We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful architecture, great vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Shores Boracay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Shores Boracay to your Saves list
Discovery Shores Boracay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 1 Balabag, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture, great vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went to Boracay with the team from work. The resort was walking distance from the clubs in the island. They provided several options for outdoor activities, including para-sailing, jet skies, snorkeling, etc.

The food was very good and varied. A true luxurious experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    96
    34
    14
    12
See reviews for
193
175
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My friends and I just got back from Discovery, and we had a great experience. The hotel is located near the end of Station 1 so its very private and feels more exclusive. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Upon check in, we were treated to a complimentary foot massage inside the room, with drinks and pastries. A streamer inside our room welcomed us "home". And everyday, after a fun day outside, we came home to newly cleaned rooms, and with a new stock of pastries and fruits waiting on the table. What I liked most about the hotel is the design. The rooms, which look more like suites or apartments, are very spacious and are ideal for families or big groups. The hotel also has free shuttle service to any point in the island. Discovery also has its exclusive ferry and shuttle services in going to and from the airport, and has an exclusive waiting lounge at the departure area of the airport, which make the travel more convenient.

You may find the cost to be very steep though, especially if you are someone who will spend most of your time enjoying the outdoors - Boracay after all has a very beautiful beach and is known for its night life! I also think that the food at the front lobby restaurant (Sands) needs improvement. And if you get a room on top of the property, be prepared to walk down the stairs going to the beach, pool and resto/bar.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, get a room on top of the property. But If you want to be in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went there on Dec 2011 & stayed for 2 nights, we hope we have been stayed longer.
It is a relax resort with perfect services. Once you checked in, they will provide you a foot massage in your room & nice iced-drinks, cakes & cookies, etc...
The staffs are friendly, good house keeping ( your room always clean when you back), a nice swimming pool & you could enjoy water, cookies, sometimes pizza when you lying on the beach bench, the staffs will taking care of your stuffs like sun glasses, towels, snappers & will put everything in a nice position, also will provide you with water, cookies, pizza etc...They also helped us took many nice pictures.
The beach part in front of the resort is great, that's the most beautiful part in boaracy beach! The sand is whie in colour & so soft & smooth. We had a happy stay. :)
But heard from my friend that if you go there in peak season like February, the beach will be a bit crowd.

Room Tip: The room with Balcony is a must & better choose the upper floor one which have more priavacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This Hotel has the rigth location, but service not working.

Waiting for coffee all breakfast, no coffee shows up. Waiting for internet to be fixed, when? Restaurant closes 10 pm.

No hot water in the shower, but a lot of ants and other creeps in the sink, ceiling damaged by water.

At arrival no pick up at airport, had to find my way to the jetty by myself, walk to the Hotel by myself.

The room is big, but cozy as a hospital. But it is called a junior suite, I thought that meant a separate sleeping compartment, not just one room with a big bed in the middle, then nothing more.

Ooh, by the way, dont go here with a bad knee, i was on three stairs, any elevator? No....

At arrival there should be a foot massage, did they keep this promise? Of course not.

The list becomes just to long, my advice: Avoid this place, you can get better Hotels and cheaper. I paid 90 000 for two rooms three nights, and I did not even get ONE proper breakfast.

What is good then? The beach, but that can be reached from any Hotel, for free.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in Shangrila Boracay in May 2012 and absolutely raved about it. But even during that stay, we took a peek at Discovery Shores, curious if it truly lived up to all the hype. So this time around, family in tow, we booked at DISCOVERY SHORES.

From the time we arrived at the airport, Discovery staff greeted us and took care of our luggage. We were transferred to a waiting lounge [shared with Fairways and Blue Waters] and then we boarded their motorized airconditioned ferry [the life vests need upgrading and cleaning, though]. Upon arrival at the resort, we were served their trademark welcome drink --- PANDAN WATER --- so refreshing!!! Actually, this drink is always available, it's complimentary, just ask housekeeping to have it delivered to your room, or any wait staff in the restaurants.

ROOM: We were promptly ushered to our room --- which was immaculate, modern, and completely luxurious! We booked a one-bedroom premier loft, which had living and dining areas + mini-kitchen bar + full toilet and bath + full balcony overlooking the pool in the ground floor; a bedroom, walk-in closet, full toilet and bath in the loft, which leads to a veranda with a jacuzzi! There is more than ample lighting, with nearly floor to ceiling glass windows. This unit is S-P-A-C-I-O-U-S, probably 90-100 sq. meters in total, but it "accommodates" 2 adults [+/- child] only, and any extra person incurs an extra charge. The resort could've been more generous by allowing 3 adults to stay here without charge, instead of just 2.
The room and its amenities: A+ definitely!!!

RESTAURANTS: Breakfast buffet is at Sands -- it's the typical fare = continental + filipino dishes + noodles. Sufficient. Above average. B+.

POOL/POOL BAR: lovely! great for kids. lovely lychee mojitos for the adults too. A+

AMBIENCE: i love the clean lines of the buildings' architecture, which still blends well with the tropical surroundings. A truly relaxing getaway with all the amenities of city dwelling. A+

SERVICE: Except for a glitch with reservations and the isolated unpleasant incident with an employee from front desk, [this misunderstanding was promptly rectified and more than made up for by the very able and courteous manager] the service was excellent == Everyone was welcoming, attentive, warm, prompt, and efficient -- from the drivers to the housekeeping and wait staff and the manager.

LOCATION: D-Shores is located towards the less crowded end of Station One, next to Friday's, along with a few other high end resorts, where the sand is most powdery. It's a 15-20 min beachfront walk to the D' Mall. There are many restaurants and local eateries in the vicinity. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service at all times [until 12 or 1 am] to anywhere on the island, without having to wait for pick-up/drop-off times.

OVERALL: We've been to Friday's and to Shangrila, but Discovery Shores tops them! It's great for couples, for families with small children, and for groups of friends/co-workers. We would definitely return and could not imagine staying anywhere else after being to Discovery Shores.

Tip: 1) to experience the best that local cuisine has to offer [i.e, the freshest seafood cooked in the simplest but most delectable way], go to D' TALIPAPA. It's your one-stop shop where you buy seafood and have them cooked while you wait. You can then either eat it there [some local eateries are airconditioned] or have them to go.
2) at Discovery, request for PANDAN WATER from housekeeping. [Pandan leaves are boiled in water with honey, then cooled with ice]. It's the best thirst quencher!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the pool area. Couples can manage in a standard bedoom, while families with child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I think this will be the best description for Discovery Shores. The priority of the staff is to pamper their guests. From the moment you step out of the airport, you are greeted by very friendly staff who would guide you to their speed boats to Boracay Island. Welcome drinks, candies, foot massages, and the works. My favorite is when you lounge on the beach and butlers will discretely fold your clothes, rinse your rash guards and flip flops, and clean your sunglasses. And in very hot and sunny days, they will offer to spray your face with evian, or their house concoctions like cucumber water. They also have their all day free delights that vary from cotton candy, buco ice candy, hotdog waffles, etc. Some friends still opt to go around for variety of food but I'm content staying all four days within the resort and just lounge and be pampered!

Room Tip: The suites with the private jacuzzi are more fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you want a "feel rich" vacation in Boracay, discover DISCOVERY SHORES. On arrival, the staff greets you with a warm smile and puts a green friendship bracelet on your wrist. They take care of your luggages and escort you all the way to the waiting shuttle bus to the pier and the airconditioned boat and another shuttle to the hotel. I've been to Boracay several times but this is the first time there was no hassle and no sweat arriving at the hotel. I still feel fresh. The room is spotlessly clean, beddings are neat and tidy. They are generous with amenities. Everything you need is provided for. The well trained staff pamper you throughout your stay. Everytime you meet any of them, they would put their right hand on their heart which means "service with a heart". Before I got to know why they do that, I thought it to mean "we care".
Truly Discovery Shores is a different experience. As my 5 year old grandson would say "BEST EVER".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Address: Station 1 Balabag, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#3 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Shores Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.