We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotels boracay phillipines” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay

Save Saved
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diniwid Beach | Malay, Aklan, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“hotels boracay phillipines”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Small modern hotel on Diniwid beach too far away from White beach. Was not happy with room given.So paid extra for pool facing room.The beach in front of the hotel is a small cove did not spend any time there as too windy and no hotel service.We were in Boracay in August which is probably the worst time to visit. (Typhoon season) Room was OK bed comfortable but my advice is to choose closer to the action shopping etc.and book 4 star at least. You get what you pay for particularly in the Phillipines. The pool is small the restaurant next door (Mamma) was good. .

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are the only ones which overlook the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review in TripAdvisor of your stay with us last August 2012.
We are truly sorry to hear that you visited Boracay during a typhoon month and that you were not able to fully enjoy the beauty of Diniwid Beach.
We hope that your experience with us and in Boracay will not deter you from coming back and welcoming you again in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    148
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
103
98
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed 5d/4n and had a great time. The staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful. We were greeted at the door with a drink, necklace, and cold towel. Throughout our stay, they took good care of us.

We stayed in a suite (four of us) and were fine as the room was big enough and the fold-out sleeper sofa was comfortable (relatively speaking). The price of the room was only for two people, so we had to pay P 750 / person / night, but that was not too bad and it also included the 'free' breakfast.

While the location is not on Station 1 and there is no beach in front of the hotel, it was just a two minute walk to the beach next door or about a 15 minute walk over to the White Beach at Station 1. The free shuttle was very helpful for going to D'Mall and tricycles were also readily available.

The only downside were the breakfasts. You are not given much of a choice and they were somewhat mediocre. But we did have a good dinner at the restaurant.

Overall, we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views and are brighter (lower rooms are the ones from 100 to 125 - if I rem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us.
We have noted your concerns and rest assure that they will be addressed.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

the hotel is located far away from the party place, so if you are looking for a nice, peaceful and quiet place in boracay, choose this hotel. the way going to the hotel is not so good but it does give you a "local" flavour of what boracay really is. the shuttles to and from the shop area was good and convenient. overall, staff are friendly and accommodating. they have books available for reading - these must be books from guests who just left them there ... i suggest to add some english books for other who don't read russian, etc. as it is very limiting and the place is suitable for just relaxing with a book.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms on the ground floor fronting the pool if you want a good view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for writing your recent review. We really appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to see you again soon here in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed there for 3d/2n and it was a wonderful experience. They have the best spot along boracay beach minus the noise. The staff is wonderful! All guests are treated equally and with enthusiasm. The playground for toddlers is a big plus to this hotel! Keep up the good work, affordability and quality of service.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post a generous review!
We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience on your recent stay with us, and we truly look forward to your "return" in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our family of 8 adults and 2 kids (aged 2 and 3 years) stayed in 2 double-rooms and 1 suite room for a 4days/3nights vacation in Boracay. I have scoured the internet and tripadvisor to compare the hotels and find which one best suited our requirements. I chose this hotel because of a couple of reasons and it has definitely met my expectations.

Airport-Hotel Transfer:
The transfer was smooth. With a big group and small kids like ours, we were worried at first with lugging all our travel bags, suitcases and the kiddos. From the time we went out the airport Mr. Dante was quick on his feet to assist us. He was holding a sign and recognized us immediately. We were transported in a van to Caticlan jetty port and there we had to wait for not more than 5minutes while he gets the tickets for the boat then quickly showed us to the boat. Upon arrival at Boracay island the hotel shuttle was already there waiting to pick us up. We were welcomed at the hotel with shell necklaces and a cold fragrant face towel to freshen us up. A little later an ice cold tea arrived. These are details that definitely makes first good impression.

Rooms:
This is one of the reasons why we chose this hotel. It has 2 queen size beds which comfortably accomodates 4persons in it's double room. Unlike in most hotels which only has 1 double bed and the extra person should sleep on a mattress on the floor or on the couch, their double rooms definitely has an advantage. We had a room facing the garden on the 2nd floor and unlike the other reviewers here we didnt have any problem with a noisy aircon or roosters. We had a very good sleep in the comfy bed and the bathroom has all the amenities we need. I didnt hear my hubby and kids complaining even a bit so that was good. The suite room has a small dining area and kitchenette with microwave, fridge and a sink so it was convenient when we dont want to go out for dinner and just dine in the room. Twice we had our dinner cooked at D' Talipapa (oh how i miss the lobster, prawn and mussels) and we brought it in the suite room for dinner. My brother and his wife stayed in the suite room and aside from the dining area it has a bath tub instead of just shower, which i think they appreciated very much.

Location, Facility, Service:
The hotel has a quiet location at Diniwid beach compare to the busy and crowded Station 2. The shuttle is always on time to bring you and pick you up to D' Mall. The beach is smaller though and you cannot walk on the beach to go to the other resorts once it's dark and the tide is high. It wasn't a problem for us though because once it starts getting dark we get to enjoy the mango margaritas and free freshly cooked peanuts at the bar right in front of the beach. It's happy hour from 4-7pm which means you get your second drink for free and it's just right about the time to watch the magnificent sunset of Boracay. The lady didnt mention though that we could only have the same drink as our free second drink. So we ended up with two more cocktails than we could drink and someone got tipsy. But hey we're on vacation anyway!
Another main reason why we chose this hotel is their amenities for young kids. They have a small playground with swings and a slide, plus they have a pool and sand toys for the kids to play with. My tots were happy and satisfied just to play with the sand and water, sit on the side of the pool and play ball. A mother cannot ask for more than see her kids having fun and enjoying.
We are all satisfied by the service of the staff. I went to swim in the beach one time and when i was done and was walking back to the hotel the guard was alert to hand me over a clean warm beach towel to dry myself. One time we took the shuttle to go to D'Mall but on the way there we found out that we forgot my son's comfort pillow while he was playing in the lounge at the hotel. It would be a nightmare if we would loose it so we told the driver and he quickly alerted the staff back at the hotel. When we returned at the end of the day it was there at the reception waiting for us so we couldn't thank them enough.

Food:
The food at the restaurant is definitely good but pricey compare to restaurants in Station 2. My hubby had beef shoarma for lunch and he said it was one of the best meals he had during our vacation in the Philippines. I think the breakfast can be improved though. It was enough for us but not for our Filipino family. They missed the buffet breakfast you can have in other hotels.

We definitely recommend the hotel and might consider staying here again next time we're in Boracay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your generous and enthusiastic review!
We are truly happy to hear that you and your family, and friends enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to see you again soon here in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was there on december 2009 for the new year, Borocay is a fantastic party island, and the Microtel Hotel is a really nice spot because is not in the center of all the noise! it's like 15 mins walking down the beach from the main party area and they also have a ride to take you there. The rooms are really nice, always clean nice bathrooms, nice everything.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and generous review.
We are most grateful for your excellent ratings and we look forward to welcoming you again here in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked 4 rooms for 4 nights for a big family reunion, during Chinese New Year.
At the last minute one of family members didn't made it (the poor guy flew all the way from Denver to HongKong just to re-route his fight and go back home) so in total we were 6 adults and 4 kids (ages 5-6 months).

The place is beautifully located on a nice corner of the Diniwid beach, with great views and very convenient, inviting pool.
Its quiet and we loved that we are not in the middle of things. They have small playground for the kids, and sand-toys, and are really friendly to the little ones.
The food at the restaurant was very tasty for lunch and dinner although it took awhile until our dishes came out. The breakfast was just okay and we paid extra for the kids (230Pesos each) which we were a bit annoyed about (they were free in other hotels on this trip). A buffet breakfast would have probably been better.

The rooms were comfortable, with renovated showers and loud air-condition. We stayed at room 134 which faces the road so no view or veranda, and with roosters who woke us up at 0630am. The bed was way-too-soft: the type you fall in the middle and if you’re a couple than it’s not fun.

Next door, there is a construction site of a new hotel so during the days it was a bit noisy. We mainly noticed it when taking a massage, right on the beach (350pesos/1 hours).

The shuttle to town was easy to get, so we didn't care being far.

I think the main thing which got us a bit disappointed was the receptionist who was simply nasty. Since we had a No-Show of one of our family, we requested the reception to try and sell the room to any walk-in / last minute. In comparison to another hotel we stayed at during our vacation who replied to the same request with: ‘we can’t guarantee anything but we will try our best’, this receptionist was truly mean in her reaction. One of the mornings there was a confusion at the breakfast with our coupons, which made us think there is a chance she sold the room and that there is duplicity with the coupons; we asked her about that and she refused to reply. After that, any small thing we requested was badly answered by her.
Besides that lady, all the other staff were really nice and attentive.

I would recommend this place for families although their cost (more than 200US$ a night per room) is a bit too expensive, but maybe that was due to the Chinese New Year. We booked directly with the hotel website.

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are great. if you are on the first floor, at least ask for the rooms with the ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Microtel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share you recent experience with us.
We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate encounters with our staff, and rest assure that your concerns will be addressed, and corrective actions taken.
Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you all back in MICROTEL Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay

Address: Diniwid Beach | Malay, Aklan, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel Boracay is a beachfront Mediterranean-inspired resort. It sports a tropical island look and brings to its doorstep the white sand beaches, water sport activities, tropical beach night life and other island adventures. Microtel Boracay lends unmatched comfort to Boracay beach holidays, complementing the tropical vibe that Boracay Island is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Boracay Hotel Boracay
Microtel Inn And Suites Boracay
Microtel Hotel Boracay
Microtel Boracay
Boracay Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.