We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Shores Boracay

Save Saved
You added Discovery Shores Boracay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Discovery Shores Boracay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 1 Balabag, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 131 hotels in Boracay
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow! What a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We've just returned from a week in Boracay where we spent the first 4 nights at Discovery Shores. We really didn't want to leave but had booked another hotel as we were joining others. This hotel is absolutely amazing. From the service (in room check in and foot baths for us all on arrival) to the rooms, the absolutely perfect location, there is nothing better in Boracay. We booked into a 2 bedroom premiere which was on 2 levels, large in size and had a huge patio with a jacuzzi.

Staff always willing to please, good professional spa with decent prices, deck chairs readily available. Even though the hotel was full, its was never crowded anywhere.

The beach is beautiful and its a 15-20 minute stroll down the beach to the watersports station, restaurants and shops. There is a free shuttle service provided too.

All in all, a truly wonderful place. Its quiet and charming. We will definitely be going back!!

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    88
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
167
153
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

After having read all the glowing reviews of this hotel, I chose Discovery for my first visit to Boracay in November 2010. This is a modern, upscale hotel located in the quieter part of the island (station 1). It is a 10 minute walk to station 2, where the mall and most restaurants/bars are located. Younger people might prefer station 2, but I was happy to be away from the crowds and blaring music. The hotel is expensive by Philippine standards, but I felt that the overall experience was worth it. I was blown away by the level of service and the attention to detail. One would have to pay much more to get this type of service anywhere else in the world.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

impeccable is a word I rarely use, but this is most apt to describe the very warm hospitality and service at Discovery Shores.

It was our wedding anniversary, and we were ushered in direct to our room where a "happy 19th wedding anniversary" banner was hung . . . and there was a cake too! Nice touch indeed.

The wife and the kids were already planning our next trip the moment we savored in the hotel premises!

Great attention to detail! Smiles everywhere . . . and service was, as I have said impeccable!

Kudos to everybody! . . . and a very sincere thank you very much for making our first time in Boracay truly memorable . . . this tag line comes to mind, "its kinda hard to improve"!

PS: the beach was nice too! . . . it's Boracay afterall!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

This is a very well run hotel with a well designed layout and good facilities facing onto one of the world's best beaches.
What makes it really special are the beach side waiters like Jigs, Rex and Ernest. They are true professionals, making you feel comfortable, welcome and generally pampered while you soak up the Filipino sun.
This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

My Wife and our Bestfriends were treated by our newly married friend for a 3 night stay
in this hotel. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. Before anything else, this hotel / resort is simply the BEST in Boracay or even one of the best in Asia. What made the resort as the Best resort is their Excellent Service. Travel + Leisure Magazine voted this resort as one of the 2010 15 Best Resort in Asia - the only resort in the Philippines to be in that list. Below are my detailed review:

Service - All staff are well trained and very courteous. There are so many staff in the resort and each one of them are ready to serve you. Whenever you see one - they will greet you and you can feel that they serve you from their heart.

Attention to Detail - this is what impresses me. Their attention to small details were excellent. Things like fixing your towels while you are having a swin, cleaning your sun-glasses, cold towels to freshen your face, small snacks in your room, etc.

Rooms - All the rooms in this resort are suites. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. The master bedroom is with king size bed while the 2nd room has 2 double beds. Each rooms has its own balcony. The suite has a lounge area, a dining area and a balcony.

Design - The design is modern and white colors are dominantly used. Outdoors are landscape with bamboos.

Food - food are good and choices are very wide. Breakfast buffet is serve daily and usualy comes witht he room.

Location - the resort is located in Station 1. Station 1 in boracay is where luxury resorts are located. The locateion of the resort is great and the beach in this area are the Best in the world.

Verdict: If you can afford this resort (between USD 320.00 to USD 600.00 per night) this is the only place you should stay in Boracay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

My only complaint is that bar closes at 11pm and no sugar free/diet sodas. Overall the experience was topnotch.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

boracay is my favorite destination in the world today and this hotel is perfect! not right in the middle of the action but its only a 10 min walk down the beach to the bars and shopping. BORACAY ROCKS! and this is the hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Address: Station 1 Balabag, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Shores Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.