We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kite, relax and great hospitality on Bulabog Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Retreat Resort

Save Saved
You added Reef Retreat Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reef Retreat Resort
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Bulabog Beach, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 174 Boracay B&B and Inns
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Kite, relax and great hospitality on Bulabog Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Wanted to learn to kite and found this piece of heaven. Few rooms, clean, well appointed with staff going the extra mile to ensure your stay. Despite no breakfast you can find many places just down the road (500m)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea directly...we worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    29
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
29
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

It was a wonderful stay at Reef Retreat. Quiet, efficient staff, housekeeping and owners. First room I ever stayed in when the outlets do not go out of power when you remove the card. Practical to cahrge your camera and other appliances. The only drawback was the soft matress but I believe this ccould have been changed, should I have make a request. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Its housekeeping was efficient. We got fresh towels/was-cloths everyday and the bed was made-up daily. The room's ambiance was quite relaxing (it looked pretty romantic, too bad my boyfriend wasn't on the trip with me. haha). The bathroom was well-designed and we encountered no drainage problem. The balcony with 2 chairs was pretty functional, too (for reading, using my laptop, and drying wet swimsuits).

I left my 2 cellphones with the staff for safe-keeping and I forgot to claim them during office hours. I was worried cuz my flight was early next morning. But to my delight that night, I saw a sealed envelope with my 2 cellphones in it (with the message that they double-locked my room for security purposes).

The staff-in-charge was also nice enough to lend me a chicklit off their bookshelves even if it was on a barter basis.

A long walk to the main white beach but it's worth it!

Highly-recommended! I'd definitely come back (with my boyfriend next time!) =p

-Whizzybird

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you want to windsurf or kitesurf and be right where the action is, this is the place to stay. It's not a 5* resort but if it's all about being on the water, you don't need anything more. The rooms are clean and more than adequate; the kite surf centre is in the garden, with the windsurf centre next door and the beach less than 100m away! And if you want hustle and bustle, it's only a 10 min walk to the bright lights of White Beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe Suite and it was very well appointed. Fully self contained - self catering for a long stay would be no problem at all, although we only stayed 4 nights.

Excellent bathroom and comfortable bed.

It is located on Bulabog Beach which s heaven if you are a kite boarder - I'm not but they are great to watch, maybe I'll take lessons next time.

It is very quiet at Bulabog beach, but only 5-10min walk to the hustle of White Beach - very easy to walk for a day on the beach then retreat to peace for the evening, or head back to White Beach to party.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The accommodation is very nice , the service of the local staff is very friendly . Beware to pay in advance for accommodation , any small change you will lose every cent of it. My advice to you is: book a day or two , if you like the beaches ( I did not like Windsurfing there) extend it - if they are fully booked they are many other place to stay in .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Immediately across the road from Bulabog beach, with both a Kitesurf and Windsurf centre just steps away, the Reef Retreat is in a perfect spot if you're planning on an active holiday. It's not too isolated, but it feels miles away from the overcrowded, hectic White Beach.

The room was spacious and very clean, with lovely touches like fresh flowers. The only downsides would be the foam mattress and noisy and vaguely dodgy airconditioner, however at the end of a 30+ hour day travelling or a couple of hours on the water, neither were a showstopper. The staff were delightful - so sweet, and really helpful. The hotel has a library where you can swap books as well as cable TV in the rooms, so there's certainly options if there's no wind or you just need some downtime.


I arranged an airport transfer, which I would recommend for first time visitors especially if this is at the end of a long journey. Flights seem to be rescheduled fairly frequently, so rather than arriving in Caticlan, I ended up landing in Kalibo and being bussed to Caticlan. I let the hotel know, and the lovely staff member met me at the bus terminal rather than the airport. It's a multple stage process to get to the hotel (trishaw, boat, trishaw), so while I felt the USD25 for a return transfer was a bit on the pricey side, it was ultimately well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reef Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Retreat Resort

Address: Bulabog Beach, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Retreat Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bulabog beach, Boracay, Reef Retreat is the ideal place to stay for windsurfers, kite boarders or those looking for a quiet place away from White Beach but is still within easy walking distance of D' Mall and boat station 1 on White Beach. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens all rooms are deluxe with attention to detail and are furnished with a native touch. Hammocks are located in the gardens for chill out time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Reef Retreat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Retreat Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Retreat Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.