I wish you would have complained to our on site manger about the item lacking in our meal. We do not wish to mislead any one and our apologies to you. We will try harder. We are constantly touching up paint, repairing pool and waterslide, and maintaining the landscaping, but since you were there during our rainy season, we were not able to keep up with the maintenance we usually have. If you will contact us thru our web site, we will gladly reimburse you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Virgin Beach Resort is one of the best places to stay in the northern part of Cebu. They not only have clean rooms and a spacious area, they also serve mouth-watering dishes. The best thing about this beach resort is that family members who don't like salty waters can choose to stay at the swimming pool. The hospitable crew members, especially Jomar and Nikka, are always there to assist you.

Room Tip: Ask the crew to let you see the different variety of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginBeach, Owner at Virgin Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thanks for your positive review Mark. You have a great web site and we wish you luck in your business. You have a lovely family and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Virgin Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Virgin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin Beach Resort

Address: Suba | Malbago, Daanbantayan, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virgin Beach Resort Cebu is the beach resort you've been looking for...quiet, peaceful, secluded, out of the way, off the beaten path, private beach, beautiful swimming pool with water slide, lush tropical landscaping, gentle sea breezes, crystal clear warm coral sea, romantic starry nights, award-winning gourmet meals, multilingual attentive staff, all the amenities of a first class resort at affordable prices...and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Virgin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgin Beach Hotel Cebu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.