We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no hot shower, pool no water” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bougainvilla Resort

Save Saved
You added Bougainvilla Resort to your Saves list
Bougainvilla Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bougainvilla Resort
Station 2 | Malay, Aklan, 0608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Batangas, Batangas City, Philippines
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“no hot shower, pool no water”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

the pool has no water, only 2 rooms occupied during peak season which is march 31 to april2. hot shower in family room not working, we were sent to smaller room which is not what we paid for. bad choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I booked a "3 bedroom apartment" from agoda for my friends and I. They did not have airport pick up and calling them was impossible since no one answered the phone. So, 8 of us arrive at the hotel and I give my voucher to the manager and he leaves without saying anything. We sat there for about 30 mins waiting. Finally, the owner comes, who is this really old Italian man. He tells us that he doesn't have OUR room available. Actually he says that he never received our voucher from agoda. I think that was a BIG lie because he kept contradicting himself. He made me really uncomfortable. With no where to go and money already prepaid he crams 8 of us into one room. The room was clean and they put two other beds inside but there was no where to move or put our bags. He said that our room would be ready the next day..he went on and on about this fantastic apartment that has a great kitchen etc.. So, we slept like sardines in this one room.

The next day our room wasn't ready. He kept telling us that the price we paid is very cheap and we shouldn't expect such a big room. Well, that is the price that YOU are advertising it for, we were all thinking. This really frustrated me because it is not about the amount paid for this booking. It is that we BOOKED this place and we expected to get exactly what we booked, a 3 bedroom apartment.

SO, two days sleeping in a sardine can. He kind of made it seem like it was our fault for this situation.

Finally, our "apartment is available". We go see it and it is a two room apartment with a kitchen that has NOTHING but a few glasses, a knife and a moldy pot. Only one air condition works. It was really hot. The bathroom sink was not working. So, we used the bidet as our sink. The shower was open concept so there was no way to keep the water inside the shower area. It got flooded every night.

No one came to clean our room. We had to ask because 8 people in a small space gets really dirty.

When we confronted the owner about the FALSE advertising he said that he doesn't know what he advertises online. On our paper it said 3 bedroom apartment. He first told us that he could not see the word bed(room) on our paper. That is actually said room not bedroom. IT SAID BEDROOM!!!! Then he told us the 3rd bedroom is the kitchen and we can put a bed in the kitchen. NO!!!! The kitchen is the entrance as well.

The owner blamed us for this situation. he really put a lot of stress on our group especially me since i booked this place hoping it will be good. He was really not concerned for our situation and the lies that he was telling us were unacceptable.

The pool was not meant for swimming. it was green when we arrived. Upon our departure it was being drained. I never saw anyone attempt to swim in it.

There are so many places to choose from in Boracay, HUNDREDS. I would not stay at this place even if it was free for 100 people.

The only good thing about this experience was the Filipino staff. They were amazing!!!! They really tried their best to make us feel better. Especially the manager Jose. If it wasn't for him. It would have ruined the ENTIRE Boracay experience for me.

I would really advise against this place in case you end up having a problem with your booking. There really are a lot of other places to choose from.

AS well, beach wise, it is under ten minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwangju, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Beware because Bougainvilla is definitely not as advertised-- we showed up having booked a room and just had the demented owner of the place up and say it wasn't available, so 8 of us stayed in a single room for the first two nights. The deranged proprietor of the place then offered to compensate us by providing free dinner at his beachfront restaurant, which was really good (try the footballs), but instead of actually paying for the dinners of 8 people he rescinded his original offer and instructed the staff to give us 3 free pizzas, which is strange thinking considering we were a group of 8 full-grown humans, but that's alright. After we moved into the room we booked on the third night, everything went well with the exception of a seriously broken sink. Sound like you shouldn't consider this place? Think again. The guy who manages this place is a wonderful Filipino gentleman named Jose who made our trip all worthwhile. He has an incredibly cute 9 year old daughter who helps out with reception, and he's always available to answer questions or provide amenities. I even forgot my iPod at the place and he chased down our taxi to return it just in the nick of time. What a good man.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

A real pity that this place is not looked after properly by its owner, Mario. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are large, fitted with two vanities, a shower, a toilet and even a bidet. A very clean room with lots of sunlight -- resembles an Italian pensionne. The glitch? Searing hot water in the showers and a non-flushing toilet -- that is, until you turn on the bidet which fills the toilet tank AND uses up the scalding water so one can enjoy a tepid shower. A waste of valuable resources, all that water down the drain! The pool was murky so we didn't go near it. The other guests were noisy and annoying, shouting from the balconies down to their kids in the murky pool. The caretaker, Jose, was a sweetheart who gave in to our MANY (and not outlandish) demands of towels, blankets and housekeeping. He was there 24/7 and he and his daughter slept on the sofa in the reception lobby every night.

The other reviews on here were misleading, sorry to say. As far as cleanliness and size goes, yes the room was great. But plumbing is sort of an essential part of having a comfortable stay. And, it's not a five minute walk to the beach...unless you take a shortcut through the Tonglen Resort next door. We only know that because our previous stay was there. Sadly they were booked full.

Overall, if you are just looking for a room and don't have any gastro issues and can manage dealing with the guilt of wasting water on a tropical island and don't want a pool to use and enjoy the walk to the beach (I lost 3 pounds between traipsing and swimming on this vacation -- not a total miss!!) then I say go for it because it is clean and bright...just not a place you hang out in. Oh! I almost forgot about the smell. Yes, the smell. Synthetic floral chemically gag-inducing eye-burning airfreshner smell. We had to switch rooms because the smell just would not dissipate after 12 hours. It lingered. Like an unwanted guest.

Room Tip: Demand to check the working order of the plumbing. Stay on the second floor. Ask for Jose, he's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Like the previous reviewer we also met Mario and Dora. Mario is a charming Italian gentleman who indeeds treats you like family and is generous and hospitable.
The rooms are well sized, pretty modern and clean, there is an internet connection in every room (although you need your own laptop) and the staff are friendly and helpful. We were met by Ivan at the airport and helped all the way to the hotel.
We took the Bougainvilla for the great price (special deal having approached the hotel direct) and because my wife loves swimming pools and we were a bit worried about there maybe being too much moise from party-goers down at the beach (we have a 16 month old son). Imagine our shock then when we arrived and found that the swimming pool and the shared garden with Paradise Garden Resort had a temporary wall built across it! Tense times with Mario, since we had not been informed about this on booking. Basically, the Paradise Garden has been sold (now called OneMGM) and there was a legal dispute between the new owner (who erected the wall) and Mario. Who knows when it will be removed but the OneMGM owner did send some guests that he had overbooked over to Bougainvilla while we were there, so maybe it will not be too long. Mario gave us a further discount and an upgrade to a bigger room, as well as inviting us for dinner and giving us other freebies and a reserved spot at the beach at Luna Rossa. We ended up deciding to stay, in large part because we were just too tired to try and find somewhere else.
We are really glad that we did. If we had had the pool as well it would have been really great but that is the reason I have rated it only 4 rather than 5 stars.
You must eat at the Luna Rossa. The pizzas are very authentic and the seafood wonderful. Try the crab fettucine and get them to grill the blue marlin, or the 2 types of crayfish, or the huge tiger prawns or the tuna..... all, really delicious.
So, if you are not dying to have a view over the beach, want somewhere a bit quieter and don't mind a 5 to 10 mins walk to the beach, then, as long as the pool and the gardens are open again, I would totally recommend this place.

  • Liked — The atmosphere createst by Mario and his staff
  • Disliked — The pool and garden were cut in half by the hotel next door
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

My friends and I just returned to Canada after spending a month travelling around the Philippines. Our first few days we spent on Boracay and were lucky enough to meet Mario and his wife Dora, owners of Luna Rosa and Bougainvilla. Bougainvilla is a five minute walk from white beach on the same grounds as Paradise Garden Resort. The rooms were amazing at Bougainvilla, quiet and yet convenient with 3 pools set in a lush garden setting. Mario and Dora also own Luna Rosa restaurant and resort which is located a few doors down from the tourist centre and a short walk from Bougainvilla. The staff were amazing, the food was incredible and they made us feel more like family rather than tourists.
This was my second trip to Boracay the first being 7 years ago so I didn't know what to expect. Although the island has become over developed you can still find some deserted beaches and quiet areas and some great bars like Charlhs located in boat station two right on the beach. Here you will find the best musicians on the island playing everything from classic rock to reggae to local music sung in their native tongue of Tagolog. Most of the musicians have been entertaining tourists at Charhls
for over 8 years. The bar staff is amazing especially Roel who has been working there for 7 years.
Please remeber wherever you travel in the Philippines don't forget to tip, They earn a monthly wage of about 4,000 pesos which works out to be about 120.00US.

  • Liked — The room, and the helpfulness of the staff and the owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bougainvilla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvilla Resort

Address: Station 2 | Malay, Aklan, 0608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bougainvilla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bougainvilla Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.