We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Shores Boracay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Shores Boracay to your Saves list
Discovery Shores Boracay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 1 Balabag, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Enjoy Php7,000 off
Ranked #9 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Relaxing Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Best location, great accommodation. We feel pampered. The breakfast buffet is a great disappointment, though. Taste average and ingredients seem not fresh. We loved the location, best beach front. The room is spacious and the free shuttle service makes it convenient to go around the island.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    112
    37
    15
    12
See reviews for
212
190
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our first trip to Boracay. After reviewing many useful comments on tripadvisor, we stayed in both Discovery Shores and Regency Lagoon, which will be commented separately. The land and sea transfer was quick and very comfortable. We didn't have to experience the hassle of taking tricycle and roro boat at jetty port, which could be tiring after having the flight transfer at Manila. Everything was well arranged upon our arrival at the Caticlan airport until our departure.

While the breakfast was just up to standard, the room and heated pool were on par with those offered by other 5-star hotels but what separated this hotel apart is their service. Apart from the desserts provided by the hotel (they provided us with sushi so it had to be freshly prepared), every aspect including the foot wash, mosquito repellant, sunscreen lotion and their solution to our special request etc. showed their attention to detail and customer-oriented. Staff are very friendly, cheerful and helpful. The towels are of very high quality (quite distinguishable after staying in many hotels around the world) and the bed are very comfortable.

Though it is a bit pricey as compared to other hotels on the beach, the experience we had was really second to none. One evening while we were walking on the beach, we called the hotel to pick us up at D'mall at 7:50pm, yet immediately after the call was an unexpected heavy shower with thunderstorm. Because of the heavy rain we were five minutes late (our phone was out of battery and couldn't call the hotel to postpone the pick-up) and obviously the van had left probably due to no parking space. We knew it's our fault and tried to take tricycle instead but there was a terrible long queue. Out of our expectation, the van appeared again 15 mins later and asked if we had called for a pick-up service. Thank God when all tourists at D'mall were queuing up with anxiety either awaiting a tricycle or their shuttle, you would know the importance of such unparalleled service and how we felt when a van purposefully came only to pick us up to the hotel and according to the driver, he drove around to look for us just to make sure we could be taken care of at times of heavy shower. We were of course very thankful to such arrangement that we feel we are obliged to offer a positive review which the hotel and its staff deserve.

Our vacation at Boracay was very smooth but when we looked back, clearly this is not by chance and couldn't be done so without the excellent service provided during our stay. While the hotel isn't close (i.e. our standard is 20 mins walk) to the tourists attractions (i.e. D'mall and D'Talipapa), it would definitely be a perfect stay if one just want to have a very relaxed vacation. After all, we ain't worried much about this particularly when we had experienced such a superb shuttle service on the Island.

好像不多由中國/台灣/香港去長灘島的旅客入住,而歐美韓國住客較多,這家酒店服務非常稱心,如果一向對服務有高要求而又注重私隱/隱私的旅客, 感覺推薦這家酒店應該還是比較保險。

Room Tip: We had a jnr suite on the ground floor near the pool and it was perfect. It is literally 15 secs (y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Shores Boracay, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear AHKTRAVELER,

Thank you very much for posting your experience in Discovery Shores. We are glad that in our own little way, we made your first trip to Boracay very memorable.

We hope that you will return to our beautiful island and decide to stay with us once again.

Yours sincerely,

Leeds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

What is there not to love in Discovery Shores? For us, nothing. We love everything about it! A true value for money.
We have been there five times already, the latest for my youngest son's birthday. And as with our previous stays there, we enjoyed ourselves immensely. In fact, our latest stay was better than ever because the food in the Resto has improved immensely. Unlike before when we just found the food served there as satisfactory, this time around, we found the different types of dishes plus the desserts as delicious. And like before, we really loved the round-the-clock availability of the freshly-baked cookies, plus the refreshments served at the pool, and of course, the pandan water, which was truly refreshing.
The staff at Discovery Shores also made sure that we again had a pleasant stay there. They were always attentive and courteous, and made us fee like royalty.
My husband and I also enjoyed the massage we got at the Terra Spa. The therapists ensured that we were not short-changed of the 90-minute signature massage we booked for.
Are we going back to Discovery Shores? Definitely. We won't stay anywhere else in Bora anymore, not even in Shangri-La (where we also stayed one time- but that can be the subject of another review).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants,uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our first trip to the Philippines and we recently spent 5 nights at Discovery shores. Our room was on the 3rd floor room with a private jacussi overlooking the swiming pool. The room was lovely and although there was a little bit of noise from the pool area it was not a major issue and nothing a set of ear plugs would not put right if you are a light sleeper.
The bar area was not that inviting and some food items were not available but having said that. we ate in both the Indigo restaurant and Sands buffet restaurant and found the food on offer reasonable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach is top class and free of cigarette butts and other rubbish.
This is a busy beach which attracts a lot of tourists and the only negative comment I would make is that all the beach hotels are next to each other which makes it a bit crowded but still a fun place to go. Boracay Island is a popular destination which offers a lot of beach activities and therefore attracts the younger generations although as an older couple we didn't feel out of place.

Room Tip: Book a room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our company had a team building session and Kick-Off last January 16 to 18 here. We were around 60+ persons. From the time we arrived and up to departure, Discovery Shores took care of each and every one of us. They are the epitome of first class treatment. Their service is ABSOLUTELY amazing! From the cold towels to a never-ending supply of snacks to pampering, Discovery Shores definitely exceeded my expectations. The room we had was HUGE (we were assigned the quintuple sharing but it could definitely fit more), it was ALWAYS clean, the bathroom was ALWAYS equipped with toiletries, the beds are huge and soft, the place is well kept, and the staff are genuinely so nice as they greeted you whenever you walked by! All our concerns were addressed immediately, and they personalized the entire Kick-Off for us suiting all our needs. We held two parties for two nights in a row at the beachfront, and the place was so elegantly decorated.

Three downsides:
1. The food, although given varieties, wasn't at par with the level of service. It wasn't that good as I expected it to be.
2. There were flies in both the Sands Bar Restaurant and the Indigo restaurant. We had to call on our waiter numerous times for candles but even those weren't enough to keep the flies from flying in while we were eating.
3. Expect to walk...or take a tricycle if you want to really explore Boracay island. Although nearer (apparently) than Shangri-La Boracay, Discovery Shores is still far from where most bars and restaurants are located. If you don't mind having sand in between your toes or walking for around 30-45 minutes to the main area, then you should be fine. Otherwise, be prepared to walk.

Overall, I definitely recommend Discovery Shores to all couples, families, and companies willing to have their corporate events here. It's definitely pricey, but it's worth it, it'll take your mind off work and get rid of stress. Perfect for rest and relaxation, you'll definitely enjoy paradise that is Discovery Shores!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We've stayed here many times already and I still can't have enough of this place!
Their beach front is the best part of Boracay and you have everything you need within the resort. Service is excellent and the staff are all well-trained. They even remember our names!
The rooms and dining areas are tastefully decorated. Food is okay but the breakfast buffet is something more we look forward to. What sets them apart from the other resorts are the little extras you get like the light snacks they serve while you are lounging at the beach front, the welcome foot bath, the pandan water they serve throughout the day, etc...
The only downside is the hotel rate, which I think is quite excessive!
But overall Discovery Shores is an excellent resort and we'll be back here again soon!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked into Discovery Shores after leaving a nearby hotel, which was appalling. Everything about this hotel was 5 star. Lovely rooms, great buffets, amazing service, big beach frontage and more sunbeds than guests. We were pampered and reluctant to leave, the staff just could not possibly have done more.

Room Tip: Some rooms near the pool could be noisy in early morning, but would suit those with children who wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Address: Station 1 Balabag, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Shores Boracay, a sprawling beachfront property located on the unspoilt shores of Boracay Island in the Philippines, is the first luxury resort built in this majestic region. Apart from its spacious guestrooms and the Terra Wellness Spa overlooking the beach, Discovery Shores' facilities include the Sands Restaurant, Indigo Restaurant, Platitos, Sandbar beach bar, Sandbox kiddie lounge, a swimming pool, an events hall and a fitness facilities. Discovery Shores embodies the hallmark of the Discovery brand: personalized and innovative service dispensed round-the-clock. Guests are guaranteed an unsurpassed level of quality, service and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Shores Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.