We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service needs further improvement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Carmela de Boracay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Carmela de Boracay to your Saves list
La Carmela de Boracay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 133 Hotels in Boracay
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service needs further improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

La Carmela is conveniently located at the station 3 beachfront. Though some of the staff are friendly but training in service oriented business needs a lot of improvement. Room is very small, not even a glass or a cup was not readily available inside the room, you need to ask for them to give. Basic thing like hot water flask and hair dyer not even provided. Breakfast is very poor. You need to fire your chef!!!!! Its totally non appetising and no taste. One new crew even spray dettol in our table because she saw a stain while we are still eating. Pissed off that time.
Toilet is also averagely clean. You cannot enjoy showering because water pressure is very poor.
Overall, i can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your candid experience.

Please accept our apology if we have not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

Room is very small - We have big rooms/higher category of rooms that are more spacious than the standard rooms at a different room rates. We are focused on budget conscious travelers but our hotels have other categories to cater to specific needs of guests if they wish to book to a higher category of rooms. Our website provides information on the type of room and the corresponding room rates so that everyone will be guided accordingly.

Hot water flask and Hair dyer not even provided - These are available upon request at the front desk.

Breakfast is very poor - As much as possible, we would like to meet the food expectations of our guests. However, what is delicious to one may look awful to another person. Our complimentary breakfast is comparably the same to, if not above, the standards offered by Boracay resorts in the same category. Although it is complimentary, La Carmela de Boracay does not disabuse it; please consider that guests in big hotels in Hong Kong and Singapore are treated to a complimentary breakfast by way of a meal coupon redeemable at a food joint near the hotel.

Much as we would like to provide good services and reasonably priced room rates, there are still areas in our operation that may we need to improve. We consider your travel advisory our valuable source for us to know what are the things in our operation that need adjustments and corrections.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your Boracay vacation and hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service. God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    144
    212
    87
    78
See reviews for
213
106
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Though the place is a little bit crowded ( we booked timely during a convention when the place was exclusively use by delegates ) but cost wise it is very affordable. The location at Station 2 is perfect too. The shore is just a stone throw away. I love swimming in a pool, but I dislike their pool's location which is in front the hotel , along the road. over-all the place is nice.

Room Tip: Choose a room fronting the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay with us.

We are glad to know that you remarked our resort, the affordable rates we offer, swimming pool and our beachfront location and your overall stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you again here at La Carmela de Boracay on your next Boracay vacation. God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Cockroaches inside our bathroom is so big. I got really scared! Stayed at room A6 on June 17-19, 2014. Worst breakfast buffet. The place where to eat breakfast smells awful and the food is gross. There's even cockroach on it! We called the attention of the waiter to report the issue but he didn't even went back for us. I just don't want to waste time arguing with the staff because it's our first time to Boracay! Never ever gonna stay here again. Such a nightmare!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your honest feedback.

We apologize for the inconvenience you had experience during your stay with us. We have investigated this incident but unfortunately you have not raised your concern to our front desk for proper action. Our guests are our number one priority at the property and if someone is dissatisfied with their experience, we work very hard to correct this immediately.

We hope you will give us another chance to let you experience our better service on your next Boracay vacation. God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Okay. So, I am writing this as an American, not a Filipino. So a Filipino, this might be very average or possibly considered like a budget hotel. To me however, this was definitely lower than a Motel 6. I am just giving my perspective. You see beautiful pictures online, making you feel like this is some 4 star resort. It's super crowded, tons of kids running around, the buffet is chaos, the AC barely works, they are super stingy with towels and toilet paper, there is no fridge or amenities in the room, and they do not clean your room. We stayed almost a week and it was never cleaned, even when requested once.

I will say that the buffet is nice, but oh dear Lord! Crowded. The close proximity of the beach is excellent, and it's right next to the tourist center, I will give it that. But if you're wandering why the price is so low, there is a reason.

If you want something nicer, go to station 1 and pay a little more. It won't be swarming with people, and hopefully you won't have to beg for toilet paper or sweat at night.

Oh, and henna tattoos. Think twice about getting one, because the first day it WILL get into something and they WILL charge you if the henna gets on the sheets. And trust me, it will.

Room Tip: The balcony has no privacy, you will find people constantly walking by
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed there for 4D 3N for a seminar.

Room: It was a bit old and sad. Yup. Sad. Hehe. We stayed in Room 151. It was at the end of the corridor. It was really dark. The bed was nice though. And the CR is clean. But I expected something better from such a big and famous hotel.

Function Room: Really crowded. Probably not their fault because the organizers didn't expect such a big turnabout of participants.

Food: We were booked for buffet breakfast lunch and dinner. Understandably, it's really difficult to serve buffets. They lacked variety. We were calling the food: Chopsuey de Lunes, de Martes, Afritada de Lunes, de Miyerkules, etc. Thumbs down.

Room Tip: Better stay on the West Wing. I heard it was better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

La Carmela de Boracay is a budget hotel. Don't expect much.

We booked here for 2 nights. We're a family of 3 adults. We got 2 twin executive deluxe rooms (located at the executive wing). There's no ocean view in these rooms.

Positive:
1. The hotel is beachfront. You can access the beach right away. If you'll book a room at the main building instead of the executive wing, you'll be nearer to the beach.

2. They have a swimming pool near the beach. This is good for kids and for those who don't like to swim in the sea.

3. No problem with the A/C.


Negative:
1. Expect a bumpy ride if you'll ride a tricycle as you get to the hotel's small street (eskenita). It is because the street is incomplete. I hope they fix this. We were told that it rained last night and so the street was kinda flooded and muddy. It was so inconvenient to tiptoe all the time.

2. We were given rooms 102 & 103. Please avoid room 102. Why? First, there was a musty smell in this room. I tried to spray perfume but the foul smell was unbearable. Second, I saw a spider crawling on the floor (near the left bed). Third, the room is at the ground floor. I could hear the noise from the lobby. I could also hear the sound from the on-going construction which I believe is at the left side of the executive wing.

Since I was trying to get a nap, I requested to be transferred right away. They did transfer me to room 307 but it took 3 follow ups for them to do it.

3. The inclusive buffet breakfast is not good. On our first breakfast, the tocino was so salty! On our second breakfast, the sweet & sour fish tasted like ketchup. If you're planning to eat breakfast at around 9am, expect long lines. During our stay, we experienced falling in line up to the swimming pool area.

4. The twin executive deluxe room that we got is good for 2 persons. However, we noticed that there was only 1 shampoo & conditioner and 1 soap provided. When I got transferred to room 307, there wasn't even any towel. I even have to call housekeeping to deliver it.

5. The pillows aren't comfy at all. They're too small and too flat. In room 102 where I first stayed, the bed sheet was itchy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the main building are nearer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Piñas, Cavite, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in La Carmela twice already. I normally chose them because its affordable, has good location and withpool along beach front. Most of the resort hotels with pool there were expensive especially facing beach front. My toddler loves to play in the pool and then after on beach.

Room was clean with bathroom amenities and hotel staff were courteous.

Location near to restaurants & D'Mall, but little far from station one.

Breakfast was ok, we were upgraded to buffet instead of set meal that time, since they were fully booked.

Only thing is that our room was located in their annex building... that it will take sometime to go up on our room... but that was fine.

I will definite choose again this hotel on our 3rd boracay trip on Feb.

Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Carmela de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carmela de Boracay

Address: Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Carmela de Boracay 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Carmela de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carmela De Boracay Hotel Boracay
La Carmela De Hotel Boracay
Boracay La Carmela De

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carmela de Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.