We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Carmela de Boracay

Save Saved
You added La Carmela de Boracay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Carmela de Boracay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 131 hotels in Boracay
central coast australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

our 2nd time to stay here yes rooms aren't the best but I didn't come to boracay to stay in my room beds are comfortable n clean bathroom with good house keeping staff. pool is great especially for kids as they have very attentive life guards.Cold beer with exceptional service, good food for the price I don't think you can get better value going to stay again here in april may 2014 looking forward to seeing the friendly staff again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ML A, Manager at La Carmela de Boracay, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at La Carmela de Boracay, we really appreciate hearing about your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    122
    172
    73
    71
See reviews for
190
85
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavite, Cavite City, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights (aug. 28-30, 2013). We were given 3 hotels to choose from, but since this is located in station 2, near the DMall i immediately pushed the booking for this hotel. We are a group of 31, a bit large for the small lobby (waiting area of the hotel). We arrived quite early.. considering it was lean season, they didn't allow us to have an early check-in; instead they just offered to keep our baggage at the baggage counter so we can proceed with our trip to Mt. Tapyas and Puka Beach.

Location - a few steps away from the beach. As in!

Rooms - i was a bit disappointed with the features of the room. i mean, the hotel looked so stylish on the exterior and on all photos i've seen on the net.. but i was surprised with the room.. i mean, typical. Mindorrine Oriental in Galera has a better room than La Carmela! And considering this was in Boracay. Hard Bedding- cable tv - airconditioning unit - shower - a very small veranda at the back, but with no view except the wall of the next resort.

Service - staffs were ok, but not "That" hospitable. I was observing them all through out our stay they. they smile more often to foreigners than to Filipinos. slow -response to our request. we requested to borrow 2 cups for our coffee. the receptionist said "ok mam, i'll ask someone to bring it to your room"....hours passed and no one came..so we just opted on buying disposable cups at a nearby store. another request and this time for additional clothes hanger, again the receptionist said "ok mam, i'll ask someone to bring it to your room" it took 45mins for 3 pcs of hanger to be given to us...another request, the hot water from the shower is not working.. the receptionist said "ok mam i'll ask someone to fix it" , it was fixed after 30 mins from the call.

Facilities - No Lifts. With a wading pool for the kids (but it will not be enjoyed by the little ones, you know why? because it's located at the waiting area and the smoking area! Has a swimming pool, not that big, --who needs a pool anyway, hahaha you're at the beach for Pete's sake! Has a cafe, offers free breakfast.

Regulations - A stupid "no smoking rule on all guest rooms" (said it was a city ordinance). But NOT ALL GUEST ABIDES IT! We smelled cigar smoke in our room, then when I opened the door, I saw someone smoking! I really didn't see the point for imposing a rule that they cannot implement properly.

Safety features - we were looking for the fire exit (well in case of an emergency).. we can't find one!

Food - offers free set-breakfast- taste? it's ok if you're not too picky. they have a buffet breakfast at the cafe but i haven't had a chance to eat there hahaha...prices were so high..

Price - ok for a station 2 hotel. but if your on a budget. stay at some rooms for rent on station 3.

Will I stay here again? -- No. Will try other hotels/resorts.

Will I recommend this to you? -- Not really.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagupan, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel was ok. It has 2 double beds. And the room was big enough. The bathroom was also big. It's a comfortable place to stay. But the design is not something to boast for on facebook. So I just took a picture outside the hotel. The staff were not that friendly. They only offer drinks to foreigners upon arrival. The housekeeping was not consistent in their answers. I requested for an extra pillow, their first answer was it's not possible to have an extra pillow. My husband called again and he was given an extra pillow with a charge of 30Php/pillow. It was not so clean. The furnitures are old. There's no view at the hotel balcony that we got.There's an unlimited drinking water supply at the hallway. The set breakfast is good, there's also an unllimited coffee and juice. The pool was ok. They have good fire dancers, it's located at the beachfront. All in all, it's good. I could stay there again the next time I'll go to boracay.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, visit agoda.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is just ok. The room is clean, staff is mostly friendly. The pool is nice.

Cheaper rooms are a long way away from the beach, though. They might was well be a different hotel that isn't on the beach, in fact, they are in separate buildings, which IMO, pretty much makes them a different hotel that isn't on the beach. You even check in at a different front desk.

Some other things I don't like. You can't EVER charge anything to your room, not even room service. Can't charge drinks at the pool to you room, so you have to carry cash to the pool area. "free" breakfast buffet (misleading because you have to pay p100 for the buffet") is just horrible. Raw scrambled eggs and hard "sunny side up" eggs. Cold pancakes, etc. ALL cheaper TWO PERSON rooms have two beds. Why does a couple need two beds? Stay someplace closer to station 2. This is NOT the best value on White Beach.

Room Tip: If you truly want a beach resort avoid their "budget" rooms. You're basically in a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The room is just average, we've got the semi deluxe room and I would say, pictures are deceiving. Well, the room that we've got is in the Attic area. I think not bad for the amount that that we paid for.

The hotel itself is just enough for people looking for much cheaper or affordable hotel near beach front of station 2. The hotel itself is clean and smell good. People are also accomodating and nice. We stayed there from Sep 29-Oct 2, it's not peak season yet so we dont have much hassle in our stay. Also, they allowed us to have early check in since we arrived there so early. Good thing 1 room that we booked is free so we can leave our things there, though we are still waiting for 2 more rooms.

The room itself in the attic is just so so. I didnt expect much coz I know we just book average hotel. Enough for us to sleep and to leave things during our beach activities. The restroom has some molds and always wet since the division between shower and the bowl is just a half open glass. So everytime you took a shower, the floor is wet.

When we arrived, they offered us a free drinks and they even help us to bring our things in our room.

For breakfast, the our package just include the set meal and not bad, but of course eating similar breakfast everyday makes you sick. Though for me, its acceptable, again, I really set my low expectation.

Internet wise, no free wifi there, you have to pay for it. Connection is also weak, coz my other friend bought the 1 hr for 100 pesos. And I'll bet she had used it for just a short time coz connection is prett bad.

Their swimming pool is small only and crowded most of the time.

Well, for overall, if you are looking for an afforadable hotel in station2, try this, but if you are looking for the best one, try others:)

Room Tip: Get a room in the attic its much quiet there, but the problem is sometimes their elevator is not wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

if you're looking for a budget hotel stay, consider this hotel. we stayed at attic style room, big enough for 2.

when you stay here, you get what you pay for.

hotel is away from bars and happenings. when you get outside, you'll be pestered by vendors. begging for your attention even you're in the middle of relaxation! boracay should address this thing by creating a one stop shop/place for tourists who like to book their tour packages and activities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

we stayed at la carmela last year with my officemates. we booked our 2 rooms more than a month in advance for 8 pax via agoda. Part of the agoda package was that breakfasts were included for all 8 pax for 2 days since there will be 4 pax per room. i emailed the agoda confirmation to la carmela and even spoke to them on the phone to reiterate the arrangements and bus transfers. when we got to the hotel, there was a long line at the front desk, and almost no waiting area. that was already a turn off as they didnt have the comfort of their guests in mind considering that these guests just arrived from more than 2 hours of bus trip from kalibo. when we checked in, they gave us a total of 8 breakfast stubs for the 2 days stay. when my officemate showed them the agoda confirmation form that a total of 8 stubs per day should be given, they refused and said that agoda made a mistake, that it should only be 2 breakfasts per room/ day. when i pointed out to them that i talked to somebody from la carmela to confirm everything including the bus transfer, that staff did not mention anything about the mistake on the breakfast arrangements. The front desk personnel then told me to come back later as she will call agoda to verify. after a couple of hours, i called the said staff and was advised that they will only give 8 stubs and not 16. She just insisted that it was agoda's mistake and if i would like to verify, then i will have to call agoda myself in singapore! i demanded to talk to the manager on duty and even went down to the front desk to talk to her personally. the manager on duty refused to come out of her office and instructed the front desk to tell me that she was making her rounds (this i overheard over their radio). i totally refused to budge and was ready to stay at their pathetic front desk until she comes out. after more than 10 minutes, another staff came to the front desk and frowning, handed me the 8 additional breakfast stubs which actually made me feel like i was begging for alms. as for the hotel accommodations, the rooms were basically clean, but nothing spectacular. the view from our room was just a firewall and a construction at the next lot. the food was so so, canteen or andok's food could have been much better and cheaper. pool at the front was already green, not blue. overall, i am NOT staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Carmela de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carmela de Boracay

Also Known As:
La Carmela De Boracay Hotel
La Carmela De Boracay Hotel Boracay
La Carmela De Hotel Boracay
Boracay La Carmela De
Address: Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Carmela de Boracay 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your La Carmela de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carmela de Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.