We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel to your Saves list
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Front, Station 2, Boracay Island, Philippines, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 139 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Boracay was in my 5 top must-see places.i chose this hotel and i was very happy with my choice.they have a good transfer service( shuttle boats i call them ),the staff was great,the location very good and very close to the beach.Considering the philippine hotels i was nicely surprised.Had breakfast included(being european you can ask for something different to eat).the pool i don't consider it necessary, especially when you are 1 minute away from the beach
Room and bathroom were clean,everything was to my liking
Highy recommend it

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    126
    48
    15
    16
See reviews for
127
141
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was our third time in Boracay so we obviously love it! :-). Fantastic place! Mandarin- I was impressed with the efficient transfer service to and from airport, hotel is situated perfectly in the middle of the beach. Nice room (booked the Penthouse Suite) well worth the money and very luxurious compared to most other hotels on Boracay beach (excluding the $$$$$$ few) Breakfast was not good at all but plenty of alternative places nearby to eat. We were only there three days but luckily as it's rain season we had two with glorious sunshine, Loved the pool and the beach area in front of hotel was paradise.

Room Tip: Don't fly with Cebu Pacific EVER!! You will lose half your holiday waiting for flights they canc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We finally got our two-year old son's crocs today! The staff of Mandarin sent it via courier bec we left it at the hotel and realized that we did not pack it the day after our arrival in Manila. We are grateful for the efforts of Archie (housekeeping manager) and Marlyn (frontdesk staff). When we called, they went out of their way to search for it. This sealed our satisfaction and confirmed that we made the right decision in choosing the hotel for our stay last June 19-21.
Other good points of Mandarin:
1. Seamless transfers- Since we were travelling with kids and would be coming from Kalibo Airport, it was important that the tranfers were seamless. When we arrived in Kalibo, a guy with whiteboard bearing our name directed us to the bus which was shared with guests of other hotels. It was clean but had an old smell to it and there was a problem with the suspension bec even if the road to Caticlan was paved, the ride was oh-so 'bouncy'. We were dizzy and my son vomitted. So on our trip back, we decided to hire a van. This was efficiently arranged by frontdesk c/o Yna. We paid an additional fee but it was worth it. Anyway, in Caticlan, a guy met and directed us to a van and took us the port where the mini speed boat was waitng. In Boracay, someone fetched and took us to the hotel. All these removed the burden of carrying our son and our luggage at the same time.
2. Restaurant/food- The buffet breakfast selection served at Don Vitto is not extensive but taste is generally ok. The serving of their a la carte food is good for 2pax. What we loved was the gelatto. Our faves-tiramisu and ferrero, but there is always a flavor for everyone's taste. I suggest that you reserve a table ifyou will have lunch there bec the place is often packed with tourists.
3. Room- We were given a room big enough to fit 2 single beds and one queen-sized bed. (I learned later on that these are otho beds). We could have slept without the other single bed but they ensured that we comfortable. The CR was equipped with amenities and bidet. Our room's viewwas a wall but it was alright bec it was at the back without the 'gimmick' noise at nightime.
4. Beach- The hotel is just a few steps away from the beach and towels can be requested from the guard or the attendant. Because there is a guard, you can lounge away securely. We slept by the beach for an hour or so.

If we will go back to Boracay, we will definitely stay in Mandarin again. It is worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Upon arrival at Caticlan airport we were met by a driver who took us to the jetty port, a private speed boat was already awaiting for us to the hotel.We were amazed as it was only me and my husband who rode the boat, we felt like a "VIP" guests. We stayed from June 15 to 18 in a deluxe seaview room type. Room was clean and bed is very much comfortable. Toilet is likewise clean. Buffet breakfast is serve at the hotels Don Vito Ristorante, there are variety of foods to choose from specially filipino and american dishes. Food attendants are quick and attentive. We would like to thank the hotel manager Ms. Lily who would always greet us every time we see her and ask if we have any concerns and if we are enjoying our stay. Great customer service indeed..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Iloilo City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We've been to boracay more than a couple of times and last june 17-19 2012 was our first stay in boracay mandarin..and i must say we had the best time there! the food is great,cant stop thinking of that newyork newyork pizza at don vito! breakfast is simply amazing and satisfying,the rooms are clean and comfortable too..we also experienced the best treatment from hotel staff,they are all so warm and friendly. boracay mandarin's location is also very good since it is in front of boracay's white sand beach..highly recommended hotel,were definitely going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have always been busy traveling this Summer so I almost missed out in giving my reviews to hotels our family werebstaying in the past months of our travel.
Anyway, this hotel is simply great for my husband and I first visit in Boracay. Our grown up kids visited 2 summers in a row now.
I want to especially mention the hardworking and competent manager, Ms. Lily Ng Po. I really like the way she attends to the hotel guests especially with our concerns.
The hotel' s restaurant offers the best pizza so far in the island. The rooms are clean and spacious. Well, except for the toilet amenities, there is nothing to complain.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed from the 18th May through the 21st May. Room was nice... Bed is very comfortable, balcony is a nice feature ... Breakfast was boring...

A small incident happened at the restaurant during breakfast whereby a cockroach crawled along the table when I was having breakfast with my partner.

Restaurant manager was notified and he just caught the cockroach and threw it away.

Not satisfied with the after action, I informed the front office and filled up a guest survey form. Till date (31st May) no one came back to me...

Good room and location but very bad management follow up or the lack of it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.2 mi away
Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#5 of 139 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Henann Garden Resort
Henann Garden Resort
#20 of 139 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#8 of 139 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel

Address: Beach Front, Station 2, Boracay Island, Philippines, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel is a world-renowned Triple A resort located at the beachfront of Station 2 in Boracay Island, Philippines. It has 52 rooms and suites and offers a modern Filipino design that captivates the essence of luxurious living in a tropical island setting. Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel is home to Don Vito Ristorante Italiano, an Italian restaurant which was awarded as one of the Philippines Best Restaurants in 2011 by Asia Tatler Dining. It also houses the famous Mandarin Spa, a premium fitness and wellness provider, known for its therapists' expertise in the traditional Filipino massage and foot spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Boracay
Boracay Mandarin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.