We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Jimmy's Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fat Jimmy's Resort to your Saves list
Fat Jimmy's Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0221, Station 2, Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

The resort is located behind the shops, and away from the beach. However, you can walk either using the back lane or the front street (through D'mall) to get to the beach. The location is not wonderful since it is located just next to the dump, thus obscuring any good view.

However, it is value for money. One night of stay costs me P1000 and most importantly, the room is clean. Although there are black ants lurking around but still the room is clean and the staffs are friendly.

The staffs allow me to borrow their straw hat for the day at no charge too :)p
That really saved me from getting sunburned.

Overall, the stay have been pleasant despite the sudden power loss for about 10minutes and no hot shower available (it is only available when there's a heavy rain).

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
manila
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Fat Jimmy's is a relatively reasonable place to stay if you're on a budget. Five of us stayed in one room and it was just enough for us to enjoy the Boracay experience. If you are not planning to hang out your room the whole day and would just need a cozy and safe place to stay for rest, this is your place. They have a vault to keep your valuables, location is ok with it being just behind d'mall (if you dont mind passing through a copule of market stalls), breakfast inclusive of your stay is ok as well. The ladies welcoming you and taking care of the place are very friendly. Overall, I would consider going back there if the budget calls for it.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

If I could rate this negative, I would. This place is not worth it. First, it's behind the market, so you'll have to pass garbage and anything else that stinks to get to the beach. You try to hang out outside to have some drinks and you get eaten by the mosquitoes. They don't have ice available, you have to walk to the nearest store to buy it yourself. If you want to have a very pleasant experience in boracay, don't stay here. There's no view! Just a view of garbage.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

This is a bit delayed, but just remembered my experience at this place and it was not so good. Pity cos the people here are nice.
Summary: after a full day out, we spent our time in the room killing mosquitoes. Not fun. The dilemma was- should we spray Baygon and deal with the smell, or should we just keep on with this mosquito killing spree. Not fun at all. Was thinking- this over abundance of mosquitoes was probably due to the fact that there is a pond of stagnant water near the property. I hope its not there anymore.
Lastly, breakfast, though included in price, was unappetizing. Even though i was feeling stingy, it made me want to pay for something elsewhere...

  • Disliked — mosquitoes
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

We learned about Fat Jimmy's through their website. It looked fine and the rates are affordable. But when we arrived there, we were dismayed. It's location is perhaps the worst in bora. It's beside the wet market and behind it is a garbage dump where all the waste from the market is collected. One passes through the wet market and through this garbage dump to enter and exit the resort. The smell is so bad that I had to hold my breath when passing through the garbage. Another side of the resort faces the road so you can hear occassional tricycles throughout the night. It's about a 5 to 10 minute walk to the beach.
Our room has a musty odor. I also noticed a few rat droppings and mosquitoes. The aircon was weak. The bathroom is ok though, with strong water. One strong point is the friendly and helpful staff.
Due to our terrible experience we cut short our stay and transferred early the next day to a beach front hotel in station 1, the Boracay Gold Crowne which was very good in all aspects. It is still in its soft opening so I was able to get a good price, just slightly higher than Fat Jimmy's.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

Janice and the staff at Fat Jimmys were extremely helpful and friendly. They were willing to go out of their way to make our stay a great one. At Fat Jimmy's you can sit under the cabana and enjoy cheap beers from the hotel, ask them to take you to the markets and cook you a traditional meal or keep to yourself in their comfortable air-conditioned rooms.

The hotel is within a short walk from the Main Beach and D-Mall. But it is in a quiet enough location so that you don't have to hear revellers at night.

The rates at this place are great and include daily breakfast (Filo style or European).

I would definatley stay there again.

I was a little put off by the report of someone being shot by the guard, but I wouldn't let this stop you from staying here... I can't see how this had anything to do with the hotel itself. This could have happened with a guard anywhere on Boracay. They all carry large guns. If anything, this made me feel safer.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Slight smell outside the hotel due to construction
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

on behalf of my friends,i'd like to thank u sir jimmy and ur very accomodating staff (shirley,janice,madeline and everybody else there). ur place is really cool. it's not far from the beach and u won't even notice it coz u'll be passing thru d'mall. u've got the best rate and very good breakfast. (sana maka-discount ulit sa aming pagbabalik!)

  • Liked — very comfortable, it's like a home away home...
  • Disliked — hmm,, i love 'em all...
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fat Jimmy's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Jimmy's Resort

Address: 0221, Station 2, Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fat Jimmy's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fat Jimmy's Resort in Boracay, Philippines offers the best quality and friendly service with neat, clean and comfortable accommodations at a price everyone can afford and make the best Boracay experience in their life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fat Jimmy's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fat Jimmy`s Hotel Boracay
Fat Jimmys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Jimmy's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.