We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovery Shores Boracay - THE Place To Be!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Shores Boracay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Shores Boracay to your Saves list
Discovery Shores Boracay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 1 Balabag, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Special Deal
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Discovery Shores Boracay - THE Place To Be!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

As I was planning my trip to Boracay, had been checking with friends to find a good hotel and Discovery was a common recommendation. My friends and colleagues knew me very well and said I go with Discovery without doubt considering my expectations... So I did and it is with no second thoughts that I accept this as one of the best trips of my life. Great weather, fantastic property and OUTSTANDING service. Having had the privilege of traveling to different locations across APAC, US and Europe, I think your standards of service is what differentiates you from the rest.

I will definitely come back and will hope to see you all again. Pls continue the same standard of service and delight customers from around the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    90
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
183
168
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batangas City, Philippines
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Discovery Shores Boracay has a number of major selling points. Its location at the quiet end of
Station 1, which offers an expansive beach front area; excellent facilities and amenities and of
course service that is true to their mantra of being "all heart". From the airport pick-up through check in and the day-to-day interactions and services, they indeed stayed true to this. Discovery Shores also provides the small touches others may consider to be fairly minor but do complete one's stay; a dedicated, enclosed and air conditioned boat to bring you from Caticlan to Boracay as well as shuttle service to D'Mall and other areas along the different boat stations. The latter can even be availed for pick-up from D'mall and other areas just by calling the hotel. The beach butler service was also unique to DSB.

The room we stayed at was both large and comfortable. There were both a king bed and single sized daybed. There was a balcony that overlooked the pool area. The room was so inviting so much so that my wife preferred to just laze around rather than to go out and enjoy the sights and sounds of Boracay.

If there was one thing that I noted could be improved was the food. We had breakfast twice and I ordered room service for supper and generally the food was quite bland and could use some more seasoning. The breakfast spread was certainly adequate with the usual Western and Filipino dishes.

Indeed the two days that my wife and I stayed at DSB were too short to truly enjoy the facilities and have that truly relaxing vacation. I look forward to the next opportunity to stay at Discovery Shores once more

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

One of the best beach front hotel i've stayed in. Staffs are great, they are very accomodating. I remember we checked out at the hotel to spend one more day at other station because we want to party all day. Yes we hate walking, but literally its not a long walk! The Discovery hotel staff drove us to our new hotel (not so nice hotel but worth just for a day) and they told us that they will pick us up after 2 days for our airport transfers.

If you want to relax this is a place for you. The location is far enough to the happening part of the island so you don't get noise. The beach is not so crowded compared to the other stations and its utterly perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Shores Boracay, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Limu M,

Thank you for posting!

We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at Discovery Shores Boracay. On your next visit, we hope that you will make us your home away from home in Boracay.

Best regards,

Leeds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was great to have stayed at Discovery Shores after visiting Boracay for a number of years now. I would usually stay in quaint and all boutique hotels and inns and keep things simple, since I would spend most of my days out on the beach, a so-so room would do it for me. But after staying at Discovery, you just can't stay anywhere else BUT here! It's perfect relaxing and I didn't have to venture far. I was attached to the room with the most inviting bed, a relaxing atmosphere and great service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

first class service all the way - from our arrival at the airport, the air-conditioned speed boat ride, the welcome drink, the friendly and attentive staff, the breakfast buffet ... i could go on and on, but words could never describe the wonderful experience we had at this resort. truly relaxing as we never had to worry about anything, cold drinks were provided, sunglasses were wiped clean, towels were perfectly laid out on the chaise each time we went back from the pool or the beach.

Room Tip: if you're looking for peace and quiet, avoid the rooms facing the pool area. it can get quite no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Without question one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. From location to room to service it was pretty unbelievable. There are only 2 hotels in Borocay that you can chose if you are looking at high end which is Shangri-La and Discovery. I would say that Discovery should be your first choice.

First the location is amazing. It is close enough to the happening part of the island yet far enough so you don't get the noise. The beach is utterly perfect. In terms of the hotel it is a really nice across the board. The only exception was that during my time there they were doing something with the front bar which was an eyesore. Apparently this was due to a roof issue so should be fixed.

Finally the service was fantastic across the board. Everyone was friendly. A special thank you has to go to Mabeth who was the front office manager. She was very understanding of our issue in terms of booking online as well as the need to move to another hotel on the last day (no fault of Discovery but we had pre-booked months ahead and there was no rooms free. We would of gladly stayed an extra day but had pre-paid.) She was super nice and accommodating for our situation and capped off a perfect stay.

Overall best hotel I have ever stayed in. If you had to chose one hotel in Boracay this is your only choice.

Oh and it is great with kids as well.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on first floor so you can be right at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Finally, excellent service has arrived in Boracay and has forced the rest of the hotels to step up their game.
From the airport, the hotel brings you to the resort via private speed boat.
As soon as you arrive at the resort, you are greeted with a welcome drink at the lobby. Once in the room, you are treated to a foot wash by a masseuse. If you are there with children, they also get a special edible treat.
Each day, the room has leaves local delicacies at turn down
Rooms - VERY CLEAN and modern. Beds are large and comfortable. They even provided VMV sundblock!
Service - EXCELLENT, when you're sitting at the beach, someone comes to clean your sunglasses, wash the sand off your slippers and offer you a cold towel just when you start to break a sweat. They also help your kids play sand castles and bring out toys for them to use.
Food - this is where they sometimes fall short, while for the most part it is good, it could be better. Did love the pandan water they served by the beach.
Pool - the hotel has a pool and jacuzzi
Internet - free WIFI
Location - right on the beach, in the best area of Boracay
Shuttle service - they provide a free shuttle service to the shopping and other restaurant areas
Spa - great massage, try the hilot!
Hosts the best New Year's party on the island!

Room Tip: They have two room suites which are perfect for a family with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Address: Station 1 Balabag, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Shores Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.