We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concrete Jungle” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Carmela de Boracay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Carmela de Boracay to your Saves list
La Carmela de Boracay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Concrete Jungle”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The location of the hotel is convenient because it's at the beach front and there are also groceries nearby so getting the rest of your much needed supplies isn't a problem. However, I have to say that the moment we got to the reception area of the hotel, I already got the feeling that our stay would not be pleasant at all. The whole complex felt so claustrophobic, with concrete walls all around. Seems like the developer crammed in as much hotel rooms as they could in such a limited space! They didn't bother allocating more space for landscape or flora to provide a relaxed atmosphere to their guests. Ventilation in the hallways were poor (maybe due to the way they crammed in so much walls and rooms), it was so hot.

While checking in, we were immediately presented by the receptionist all the DON'Ts (and only the DON'Ts). I mean, talk about welcoming guests this way! Then the room we were given really (and I mean really!) smelled old. Although it was clean, they could have made the room smell fresher. The water out the shower and the tap is so difficult to control, you either get cold out of the freezer or scorching hot, nothing in between. The room had cable TV, electronic locker, cabinets, towels and an empty mini fridge (yep, you heard me right, EMPTY). Provisions only included soap and bathroom tissue. The bathroom didn't have a doormat. For the internet, you have to pay for the wifi connection separately (aw come on! I have stayed in much cheaper hotels with free wifi access!).

Accomodations already include buffet breakfast. But the food weren't delicious. My kids love fried rice and scrambled eggs in the morning but in the hotel, maybe the food was really not that good, they refused to finish their food. Even if you were staying in their higher end rooms, you'll be getting the same breakfast fare. My bosses (who were also there and were staying in the best room they had) also didn't like the food and just gave away their breakfast stubs. Even their paid meals weren't good. They were quite expensive for such taste and small portions.

Overall, our stay here was unpleasant (and at times, stressfull). People might say that this is what we get for staying in a budget hotel. But even if you stayed in one of their best rooms, you'll still experience the same congested corridors. As I mentioned, I have already stayed in much cheaper hotels than this one, but with far better experience, so I don't think being a budget hotel justifies what we experienced here. Maybe the biggest factor was the ambience - too much concrete!

Room Tip: There are better cheap accomodations out there than this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    162
    249
    105
    105
See reviews for
236
135
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you are on a budget and you came to Boracay mainly for the beach, then this hotel is for you. They have lots of room available but of course it is better to book prior to your trip. It is a few steps from the beachfront, so it is very convenient. They have a cute welcome garden with a mini pool for kids. Once you arrive, they offer drinks to cool you. The room size is just enough. There are actually four of us in a room. The beds are big enough to move around even if you sleep beside your friend or partner. We had a great time at the beach-I mean, it is what we came here for! =)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasay
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

First, let me define what budget accomodation means. It is a cheap to average cost of accommodation. If you want a figure, it costs us P2200 through an online travel agency to book here. Rate includes breakfast. Now the review. The resort has the perfect location. Literally a few steps away from the beach. It could be considered almost at the center of white beach if you ask me. The location is perfect since it would just take you a few minutes to get to restaurants, shops and even the main road. I could say that the people who stay here are on a budget so I really would not consider that these guests will be looking for five-star type of establishment or fine dining type of restaurants, so restaurants that offer food ranging from P150-1000 that are close is an advantage. Rooms are also quite acceptable. Clean, spacious enough to move on, ordinary amenities are provided and airconditioner works. Breakfast is also fine, nothing special, but filling. I am not affected by the number of guests at that time. It is crowded, but being a budget hotel,, that is really expected. As i've said, the hotel is a budget hotel. Anyone who expects to get more should pay more and stay in the triple A resorts in Station 1 and 3.

Room Tip: Get a room at the main building. It is closer to the pool and breakfast area. Newer rooms at the pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is close to statioN 3, we stayeD at execuTive wing for 5 days 4 niGHts with friends... SoMe of my friends roOM Are betTer - they have bAlcoNy... My roOM was near the elevator - toO nOisy due to kids screaming... SheEt is clean nOt useD... stafF always smilLing.. at niGHt there is always an aCtivity ouTsidE the hotel... FoOd is alriGHt...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

UPSIDE:
The price is very cheap, in fact one of the cheapest you can find for a beach-fronting resort in Boracay. The hotel staff are also attentive and are able to deliver quick service (although you can see that they are actually overworked, they still exert effort to let out their smile and courtesy).

DOWNSIDE:
Good Price and Good Service by the overworked staff, aside, there are no other reasons why you would like to stay in this hotel. First off, the management of the hotel seemed so fixated to making money that he is pouring concrete out of every available space in his property to build more rooms, a large convention hall and other income-generating spaces. The result, the rooms are so crammed up and small and all you can see when you go out of your room balconies are concrete walls of the other buildings. You will even find it hard to catch a breath of fresh air in your balcony or in other limited open areas of the hotel since every wind direction is virtually blocked by construction overload. It really speaks of bad planning for a resort. The swimming pools (one for the kids and the other for adults) are so small and crammed up you'd rather not dip into it. The daily breakfast is also bad that you better shell out some money to have your meals done outside (imagine, everytime I order for a sunny side up, there is just the sunny side and the egg white is consistently lapped off). The hotel restaurant, lobby and other common areas are also crammed with people giving you a feeling that you are more in a marketplace than in a relaxing hotel.

We booked for a quadruple accommodation yet, the room would barely fit a comfortable space for a couple. There is this locked door that is supposed to be connected to the adjoining room (in case you want to occupy both rooms) yet, the noise coming from the other room is so audible that you can almost hear the conversation of the other rooms's occupants. The other room's occupants would party in the beach till the wee hours of the morning that, every dawn, we will be awaken by their noise once they get inside their room. The hotel also provides toiletries good for one pax only (although, as earlier said, we booked for 4 pax) as the receptionist will always reason out that we can request for replenishment any time. There was also no wi-fi in the room and you have to go to the restaurant or lobby area to be able to be connected. In short, since there are so many people in the hotel, maybe because the rates are so cheap, the place is chaotic. I have been going to Boracay every summer for the past 9 years and this is my first time to stay in the Station 2 or 3 area and regretted it.

Room Tip: Please fork out some extra money and stay away from this hotel. Better yet, book for a resort hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked a standard room but we were informed that our room was upgraded to an executive wing with no extra charge. the room was quite large but has no windows and ac was not working well. after complaining, they changed the ac but still it didnt work, probably, the room was quite large for a 1/4hp air conditioner. there was a door leading to the veranda daw but to our disappointment, it was a laundry area of the hotel. Nonetheless, the staff were all so polite and kind and there were several hands always ready to give you a lift. In general, the accommodation is just average at an affordable rate. But dont expect too much from this hotel to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked two suites in the executive wing for our group. Dis-appointment happened the day we checked in. One room given to us had no window and ac didn't work well. We were moved to another room after we refused to stay in the windowless room. One shower stall can't be use due to flooding around toilet area when used. Meaning, if you want to keep your feet dry while sitting on the throne then do not by all means use the shower in the stall. There was also an incident one morning that a family member was brushing in the sink when all of a sudden , murky and sewer smelled water was coming out of the faucet. We complained and staff said that generator was not working well due to constant brown outs at the time. Breakfast buffet was ok but crowded. Staffs tried to accommodate the best they can.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Carmela de Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carmela de Boracay

Address: Station 2, Balabag Boracay Island | Malay Aklan, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Carmela de Boracay 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Carmela de Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Carmela De Boracay Hotel Boracay
La Carmela De Hotel Boracay
Boracay La Carmela De

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carmela de Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.