We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Carmela de Boracay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Carmela de Boracay to your Saves list
La Carmela de Boracay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 139 Hotels in Boracay
Las Piñas, Cavite, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

When going to Boracay, my family always stay at this hotel.
When my sister got married, we opted La Carmela because the people are very accomodating, easy to deal with and very warm. (Kudos to Yong Amodia and Love!) They have function rooms and beach set up as well.
Booking online is easy.
Cheap rates.
Rooms, not that good (but you cannot expect a 5-star hotel type when paying low rates) and anyways, we didn't go to Boracay just to stay in a hotel.
Toilet and bath are tolerable.
Breakfast, well an ala-carte menu for 2 is inclusive but if you want to have a buffet breakfast you can just add Php 130.00 (i think).
To sum it up, La Carmela is on top of my list when looking for a hotel in Boracay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
La Carmela de Boracay Resort Hotel is an AA resort hotel, located in Station 2, Balabag, Boracay Island, Malay, Aklan, offering beachfront convenience to our guests. Our rates and business model make us popular among vacationers who travel in groups. Conde Nast one of the top travel magazine voted La Carmela de Boracay Resort Hotel as one of the top notch cheap hotels in Boracay Island a recognition that is consistent with our desire to provide quality service and of good hotel rooms at prices affordable to many price conscious travelers.
La Carmela De Boracay Resort Hotel appreciates very much the various reviews and messages in your travel advisory. The many posts and messages we believe is something that we have to live with being in a leisure and hospitality business where customer satisfaction is a must and a measure. Being subject to regular reviews we consider it as an indication that our business model gained acceptance among tourists going to Boracay Island.The management of La Carmela de Boracay Resort Hotel would like to thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. Looking forward of seeing you in your future Boracay Trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    180
    276
    115
    117
See reviews for
270
145
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was our first time to visit Boracay, so we were so excited and don't even know what are there for us. My brother in law booked this hotel for us, kinda happy too coz Boy Abunda is the endorser of this hotel.. I mean Boy Abunda is "some one"! To cut it short we are very disappointed after a long journey just to get into this hotel.. We don't really expect much because this is a 3 star hotel. The room is ok for but there's no basic toiletries.. There were 1 very small soap and very tiny plastic bottle w/ a half content of shampoo w/ conditioner (this is the indication of the bottle) Funny and Pathetic! Volt can't be use even though one of the staff came to our room to fix it! Breakfast is so disappointing! Borrowing of towel and umbrella is chargeable. To think that we have given P 2,000 for incidentals/deposit. Staff don't how to answer our questions.. So basic.. All about Boracay. We us to make up our room, we call the receptonist twice and waited for so long.. Wow!!!!!! But I guessed the management or even the owner of this hotel doesn't really care the feed back of their guest.
We will not gonna stay here again. People hear me and hear us right. Don't waste your money here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
La Carmela De Boracay Resort Hotel appreciates very much the various reviews and messages in your travel advisory. The many posts and messages we believe is something that we have to live with being in a leisure and hospitality business where customer satisfaction is a must and a measure. Being subject to regular reviews we consider it as an indication that our business model gained acceptance among tourists going to Boracay Island.

We always consider feedbacks from our guests like you to improve our services and develop a product that would be ahead of our peers in the tourism market/segment that we would like to serve. Much as we would like to provide good services and reasonably priced room rates, there are still areas in our operation that may we need to improve. We consider your travel advisory our valuable source for us to know what are the things in our operation that need adjustments and corrections. We are in an industry that prosper if we can meet the expectations of customers. Finally, we would like to apologize if we have not met your expectations during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Quite a large hotel than i expected. The check-in was smooth and the staffs in the frontdesk was helpful.Location wise its fine. Was happy that i was able to have a early check-in. The stay included a set breakfast which was ok. We have to inform the reception about getting the room cleaned every time we need. Speaking about the negative aspects, the shower in the bathroom was pathetic, didnt have hot water. The air conditioner was not working properly. On the whole the stay was comfortable, but shall lok for another hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We consider your travel advisory our valuable source for us to know what are the things in our operation that need adjustment and corrections. We are in an industry that proper if we can meet the expectations of customers. We would like to apologize if your expectations were not met when you stay with us. Any complaint of any defect we attend to it either by doing the immediate repair or to transfer the guest to a similar room or even a higher category of room. Rest assured that your concern has been raised up to the management. Thank you for staying with us. Godbless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

our 2nd time to stay here yes rooms aren't the best but I didn't come to boracay to stay in my room beds are comfortable n clean bathroom with good house keeping staff. pool is great especially for kids as they have very attentive life guards.Cold beer with exceptional service, good food for the price I don't think you can get better value going to stay again here in april may 2014 looking forward to seeing the friendly staff again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at La Carmela de Boracay, we really appreciate hearing about your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights (aug. 28-30, 2013). We were given 3 hotels to choose from, but since this is located in station 2, near the DMall i immediately pushed the booking for this hotel. We are a group of 31, a bit large for the small lobby (waiting area of the hotel). We arrived quite early.. considering it was lean season, they didn't allow us to have an early check-in; instead they just offered to keep our baggage at the baggage counter so we can proceed with our trip to Mt. Tapyas and Puka Beach.

Location - a few steps away from the beach. As in!

Rooms - i was a bit disappointed with the features of the room. i mean, the hotel looked so stylish on the exterior and on all photos i've seen on the net.. but i was surprised with the room.. i mean, typical. Mindorrine Oriental in Galera has a better room than La Carmela! And considering this was in Boracay. Hard Bedding- cable tv - airconditioning unit - shower - a very small veranda at the back, but with no view except the wall of the next resort.

Service - staffs were ok, but not "That" hospitable. I was observing them all through out our stay they. they smile more often to foreigners than to Filipinos. slow -response to our request. we requested to borrow 2 cups for our coffee. the receptionist said "ok mam, i'll ask someone to bring it to your room"....hours passed and no one came..so we just opted on buying disposable cups at a nearby store. another request and this time for additional clothes hanger, again the receptionist said "ok mam, i'll ask someone to bring it to your room" it took 45mins for 3 pcs of hanger to be given to us...another request, the hot water from the shower is not working.. the receptionist said "ok mam i'll ask someone to fix it" , it was fixed after 30 mins from the call.

Facilities - No Lifts. With a wading pool for the kids (but it will not be enjoyed by the little ones, you know why? because it's located at the waiting area and the smoking area! Has a swimming pool, not that big, --who needs a pool anyway, hahaha you're at the beach for Pete's sake! Has a cafe, offers free breakfast.

Regulations - A stupid "no smoking rule on all guest rooms" (said it was a city ordinance). But NOT ALL GUEST ABIDES IT! We smelled cigar smoke in our room, then when I opened the door, I saw someone smoking! I really didn't see the point for imposing a rule that they cannot implement properly.

Safety features - we were looking for the fire exit (well in case of an emergency).. we can't find one!

Food - offers free set-breakfast- taste? it's ok if you're not too picky. they have a buffet breakfast at the cafe but i haven't had a chance to eat there hahaha...prices were so high..

Price - ok for a station 2 hotel. but if your on a budget. stay at some rooms for rent on station 3.

Will I stay here again? -- No. Will try other hotels/resorts.

Will I recommend this to you? -- Not really.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagupan, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel was ok. It has 2 double beds. And the room was big enough. The bathroom was also big. It's a comfortable place to stay. But the design is not something to boast for on facebook. So I just took a picture outside the hotel. The staff were not that friendly. They only offer drinks to foreigners upon arrival. The housekeeping was not consistent in their answers. I requested for an extra pillow, their first answer was it's not possible to have an extra pillow. My husband called again and he was given an extra pillow with a charge of 30Php/pillow. It was not so clean. The furnitures are old. There's no view at the hotel balcony that we got.There's an unlimited drinking water supply at the hallway. The set breakfast is good, there's also an unllimited coffee and juice. The pool was ok. They have good fire dancers, it's located at the beachfront. All in all, it's good. I could stay there again the next time I'll go to boracay.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, visit agoda.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is just ok. The room is clean, staff is mostly friendly. The pool is nice.

Cheaper rooms are a long way away from the beach, though. They might was well be a different hotel that isn't on the beach, in fact, they are in separate buildings, which IMO, pretty much makes them a different hotel that isn't on the beach. You even check in at a different front desk.

Some other things I don't like. You can't EVER charge anything to your room, not even room service. Can't charge drinks at the pool to you room, so you have to carry cash to the pool area. "free" breakfast buffet (misleading because you have to pay p100 for the buffet") is just horrible. Raw scrambled eggs and hard "sunny side up" eggs. Cold pancakes, etc. ALL cheaper TWO PERSON rooms have two beds. Why does a couple need two beds? Stay someplace closer to station 2. This is NOT the best value on White Beach.

Room Tip: If you truly want a beach resort avoid their "budget" rooms. You're basically in a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#22 of 139 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn Resort
Turtle Inn Resort
#25 of 139 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boracay Travelodge Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boracay Regency Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Henann Garden Resort
Henann Garden Resort
#20 of 139 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Carmela de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carmela de Boracay

Address: Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 139 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Carmela de Boracay 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Carmela de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carmela De Boracay Hotel Boracay
La Carmela De Hotel Boracay
Boracay La Carmela De

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carmela de Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.