We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded. Far from the places you would want to be.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Carmela de Boracay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Carmela de Boracay to your Saves list
La Carmela de Boracay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Crowded. Far from the places you would want to be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here with my family. Rooms are clean. Staffs are nice but the reception area are always crowded. Too many korean guests that they serve kimchi for breakfast, but thats ok, koreans are nice and i like kimchi, its just that it would be nicer if they can control the crowd. When you arrive, you expect that you get a warm welcome, but because of the crowd, you'd have to request for your welcome drink. Not a good welcome, i must say.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    145
    215
    92
    83
See reviews for
214
111
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent hotel for value for money. The only plus factor in this hotel is the location and the price. Located at station 2 you are in the middle of the island. A few steps from D Mall and nearby popular shops and resto. The service is slow considering there are a lot of visitors especially during peak seasons, so expect the crew to be super busy. I tried the breakfast and buffet lunch and dinner, my recommendation is dine somewhere else. A good choice for budget travel

Room Tip: Choose corner rooms as they are a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in La Carmela for over a week. After reading all reviews we were a bit pushed off with this hotel, but since we came in we were positively suprised. Excellent location, nice hotel overview, clean with friendly staff.

Our standard room is not too bad, maybe old fashioned but bathroom need small improvement ( especially shower).

Generally, hotel is really good, close to everywhere, good service, rooms got everything what you need ( tv, balcony, safety box, fridge etc).

What we didnt like is the breakfast. Overcrowded, Europeans cant find here anything, all food is only for asians, so maybe if the hotel wants also guest from Europe they need to think of adding some different food not only heavy asian meals, maybe some cheese would be nice or vegetables?


To sum up, we're satisfied, i cant image choosing different hotel for this price!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our service. We are looking forward to serving you again in your next Boracay vacation. God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is central on White Beach. For it's location their price is definitely a good value. Service is average but the staff is very courteous and respectful.

My main beef with them is the NOT free wireless internet inside your rooms and the NOT free beach towels (you have to pay each time you want clean ones too,)

Otherwise, this hotel rates well, I think.

I do appreciate that the they allowed early check-in for my family when we arrived 11AM.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your candid experience during your stay with us. About your concern with our WIFI, we only provide free access on the restaurant, poolside and on premier west lobby. Beach towel rental fee is part of our hotel policy, but it was just affordable for all our guests. Overall, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed vacation with us. Looking forward to serving you again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed at La Carmela for 3 nights, we have the executive deluxe room in the executive wing. This I believe was their new building which is located at the back so its a long walk to the beach. Room features are just average. We just have some problems with the bathroom though. The water from all the faucet were dirty, I don't know if its sand coming out from it but its kinda brownish color. Even the water from the toilet have this. We then have to call some assistance to the lobby to fix it. Breakfast buffet seems to be just repeating its menu everyday. A long walk also when going to D'Mall and station 1.

Overall, just an ordinary hotel, service and cleanliness should improved and a long walk to the bars and restaurant at D'Mall.

Room Tip: choose a room in the main building its nearer on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay with us. We consider your travel advisory our valuable source for us to know what are the things in our operation that need adjustments and corrections. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is the 5th time I have been to "Boracay", and 1st time staying at the La Carmela.

All I can honestly say is that "Location is great" being right in front of the beach and service isn't too bad. Other than that, everything is just average.

The Bad...

1: The room that we got when we arrived (raining at the time) was actually leaking. The rain was coming in even though the window was close and the bathroom was looking like it is in need of a serious cleaning. We did get transferred to another room after calling reception and an inspection from one of the staff to may sure the room was actually leaking.

2: The floor feels like it hasn't been thoroughly clean in a very long time like the bathroom.

3: The aircon was very noisy and pretty sure wasn't working as our room just never got cold, even if you leave it running while you're out and about.

The Good...

1: Service was good. Staffs were helpful and friendly.

2: They up-graded our breakfast coupon to buffet (really appreciated).

3: The hotel is right in front of the beach and close enough to everywhere.

Overall, if they only maintain the hotel I guess it can be a great place to stay and other than that, as I have mentioned above. "Good location and Good service".

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Good location, beach front. Rooms are quite crowded but still okay. Staffs are hospitable, they entertain your requests (cleaning, change sheets, etc.). They even allowed us to leave our things in their premises so we can roam around and kill time before our flight back to Manila.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Carmela de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carmela de Boracay

Address: Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Carmela de Boracay 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Carmela de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carmela De Boracay Hotel Boracay
La Carmela De Hotel Boracay
Boracay La Carmela De

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carmela de Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.