We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Carmela de Boracay

Save Saved
You added La Carmela de Boracay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Carmela de Boracay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It's okay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We've been here twice, overall, the room is clean, nice and decent. Though it is small. Also, the staff lacks personal touch with their guests. Something special is missing in this place and I don't know what that is. Still, it was a good value for money!

Want to know more? send me a tweet at nathan11sison :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at La carmela de Boracay! We really appreciate hearing about your good experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    140
    202
    85
    77
See reviews for
207
100
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angeles City, Angeles, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The room we had was alright considering what we paid for. It was also fully booked.

The location is so-so. It depends on your idea of Boracay. If it's about the beach then it's good, it's a few steps away from the beach (But so is most of the other hotels & guest houses with much lower price).
If you prefer partying then it's not too good, it's a bit far from the Party Scene. 5 mins walk to Summer Place and 6-7 Mins walk to Epic Bar.
If you feel like doing water activities such as para-sailing, helmet diving etc. then it's really really far. I'd say 12 mins walk (and yes you have no choice but to walk) to the dock stations & registration booth of water activities.

The WORST breakfast I ever had. You walk in to a room full of mess, the coffee/juice is self serving (which is alright) but how can I prepare my coffee if the cups are all used up and no one is cleaning the coffee station. Sugar/Creamer are all used up, only brewed coffee in the container is available, Juice is warm. I had to wait 15-20 mins before they can even replenish cups and condiments. It was also an ala carte breakfast and you have to choose between rice/hotcakes, scrambled/sunny side up egg, chicken adobo/corned beef/ and some other choices such as sausage/hotdogs which are not available anyway. I ordered rice, chicken adobo and scrambled egg. We waited for about 30-40 mins before the food arrived, and when we got it they got the egg wrong. The rice was cold and hard and the adobo taste like I don't know! You can get that type of food for 30 pesos in a carinderia, probably much faster and tastier. I hope they don't include breakfast anymore if they can't accommodate guests.

It was a huge disappointment specially how the staff treat us. I can see one of their staff texting in the corner while most of the guests are waiting for the cups to be replenished. I even saw one of the guests follow up their order but one of the staff member just looked them in the eye and left. The guest just said (Ang sungit naman).

Morning is the worst day you can ever disappoint a person. They will never ever forget about it and might make or break their day. If the coffee was available right away I would've calmed down.

We immediately checked out and transferred to a different guest house which was more comfortable, really cheap no hassle and everything is beyond your reach.

I'm sorry La Carmela, but I'm never coming back.

NOTE: If you can afford La Carmela then you too can afford La Soleil, almost the same, but La Soleil breakfast is better, location wise the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We always consider feedbacks from our guests to improve our services and develop a product that would be ahead of our peers in the tourism market/segment that we would like to serve. We would like to provide some inputs through your travel advisory sites in order to put in proper perspective our services and products vis-à-vis guest expectation. As we do believe that some of the feedback/comments may have arise that guests may have some expectation of services that are way beyond of our category. Although, it is quite a complimentary for being compared among the best in the industry but we feel we have to clarify several issues/comments.

Our breakfast is complimentary and is not included on the room rates to give price flexibility to our guests. If guests would like to pay for their breakfast or order the food they would like to serve to them we have options for breakfast at affordable rates. Breakfast normally costs in the range of P400-P500 or $22-$25 at four (4) star hotels.

Many of the guests are in the nature of guests rating us or comparing us to hotels of higher category. Although it may sound complimentary being measured among the best and of higher category we find it desirable for us to be placed in a proper perspective to avoid any misunderstanding. Nevertheless, we could not maintain an occupancy rate of 70-80 percent even during the low season in Boracay Island, if our guests do not receive value for the money they spent on us.
As part of our system to improve our product and services, we allow our management personnel to travel abroad for them to have the opportunity and compared our hotel with other hotels in other countries, and we could say that we have a better service and quality of rooms than hotels of the same category.

Much as we would like to provide good services and reasonably priced room rates, there are still areas in our operation that may we need to improve. We consider your travel advisory our valuable source for us to know what are the things in our operation that need adjustments and corrections. We are in an industry that prosper if we can meet the expectations of customers.

Finally, we would like to apologize to our guests if their expectations were not met when they stay with us. We recommend to check our website at www.lacarmeladeboracay.com for the rates and of h type of room and we have photos to assist our guests in making their reservations or bookings. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Piñas, Cavite, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

When going to Boracay, my family always stay at this hotel.
When my sister got married, we opted La Carmela because the people are very accomodating, easy to deal with and very warm. (Kudos to Yong Amodia and Love!) They have function rooms and beach set up as well.
Booking online is easy.
Cheap rates.
Rooms, not that good (but you cannot expect a 5-star hotel type when paying low rates) and anyways, we didn't go to Boracay just to stay in a hotel.
Toilet and bath are tolerable.
Breakfast, well an ala-carte menu for 2 is inclusive but if you want to have a buffet breakfast you can just add Php 130.00 (i think).
To sum it up, La Carmela is on top of my list when looking for a hotel in Boracay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
La Carmela de Boracay Resort Hotel is an AA resort hotel, located in Station 2, Balabag, Boracay Island, Malay, Aklan, offering beachfront convenience to our guests. Our rates and business model make us popular among vacationers who travel in groups. Conde Nast one of the top travel magazine voted La Carmela de Boracay Resort Hotel as one of the top notch cheap hotels in Boracay Island a recognition that is consistent with our desire to provide quality service and of good hotel rooms at prices affordable to many price conscious travelers.
La Carmela De Boracay Resort Hotel appreciates very much the various reviews and messages in your travel advisory. The many posts and messages we believe is something that we have to live with being in a leisure and hospitality business where customer satisfaction is a must and a measure. Being subject to regular reviews we consider it as an indication that our business model gained acceptance among tourists going to Boracay Island.The management of La Carmela de Boracay Resort Hotel would like to thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. Looking forward of seeing you in your future Boracay Trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was our first time to visit Boracay, so we were so excited and don't even know what are there for us. My brother in law booked this hotel for us, kinda happy too coz Boy Abunda is the endorser of this hotel.. I mean Boy Abunda is "some one"! To cut it short we are very disappointed after a long journey just to get into this hotel.. We don't really expect much because this is a 3 star hotel. The room is ok for but there's no basic toiletries.. There were 1 very small soap and very tiny plastic bottle w/ a half content of shampoo w/ conditioner (this is the indication of the bottle) Funny and Pathetic! Volt can't be use even though one of the staff came to our room to fix it! Breakfast is so disappointing! Borrowing of towel and umbrella is chargeable. To think that we have given P 2,000 for incidentals/deposit. Staff don't how to answer our questions.. So basic.. All about Boracay. We us to make up our room, we call the receptonist twice and waited for so long.. Wow!!!!!! But I guessed the management or even the owner of this hotel doesn't really care the feed back of their guest.
We will not gonna stay here again. People hear me and hear us right. Don't waste your money here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
La Carmela De Boracay Resort Hotel appreciates very much the various reviews and messages in your travel advisory. The many posts and messages we believe is something that we have to live with being in a leisure and hospitality business where customer satisfaction is a must and a measure. Being subject to regular reviews we consider it as an indication that our business model gained acceptance among tourists going to Boracay Island.

We always consider feedbacks from our guests like you to improve our services and develop a product that would be ahead of our peers in the tourism market/segment that we would like to serve. Much as we would like to provide good services and reasonably priced room rates, there are still areas in our operation that may we need to improve. We consider your travel advisory our valuable source for us to know what are the things in our operation that need adjustments and corrections. We are in an industry that prosper if we can meet the expectations of customers. Finally, we would like to apologize if we have not met your expectations during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Quite a large hotel than i expected. The check-in was smooth and the staffs in the frontdesk was helpful.Location wise its fine. Was happy that i was able to have a early check-in. The stay included a set breakfast which was ok. We have to inform the reception about getting the room cleaned every time we need. Speaking about the negative aspects, the shower in the bathroom was pathetic, didnt have hot water. The air conditioner was not working properly. On the whole the stay was comfortable, but shall lok for another hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We consider your travel advisory our valuable source for us to know what are the things in our operation that need adjustment and corrections. We are in an industry that proper if we can meet the expectations of customers. We would like to apologize if your expectations were not met when you stay with us. Any complaint of any defect we attend to it either by doing the immediate repair or to transfer the guest to a similar room or even a higher category of room. Rest assured that your concern has been raised up to the management. Thank you for staying with us. Godbless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

our 2nd time to stay here yes rooms aren't the best but I didn't come to boracay to stay in my room beds are comfortable n clean bathroom with good house keeping staff. pool is great especially for kids as they have very attentive life guards.Cold beer with exceptional service, good food for the price I don't think you can get better value going to stay again here in april may 2014 looking forward to seeing the friendly staff again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at La Carmela de Boracay, we really appreciate hearing about your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite, Cavite City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights (aug. 28-30, 2013). We were given 3 hotels to choose from, but since this is located in station 2, near the DMall i immediately pushed the booking for this hotel. We are a group of 31, a bit large for the small lobby (waiting area of the hotel). We arrived quite early.. considering it was lean season, they didn't allow us to have an early check-in; instead they just offered to keep our baggage at the baggage counter so we can proceed with our trip to Mt. Tapyas and Puka Beach.

Location - a few steps away from the beach. As in!

Rooms - i was a bit disappointed with the features of the room. i mean, the hotel looked so stylish on the exterior and on all photos i've seen on the net.. but i was surprised with the room.. i mean, typical. Mindorrine Oriental in Galera has a better room than La Carmela! And considering this was in Boracay. Hard Bedding- cable tv - airconditioning unit - shower - a very small veranda at the back, but with no view except the wall of the next resort.

Service - staffs were ok, but not "That" hospitable. I was observing them all through out our stay they. they smile more often to foreigners than to Filipinos. slow -response to our request. we requested to borrow 2 cups for our coffee. the receptionist said "ok mam, i'll ask someone to bring it to your room"....hours passed and no one came..so we just opted on buying disposable cups at a nearby store. another request and this time for additional clothes hanger, again the receptionist said "ok mam, i'll ask someone to bring it to your room" it took 45mins for 3 pcs of hanger to be given to us...another request, the hot water from the shower is not working.. the receptionist said "ok mam i'll ask someone to fix it" , it was fixed after 30 mins from the call.

Facilities - No Lifts. With a wading pool for the kids (but it will not be enjoyed by the little ones, you know why? because it's located at the waiting area and the smoking area! Has a swimming pool, not that big, --who needs a pool anyway, hahaha you're at the beach for Pete's sake! Has a cafe, offers free breakfast.

Regulations - A stupid "no smoking rule on all guest rooms" (said it was a city ordinance). But NOT ALL GUEST ABIDES IT! We smelled cigar smoke in our room, then when I opened the door, I saw someone smoking! I really didn't see the point for imposing a rule that they cannot implement properly.

Safety features - we were looking for the fire exit (well in case of an emergency).. we can't find one!

Food - offers free set-breakfast- taste? it's ok if you're not too picky. they have a buffet breakfast at the cafe but i haven't had a chance to eat there hahaha...prices were so high..

Price - ok for a station 2 hotel. but if your on a budget. stay at some rooms for rent on station 3.

Will I stay here again? -- No. Will try other hotels/resorts.

Will I recommend this to you? -- Not really.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Carmela de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carmela de Boracay

Address: Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Carmela de Boracay 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Carmela de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carmela De Boracay Hotel Boracay
La Carmela De Hotel Boracay
Boracay La Carmela De

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carmela de Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.