We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff.mediocre hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Carmela de Boracay

Save Saved
You added La Carmela de Boracay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Carmela de Boracay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 132 hotels in Boracay
Davao City, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Helpful staff.mediocre hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed in this hotel during typhoon yolanda(this is a late review).i have to commend the staff from the supervisors to all their attendants, they were very considerate during those times.though the rooms were not magnificient, A/C not wrking well, hot shower as well but the bed n d rest is ok.dont eat in the resto, not recommendable even the breakfast.better to buy mcdo or eat at other resto.
Will stay in the family room, nice rooms n big enough for a group, A/C works well as well as the shower.(we stayed at 3 different rooms during our stay bec we wer stranded but the regular room, not so recomendable).
The local govt of boracay as well as the tourism office they really SUCK, they dont know how to handle crisis, thousands of people wer stranded during yolanda n hoping to cross caticlan however they wer not able to control the crowd.

Room Tip: Get the family room,iT has functional A/C and well-kept room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay with us. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the services provided by our staff. Please accept our apology with regards to our A/C. We will do our best to provide your a good room during your next stay. God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    134
    196
    83
    76
See reviews for
202
98
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This a great little budget hotel. Included in our pre-purchased package from Travelonline Philippines, this hotel made it possible for me to travel along with 9 member of my family without having to rob a bank. The rooms are decent and the property is constantly being cleaned by its friendly staff.

Being situated within the borders of stations 2 & 3, visitors of this hotel have direct access to cheaper services and merchandise. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience during your stay at our resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the services we have provided. We hope to welcome you back again soon. God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

if you have a bad time at this resort....it is your own fault...as nothing is a problem for any of the staff at this beach front property. the staff are mainly young trainees, and are so willing to be of service to you... that they all scramble to be the 1st .it is very clean, safe, an has everything you need an a bit more...but the beach has it even more so.the food is also budget buffet style, an you more than get to put on weight there, but also they have menu , an if you happen to catch your own , lobster or huge fish an crabs at the local wet market, the kitchen do a superb singapore chili mud crap or torepedo prawns

Room Tip: if you want rest....choose the executive wing, its not as noisy as beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The great thing about La Carmela is the location - directly next to White Beach so you are there within a few footsteps. The other good thing is the price - it's very cheap, especially if booked as part of a group tour. However, that's pretty much where it ends as everything else I experienced was pretty bad. Room is in dire need of refurbishment and was pretty dirty (and that's after we swapped rooms due to being initially placed next to a building site). The room wasn't cleaned each day and the air con was unbelievably loud. Breakfast very busy and bad food. You had to pay to rent a beach towel. The pool is nice but affected by the smell from the nearby toilets. You get the picture - if you can put up with this for a cheap stay, then great. Otherwise, pay a bit more and stay somewhere with better facilities - that's what I will do should I ever return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

La Carmela de Boracay is one of the best and yet so affordable hotel in Bora, its services was like the 5-7 stars hotel with their friendly staff, nice bed room and delicious food. For those budget travelers like me i really recommend it.

Thanks a lot.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at La Carmela for 1 week, what a huge mistake!! We would have cancelled our stay at this hotel but we have paid in full and could not get a refund. At 6000 Pesos a night, it was not particularly cheap. This hotel has been the worst hotel we have ever stayed at.

-The only good thing about this hotel is it's beachfront location but it apparently has over 400 rooms but does not have the facilities to support the number of guest it has staying. The restaurant is too small and there is not enough loungers at the beach.
-We stayed at the executive wing in a panorama junior suit and there was absolutely nothing special about this room. Across the road La Carmela is building an extention to their already over populated chaotic hotel. It's very noisy from all their building rackets from 7am to 10pm.
-The breakfast at this hotel was not a nice experience, the food was of poor quality and always cold. Finding a table was always a challenge due to the very large number of guest staying. The hotel restaurant is small and does not have enough tables.
-We have stayed at numerous hotels at numerous countries and have never come across a hotel that charges for the use of beach towels. We pay enough this should be part of the service they provide and there is no mention of this on their website.
-You need to physically request and sign something to get your room made up, which we did but we had to remind them a few time to do it. In the end we gave up and cleaned the room ourselves.

Our stay at La Carmela had been such a bad experience and cannot recommend it to anyone. We will definitely be back to Boracay because it's an absolute paradise but never again at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

One of the most modest hotels I have stayed in. The rooms are basic motel rooms. The bathrooms are poor. The breakfast lacks anything delicious.... The pool looks lot bigger in picture.

Plus : The hotel transfer is good.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with even number. They have slightly better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Carmela de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carmela de Boracay

Address: Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Carmela de Boracay 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Carmela de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carmela De Boracay Hotel Boracay
La Carmela De Hotel Boracay
Boracay La Carmela De

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carmela de Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.