We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel can get crowded even low season” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Carmela de Boracay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Carmela de Boracay to your Saves list
La Carmela de Boracay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 135 Hotels in Boracay
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Hotel can get crowded even low season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We booked an executive deluxe room with them through a popular online hotel reservation site and got a good deal.
The room has its own semi private (as it is shared with the adjacent room) pool but it was not filled with water. We did not bother to ask the staff to fill it up since we won't be using it anyway. The room also has a balcony although the view is the next building.
Room is okay and can accommodate only up to four or else it can get crowded.
They did not provide bottles of drinking water though as what you would normally find in other hotels.
The bathroom has a tub and hot and cold shower. Although we stayed here for 3 nights the bathroom supplies - tissue, soap, shampoo were not replenished. The towels were not also changed. The room was not cleaned as it is their policy that the staff cannot clean the room unless a guest would remain inside during cleaning.
The hotel has lots of guests even during low season and security is not tight so everyone can just go in and out.
The breakfast that came with the room is served buffet style albeit the taste was mediocre at its best.
They have 2 swimming pools but both can get crowded.
Our room was on the 3rd floor and it was a pain seeing the oldies use the stairs! The elevator had an old looking sign saying that it is not working.
Staff were accommodating.
Our room is located at the executive wing so you'd walk roughly 2 minutes to get to the beach.
The hotel asked for a deposit of Php2000 during check in but we were able to refund it during check out.
Would I stay here again: Maybe no. There are other cheaper alternatives that are beach front albeit without pool. We only used the pool once anyway.
Would I recommend this to others: sure, if you want a cheap beach front accommodation with swimming pool at white beach.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank for taking time to share your candid experience during your stay with us. We consider your travel advisory our valuable source for us to know what are the things in our operation that need adjustments and corrections. We apologize if we have not meet some of your expectations during your stay with us. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you again with our better service in your next Boracay Trip. Thank you and God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    151
    230
    101
    98
See reviews for
227
122
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

La Carmela boracay is located in station 2 and a beachfront.if you are on a tight budget then this is a best place for you..of course don't expect a lot from this hotel!
Room-nothing much special.furnitures are not luxurious!
Food-a lot of viands to choice
Service-excellent staff and attentive.Iam very much satisfied with the service of pick up and drop off from airport!

Pool-very small and no privacy!

This hotel is very crowded during Holy Week!


  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay with us, we are happy to know that you enjoyed our friendly customer service. We look forward to welcoming you again soon here at La Carmela. God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valenzuela, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 night, the room was good for it's price. We are not very particular with the room as long as it's clean since most of the time we will be out.

See comments and improvements bellow

ROOM

1. Exhaust in the CR is not working
2. Power outlet was loose, we're charging of mobile phone and noticed it late that it's not charging due to loose outlet. We moved to other outlet but still the same.

FOOD and BUFFET

1. Breakfast buffet is good, sometime they run out of spoon and fork even plate!
2. We ate buffet dinner since it's raining, Mongolian seems to be not cooked very well (I can say it not being cooked or just been heated) the squid balls is raw, the tomatoes that I put still sticks with each other, meaning it's not being mix properly.

Attentive staffs, great location

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay with us. We consider your travel advisory our valuable source for us to know what are the things in our operation that need adjustments and corrections. We are in an industry that prosper if we can meet the expectations of customers. We look forward to welcoming you again soon here at our resort with our better and improved services. God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is the second time that I stayed in La Carmela. The first one was with my husband and our daughter in 2011. We had no issues with the room probably because we stayed in the executive wing. The only minus point then was the breakfast which is really terrible and the hallway which is very dark...

This time I went there together with my office mates. We were given 3 rooms in the 4th floor of the old building. Our group stayed in room 432 and the first night was really terrible. The aircon because of its size could not cool the room. I was up all night fanning myself. We couldn't sleep because of the heat (this was in June-almost end of summer...imagine how it was in April and May ...ouch!). We went to the reception to request for a change... it took them quite sometime to respond to our request (I would give them a terrible rating in customer service had it not for the manongs in engineering and the kuya who patiently helped us find a new room). We were given room 426 which is smaller (reason why the temperature was better) but still not at par with what you are expecting in a decent room. I hope the management would look into this issue. maybe it's time to renovate and do a quality check on your rooms (consider the size of the room when buying an aircon-seriously!). And please, kindly check on your breakfast menu.. it is far from being a decent breakfast... I see food being wasted because people oftentimes would not finish what they got. It does not need to have too much on the menu as long as the food is palatable. I would probably refrain from booking a stay in La Carmela for the meantime ... I might ruin a perfectly planned vacation...

Room Tip: Always check the aircon before you agree to stay in the room... the rooms we stayed are located in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We got a free upgrade from a Family Room to a VIP room since our room wasn't ready yet when we checked in. It is a multilevel room with 1 twin bed, 3 king size beds, 2 full bathrooms, 2 mini fridge, and a balcony. We were given complimentary breakfast during our 2 days stay. The staff are polite and accommodating. I am rating La Carmela as average because of a few inconveniences - the a/c on the 2nd level wasn't functioning properly and it is disappointing that the semi-private mini pool wasn't working as well. The complimentary coffee and sugar packets was also infested with ants but the housekeeping crew came right away to clean it. La Carmela is strategically located at Station 3 with many outdoor activities to choose from. We had a good stay but we will check out other hotels the next time we come back to Boracay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel is a beachfront hotel in station 2 so it is ideal for for those who would like to be in the middle of all the happenings in the White Beach area and the island. Its location is the main reason why we chose the resort. The room that we stayed in had all the things that we needed except free Wi-Fi (which is offered with a fee). Compared to the other beachfront hotels in the area, I believe that it's one of the cheapest, but it's not also very cheap. It's just right or appropriate in terms of location and amenities present. However, given the room rate per day, I believe that free Wi-Fi should be included. The staff were attentive and courteous. We planned this trip to celebrate my father's birthday, so we surprised him with a small chocolate cake on the day of his birthday, and the staff helped us to execute the plan. In addition, it was good that they provided water dispensers in many parts of the hotel. Overall, we had a good stay. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

La Carmela is conveniently located at the station 3 beachfront. Though some of the staff are friendly but training in service oriented business needs a lot of improvement. Room is very small, not even a glass or a cup was not readily available inside the room, you need to ask for them to give. Basic thing like hot water flask and hair dyer not even provided. Breakfast is very poor. You need to fire your chef!!!!! Its totally non appetising and no taste. One new crew even spray dettol in our table because she saw a stain while we are still eating. Pissed off that time.
Toilet is also averagely clean. You cannot enjoy showering because water pressure is very poor.
Overall, i can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your candid experience.

Please accept our apology if we have not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

Room is very small - We have big rooms/higher category of rooms that are more spacious than the standard rooms at a different room rates. We are focused on budget conscious travelers but our hotels have other categories to cater to specific needs of guests if they wish to book to a higher category of rooms. Our website provides information on the type of room and the corresponding room rates so that everyone will be guided accordingly.

Hot water flask and Hair dyer not even provided - These are available upon request at the front desk.

Breakfast is very poor - As much as possible, we would like to meet the food expectations of our guests. However, what is delicious to one may look awful to another person. Our complimentary breakfast is comparably the same to, if not above, the standards offered by Boracay resorts in the same category. Although it is complimentary, La Carmela de Boracay does not disabuse it; please consider that guests in big hotels in Hong Kong and Singapore are treated to a complimentary breakfast by way of a meal coupon redeemable at a food joint near the hotel.

Much as we would like to provide good services and reasonably priced room rates, there are still areas in our operation that may we need to improve. We consider your travel advisory our valuable source for us to know what are the things in our operation that need adjustments and corrections.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your Boracay vacation and hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service. God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Carmela de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carmela de Boracay

Address: Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Carmela de Boracay 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Carmela de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carmela De Boracay Hotel Boracay
La Carmela De Hotel Boracay
Boracay La Carmela De

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carmela de Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.