We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diniwid Beach | Malay, Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Wow, what a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Microtel on Diniwid Beach in Borocay for 1 week. We were lucky enough to be assigned room 201, which had an incredible view overlooking the pool and out to the beach and turquoise ocean. A wonderful place to watch the world famous Borocay sunsets. The beds were very comfortable, the fridge kept our snacks and drinks cold, the AC kept the room cool, the wifi internet worked well, the TV had a number of English stations to choose. The included breakfasts, served at Mama’s Fishhouse were well prepared. The best though, was the staff: at the restaurant, Angel, Renebeth, Miel, Yhell were incredibly friendly and the service was superb. The ladies at the front desk were always helpful to arrange the shuttles into town, helped me phone the Scuba diving company I dove with, made change for me, locked our valuables in the safety deposit box and helped us access it whenever we needed to. The security guards set up beach beds and umbrellas, handed out striped beach towels and kept an eye on the place. We always felt safe and well cared for. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job keeping our room and the public areas of the hotel very clean. To the person, everyone here had a big smile for everyone they encountered. All in all, a very friendly and professional organization. I also had 2 great massages, one at the pool and one out at the beach at sunset, by a lady named Arleen. I would highly recommend her.

Things we liked: the free shuttles into the main part of White Beach, the lovely pool, the free coffee and tea available all day, the free spring water that was available in 5 gallon water dispensers so we could refill our containers (certainly cuts down on all the plastic waste generated from small drinking water bottles,) the quiet area on Diniwid Beach (we could take the shuttle into the crowds and mass chaos of White Beach whenever we wanted, but could have peace and quiet when we wanted at our “home” beach). We had a lovely time here.

Room Tip: get an oceanview room, room 201 is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel-boracay, Resident Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to share and post a great review. It's our pleasure to ensure that you and your guest had a best-value experience on your week's stay with us. Our team and the ladies from Mama's Fish House are mostly grateful of your over-all perfect ratings, it is extremely valuable to us specially coming from a Senior Contributor here in TripAdvior.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back here in Microtel Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    172
    45
    10
    8
See reviews for
119
119
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davao City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This side of the island is quieter. Terrific for relaxing with the whole family and the kids. They have a nice pool, a playground (swing & slide) and some beach toys for the kids to enjoy. Its got a nice beachfront too. For breakfast, they served different sets of dish each day that comes with fresh fruits and refillable beverage. We never really tried any other foods since we spend most of our time out. Guests are provided with shuttle that travels every 40 minutes(I think) and back. You can have pick-up scheduled at the drop-off area which is the D' Mall. This really makes up for its kinda isolated location. But really, distance isn't a problem. There are tricycles available outside to take you out to the party places and food spots. And the rooms are just huge and perfectly clean. The beds are really soft and comfy. Sleeping like a baby on those beds. Of course, they have the usual like cable tv, hot&cold shower and room service which is awesome. My most favorite of all is the free flowing coffee vending at the lounge area. Me, hubby and my two brothers are coffee lovers, so it was heaven for us there plus wifi is amazing.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms on the ground or second floor cuz no lifts available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel-boracay, Resident Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your great review. Our team is truly grateful for your perfect over-all ratings. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you want to go away from the noise of boracay this is the perfect place for you. It is located in what i would like to call "station 0" of boracay. It is seperated by a rocky route to station 1.

The positives:

1. The beds. Normally on a vacation you would love to go outside and enjoy the things such as the beach or what not. But the beds of microtel simply wants you to sleap in. It is trully one of the most comfortable beds there is.
2. The lobby. A comfortable place to relax and chill. Free coffee 24/7 and a place for your young ones to play in. It is not crowded with a lot of fixtures but is very spacious.
3. Check in. Check in was fast and room was well prepared.
4. Transport. Since their location is far from the main attractions of boracay. They provide a drop and pick to d mall every 30mins. You can simply text or call them should you wish to be picked up.
5. Breakfast. Yummy breakfast. Though choices are limited and is only plated.
6. Staff. Friendly and courtious staff.

Negatives.
1. Location is hard to get to.
2. The entrance at the backside of the hotel is not as eye pleasing.
3. The beach in front of the hotel is not as nice as that of station 2 & 3

Room Tip: There pool front rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel-boracay, Resident Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post a detailed review of your recent stay with us. Our whole team appreciates for making us your choice of perfect place away from the noise of Boracay. Please know that we are currently making improvements on back entrance of the Hotel.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in Microtel Boracay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If bright lights and night life are your thing then look elsewhere, but for the relaxed break I was looking for in Boracay the Microtel was just about right.

The location - at Diniwid on the northernmost end of White Beach - means that you're riding the free shuttles when you want to head down to the shops / restaurants etc. It is a nice enough walk but some will tell you it's too far, and certainly late at night or after a night out somewhere I wouldn't want to have to deal with it. What that isolation buys you though is really worth it. The beach is better, the crowds are non-existent, and the vibe on the whole is much more relaxed. We had dinner a few times down at D-Mall, but were satisfied when we chose to eat inhouse as well.

BTW, like everyone, we were saddened when the van pulled up in front of the hotel - we thought we'd done our dough. Thankfully though you only had to endure that for 50m - and it was being improved while we were there (April 2012). Everything else was an improvement on those shocking first few seconds....

Room Tip: Try to stay beachside. Apart from the obvious better views & breezes, there are chickens living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel-boracay, Resident Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your relaxing experience last April here in Microtel Boracay. It is nice to hear that you appreciate the privacy and calmness of our location in Diniwid Beach and the dining pleasure you had in Mama's Fish House.

We strive to continuously improve our property and we are happy to let you know that we have perked up the pathway leading to the Hotel's entrance.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have you back next time in Microtel Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osan, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Microtel is situated at Diniwid Beach and was a pleasure to stay at. With access to it's own private beach with gorgeous sunsets, open air restaurant and nice swimming pools, it was a very nice getaway location.

Staff was nice and friendly, and there was someone waiting for us at the Jetty in Caticlan to take our bags and escort us from the pier in Boracay to the hotel. I wish I had remembered to tip him. I made sure to tip the staff on the way out though. At one point, my girlfriend cut her finger on her razor and the staff were nice enough to give us tons of bandaids.

It is a little far from the D'Mall, which the action is as well as White Beach, which itself is something out of a beautiful dream, even during the rainy season, but the hotel offers a convenient free shuttle to and from the mall. Even if you didn't use the shuttle, the trike from the mall back to the hotel is a mere 100 pesos, which at the time of this review was about $2.50.

We booked a double deluxe and would have been satisfied with just one double bed, but there ended up being two in the room, which was fine. We ended up hanging out in one bed and slept in the other.

Bathroom was amazing with a rain-shower shower head and was very spacious. The only issue we had with it was there were ants constantly around the sink despite having the staff deal with it. After a while, we just stopped trying. Though the ants were always there, there weren't many of them.

The air conditioner, despite many other reviews stating they were loud, never bothered us. The breakfast in the morning was good, but nothing to write home about.

Definitely had a great time there, and very satisfied with the staff. Should we ever return again, we would consider staying again at the Microtel.

Room Tip: If the shuttle service schedule is not to your liking, the hotel will kindly call you a trike upon r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel-boracay, Resident Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to share and post a review. Our team is mostly grateful of your excellent ratings, it is extremely valuable to us. It's our pleasure to ensure that you and your guest had a best-value experience during your recent stay with us. Your concern about the presence of ants inside the room was already addressed to our Housekeeping team.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back here in Microtel Boracay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Microtel Boracay this September and we were alarmed how far the location could be to other beach resorts. The entrance is abyssmal as it has not been developed yet with puddles from the rain which proved to be an unsightly view. I love the fact that they have provided a shuttle service until 12am because no one in their right mind would stay their again without that precious luxury. The suite-room is spacious and the bed is comfortable. My only qualm is the bath tub because I have to manually drain the bath water and the hotel doesn't provide "bubble bath soaps." I like the pool and the location of the beach is just few steps away. Nonetheless, I think this resort could still use some improvement.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel-boracay, Resident Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We are glad that our scheduled shuttle service to/from D'Mall gave you convenience to enjoy the Main Beach despite our distance... and that you appreciate our spacious suite room, the comfort of our chiropractic bed and location of our pool to the beach.

Please know that we are currently into our project to improve the pathway leading to the Hotel entrance.

Thank you for staying with us and posting your high rated review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were in Phillipines for a 9 days "runaway" split between Boracay and Makati city. From KL you'd board a flight from LCCT to Phillipines NAIA Airport by Cebu Pacific. Then at NAIA take another flight out to Boracay also via Cebu. Once you get to the airport at Caticlan, if you had already made arrangements with Microtel, the hotel staff will be there to pick you up. Marlen was our friendly assistant, carrying bags and buying tickets for out "Bangka" (boat) ride . That takes about 30 minutes. Then there is another 20 minute journey from the jetty to the hotel situated at Station 3, Diniwid Beach. By the time you arrive, all you want to do is throw your body on the bed. The receptionists welcomed us with cold refreshing drinks then proceeded to check-in. Didnt take long but there arent any lifts so you'd have to walk up the stairs to your room, The beds are nice and comfy, there is a little kitchen top with a sink and the bathroom was clean. Unfortunately, our room did not face the beach but that was alright because we were out most of the time. There is a restaurant here, Mama's where we had lunch and supper too. The chicken soup noodle is delicious. Breakfast is served here every morning depending on a set for the day. After a day or two the lovely ladies here will remember how you like your eggs. Microtel has its own beach right in front which we found to be a delight because its not at all crowded and you could spend your afternoons here with drinks from the bar (try the mudslide) without any disturbances, If you have kids, they can use the swimming pool, its kid friendly. There are 2 computers here which has internet which you can use for free. From here, you can walk to Station 1 where all the hustle,bustle, nightlife, shopping, eateries are. It takes about 20-30 minutes round a bend which we found on the farthest left from the beach. Dont walk back after dark because the walkway is quite narrow. Take the trike instead for approx 100php. Overall, we had a good stay here. The staff of Microtel, especially the ladies at Mama's and Marlen made it worth the long hours getting here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtel-boracay, Resident Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Together with Marlon and the ladies from Mama's, our team is happy that you enjoyed your "runaway" trip to Boracay. We take pride of the privacy of Diniiwd Beach and the comfortable and rest-condusive room and facilities that we have provided you during your stay.

Thank you very much for taking time to post your positive review. We hope to welcome you back soon here in Microtel Boracay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay

Address: Diniwid Beach | Malay, Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel Boracay is a beachfront Mediterranean-inspired resort. It sports a tropical island look and brings to its doorstep the white sand beaches, water sport activities, tropical beach night life and other island adventures. Microtel Boracay lends unmatched comfort to Boracay beach holidays, complementing the tropical vibe that Boracay Island is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Boracay Hotel Boracay
Microtel Inn And Suites Boracay
Microtel Hotel Boracay
Microtel Boracay
Boracay Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.