We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Shores Boracay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Shores Boracay to your Saves list
Discovery Shores Boracay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 1 Balabag, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
1 review
“Out of this world service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at discovery for 1 week in October 2013 with our 2 children. I have never seen service like this before, the staff are great! From the moment we arrived we were greeted with foot massages, and 2 complementary cocktails. They also have child minding services available too. The complementry bus to town and surrounding areas was very handy. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff knew what you wanted/needed and were quick to provide. Would difinitely stay again. Thank you discovery shores for our memorable experience. See you at some point in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    96
    34
    14
    12
See reviews for
193
175
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom suite for 4D 3N for 5 of us. Staff was helpful and courteous. We were given a room on the 1st floor and requested for a higher level for a better view of the ocean. They moved us to 2nd level but after sometime, we found the air conditioning in one of the rooms not working and asked for them to service it. We were later informed that they required few hours to repair the air con and suggested that we moved back to level 1 which we eventually did. The staff are really helpful with moving our stuff up and down and re-arranging the extra bed without showing any unhappiness for the trouble given to them. Service is good overall, complimentary desserts and bottled waters in room everyday. Rooms are clean and spacious.Had dinner at Indigo Restaurant and certain dishes are only average, would recommend to explore restaurants at D'Mall which is good and cheap. Hotel Breakfast is good with selections of breads, hot dishes and juices.
Hotel provide free shuttle till 11 pm which is really convenient. Only setback is the electricity which was cutoff for 10 mins or so around 5.30-6 am in the morning for 2 days and was rather disruptive! Try to book sea activities from outside vendors which charge cheaper than the resort. Overall, will still recommend to stay here for great service, location and nice beaches just right in front.

Room Tip: Request for 2nd level with unblock Ocean view for 2 bedroom suites. Try not to have a room near comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A stay in discovery shores is always lovely. the service is impeccable. i have heard some stories about bad service in this resort but luckily, i have not experienced them. The food is not amazing, but was ok for the times when we did not feel like venturing out to station 2 for some food. We had the beautiful boracay beach in front of us, the rooms were clean and big, there was transport provided to wherever we wanted, it was very nice. Even the weather cooperated with us. It would rain at night but that is typically what happens during habagat or rainy season anyway. The weather was perfect- the sun was out but the wind also showed up so it wasn't exhaustingly hot when we were lounging around by the pool or the beach.

i saw a lot of new hotels, and i am sure there are many that may equal the rooms/pools and other facilities of discovery but the service, the most important, may be hard to copy. Except maybe for shangri-la.

Room Tip: rooms on the ground floor or near the beach and/or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days. Everyone was courteous. What amazing service. Felt like royalty. Had a welcome banner hanging in our junior suite. Complimentary foot wash and massage when we arrived. Had snacks to welcome us in our room. Food was awesome. Turon, a local snack was not on the menu and our server had someone go to the market to get ingredients. I was so impressed he went out of his way to have this available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the Shangri-La and Discovery Shores for a week during our honeymoon in Boracay. They were very different experiences, but each had its benefits. If you want privacy and to be further away from the action, definitely stay at the Shangri-La (however, it is much pricier). However, if you want to be in the middle of the White Beach area, the Discovery Shores is, by far, the fanciest and best option! We had a great stay, and will definitely be back. Despite the rainy weather, we were able to find great things to do in Boracay (both in the hotel and walking around outside).

Pros
- Nicest hotel on White Beach. The location is also a big positive - it's at the end of Station 1, so you're not in the middle of loud Station 2 craziness. There was a lot of privacy, and it was always very quiet, even by the pool area.
- The food was very decently priced, as were the cocktails. We had a nice time hanging out both by the beach and the pool. The room service was also fast and tasty, as was the breakfast.
- The staff was all extremely nice and attentive. They were able to help out with any of our requests.
- Free transport to / from airport. The staff was very helpful when we left for the airport, and also helped us check in.

Cons
- The sleeping situation was pretty awful - they put two double beds next to each other to mimic a king-sized bed. As honeymooners, we didn't enjoy sleeping on separate beds.
- Our jacuzzi was broken during the entire stay, and the manager was not able to fix the situation. They didn't have any alternate rooms left, so he decreased the room rate minimally, but not enough to make up for the broken jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Pick a room on a high floor, if possible, and also ask for one with a working jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Discovery Shores attending our friends wedding. Unfortunately the weather was less than desirable but thankfully the hotel made up for it. The service was a standout, staff attended to the little details and go above and beyond to make your stay fabulous. I booked directly through the hotel and they were very efficient in their responses. The transfer was seamless and our room was a great size, the beds being beyond comfortable. Everything in the room was high quality - sheets, towels etc. We thought the location was excellent - close enough to walk to DMall if that is your thing, but not in the middle of all the action. The breakfast was good but not great and they are renovating the rooms up the back of the hotel (which is understandable, given it is off season) - this didn't impact on our stay at all given we were next to the pool. When researching our accommodation for the wedding I was amazed at the prices in Boracay given it was off season but after comparison with other guests accommodation along the beach I think this was a great deal, it was worth paying a little extra. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask about the renovation taking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were welcomed like royalty by the staff.The hotel is excellent and its service superb. We stayed in a junior suite which was appointed very nice.Its located on the beach in a quite spot and still close to everything. Indogo restaurant is an absolute must for food lovers.Great place to bring the kids.Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a higher level with a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Address: Station 1 Balabag, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Shores Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.