We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lethargic service staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dos Mestizos

Dos Mestizos
Calle Remedios, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
+63 36 288 5786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 211 Restaurants in Boracay
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lethargic service staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The waitress missed out our main course, was not able to give recommendations for food besides the pallella which I explained willl be too big a portion for my mum. Stark contrast to the other restaurants I've tried in boracay.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We are sorry for your unfortunate experience in our restaurant recently. I beleive there was some misunderstanding with our staff regarding your order which was not taken properly. Rest assured that we shall be addressing the situation and will be taking this up to further improve our customer service quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    68
    17
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dongguan, China
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Hidden away, but worth finding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Food, service and atmosphere were just right. We especially enjoyed the strolling guitar playing singer from Spain.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about Dos Mestizos. We are happy that you enjoyed your evening with us. We hope to have the Spanish singer back with us in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So nice we went there twice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Amazing Spanish food--a little pricey comparable to the rest of the island but we still went there twice. Well worth it. We ordered everything on the Tapas menu and nothing disappointed : manchego (excellent), jamon Serrano (beautiful), mussels in white wine, gambas, beef tenderloin with garlic, Bleu Cheese croquettes, and on and on. Ordered seafood paella both times and loved it. Also we had a friend from Valencia with us and she was even impressed with how authentic and delicious everything was. Service was good, wine was nice, ambience was inviting and quite family friendly too! A must for sure! Located near the police station in Station 2

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our restaurant. We look forward to having you again on your next visit to Boracay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have never written a bad review and have enjoyed this restaurant in the past...but I have to say this evening at Dos Mestizos was awful. Two of us ordered a 270 peso ceadar salad, it was terrible we tried to add lemon, more dressing, cheese, nothing helped so we returned them to the kitchen. It was not till the end of our meal when the uneaten , terrible salads were still on the bill that we were informed if we did not pay for them our server would have to. To which we replied, "are you insane?" Needless p say , after 6 years of business, this will be our last time eating at Dos Mestizos.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your dining experience at our restaurant recently. This has been the only complaint we have received about our salad so far and we shall look at what can be improved with our current recipe. Rest assured that your feedback will lead us to improve the quality of our dishes even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quality Spanish food anf tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

High quality, authentic Spanish food at Dos Mestizos, only about 50 metres from the famed White Beach on Boracay. Highly recommended for all occasions.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dos M, Manager at Dos Mestizos, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our restaurant and we hope you will continue to patronize us in the near future. We look forward to having you again at Dos Mestizos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Mestizos also viewed

Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to Dos Mestizos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dos Mestizos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.