We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well located but no credit card machine a drawback and disorganized” 3 of 5 stars
Review of True Home Hotel, Boracay

Save Saved
You added True Home Hotel, Boracay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
True Home Hotel, Boracay
Balabag, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 174 Boracay B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Clean, well located but no credit card machine a drawback and disorganized”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went as a group. Lack of credit card facilities a big drawback, especially when they ask you to pay the full balance on arrival , which was an issue as we had booked 3 rooms and were arriving at different times and the total balance outstanding was US$1300 - required in cash. Also had to pay half the amount up front in December, 2 months before traveling - a credit card facility to take a deposit much better.

Seemed very disorganized and confused.
We booked transfer for 2 people, confirmed it twice, and yet when arrived they were expecting 6 people.

We booked additional beds for 1 night, they tried to charge for 4 nights

Also quite noisy in the mornings, the reception staff were very loud, starting at 7am, as well as possibly having the loudest phone in Boracay.

I was asked to pay my friends mini bar bill on departure, because they hadn't paid when they were leaving a few days before. Not really my problem, but in good faith paid it anyway following the sob story about the money being deducted from their salaries - easily solved if credit card facilities available. Later discovered one of my friends had already paid their bill when they were checking out, so we were double charged for one of the rooms mini bar bill.

Breakfast wasn't great, and usually was barely warm when it was delivered. Better off going to Jony's beach hut 2 mins walk away.

The main blind in my room was broken which meant that I couldn't close the blinds fully for the first 2 nights, so woke up at sunrise each of those mornings. Informed them on days 1 and 2, was eventually fixed on day 3 of 5.

Arrived home from a night out to discover no security at reception and our room keys left on the table for anyone to walk in and access the room.

Location is right on the beach, and some decent restaurants nearby. Some nightclubs also nearby a little noisy until very late, but no big deal as we were out pretty late most nights anyway.. Generally a good quiet location on the beach. and with their own beds to lie on the beach metres from the sea.
5 minute walk to the water sports organisers.
Beach towels provided is a nice touch.

Given they had a big premium on their prices for CNY week, overall too many things wrong to be considered good value.

Room Tip: Superior rooms window is limited, so can be quite dark Junior Suite and Presidential suite are sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
24
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Location is perfect, right in front of the beach in Station 1,just a few steps away from Willy's Rock. We stayed here from January 21-24 (I actually just got home a few hours ago from Boracay when I wrote this review) We got the deluxe beachfront room on our first night then stayed on their Junior Suite with private veranda on our 2nd and 3rd night and both rooms are very homey. All the staffs are very accommodating specially ms. che and mr roy on the frontdesk. We were surprised when we transferred to the Junior Suite room because they gave us a basket of fruits and packs of Hershey's kisses as gift for our anniversary :) We went there as a couple. The junior suite is very spacious with 2 beach beds on the veranda, and dining table where we can enjoy our breakfast with a very good view of the beach and willy's rock. we also have a hammock on our veranda. I agree that they should put up their own restaurant so guests could just order beer or cocktails and enjoy their glasses while they are on the verandas. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely choose True Home again on our next visit. :)

Room Tip: rooms 3 and 4- deluxe beachfront room 8 - Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a rather late review -- We stayed here in August 2012, but I just wanted to commend the staff of True Home for making this hotel a wonderful little place to stay at in Boracay! The staff is always super polite and helpful. And they always cater to your requests with a smile. The rooms are also really spacious, and the furniture is patterned after the Spanish colonial time. I really liked the Spanish styled tiles on the floor. Our room was immaculate and they served a heavy breakfast with rice, your choice of breakfast meat(Ham, tocino, tapa, etc), eggs, mangoes and a juice and coffee. At Php2900 a night, this beach front hotel is worth every penny! :) I would recommend it especially to couples. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

There are too many (positive) things to share about this place. Let me begin with their very accommodating reception officers Che and Roy. They were very helpful with us prior and during our stay there. They respond to our queries quickly and were very patient to our demands. The service of the general staff of the hotel is commendable.

The location is superb! It is perfectly located in Station 1 - beachfront! The night clubs and bars are just few steps away but no worries about the evening to dawn music and noise cos its barely heard (or none at all). Our group stayed in the presidential suite and beachfront rooms. There were actual moments when we don't wanna go out of the room anymore! The presidential suite is outstanding and so are their beachfront rooms. Breakfast is sumptuous and you even have the option to have it served on your room or have it served on a table set-up on their beach front veranda.

Though there are few things to improve on like their airconditioning system, everything else is stellar! If you plan to book in 4-5 star hotels nearby, you might want to consider True Home's presidential suite (for relatively the same price and royalty treatment). Should I recommend this to others? Definitely! Will I stay here again on my next Boracay trip? Yes!

True Home Boracay is True Home Indeed.

Room Tip: No doubt, take the presidential suite or the junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This will now my favorite place to stay when in Boracay.

They offer a Jr Suite that has a terrace facing the beautiful beach of Boracay. Located at station 1 where the sand is perfect.

Only thing i might ask from this place is to have their own restaurant. Everything else is perfect.

If you plan to visit Boracay, stay at this hotel.

Love it! Will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This small cozy hotel is located at the Station 1. Its easy to find it since the reception of the hotel is facing the main street and the other end is facing the beautiful white beach so near the famous Willy’s rock/ Grotto. Everything about this hotel is fantastic. Staff are helpful and accommodating. Breakfast is great and served either in your room or at the porch facing the beach ! Its comparative to 5 star hotel ala carte breakfast.

We occupied a standard room facing a small alley leading to the beach . Anybody could pass here, its a public right of way, so that means you can hear some people passing by. The room is stylish with complete amenities, ref. included and a safety deposit box….it is again comparative to 5 star hotel standard rooms…except for the alley part.

Wifi is not so strong and fone signal is low in our room. Im not sure with the other rooms on the 2nd floor. Signal is ok at the porch or outside our room.

The beachfront is lovely especially during early morning. You could just sit at the hotel’s porch and watch the scenery. At night time during high tide (around 10pm) the beach “disappears”. Its best to pass at the main street during high tide to get back to the hotel if you don’t want to get wet.

I like this place and we will surely go back . Hotel rate is not cheap not expensive either. But for Station 1 accommodation , this is a good bet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The last time we were at Boracay, we stayed at the Discovery Shores, so we knew that most places we stay at next Boracay trip would pale in comparison. True Home, though, instead of competing with the affluent comfort of the likes of Discovery, made a great impression by being quaintly comforting with comparable service.

Surely, the rooms weren't as refined as the other hotel, but it was clean, didn't look too worn down and had a rustic charm to it. The bathroom locks need mending,and the doors need oiling, but it was still pleasing to the eye, all in all.

The service was excellent. Very accommodating and more importantly, professional. They knew that the room assigned to us had an airconditioning unit not working so they let us stay at the presidential suite for the night (highly recommended room, by the way). This caring is particularly nice since it didn't matter that we got the room at a dirt cheap price through a deal site (other establishments treat you like a second class customer if you purchase through a deal site).

Food is very good and, again, surprisingly classy wth fruits, oatmeal, herbal tea & juice added to your basic meal.

Check-out wasn't even 5 mins, showing off the efficiency of their operation.

Definitely a recommend!

Room Tip: Definitely try the presidential suite. It has everything from a very big dining room, spacious livin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to True Home Hotel, Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about True Home Hotel, Boracay

Address: Balabag, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right along soft white sand and the crystal clear ocean, this Boracay resort offers charming accommodation perfectly located on the famous ‘White Beach’. With stunning views of the sea and sunsets, you are just a stroll along the beach away from a fantastic choice of shops, bars and restaurants. This Boracay hotel includes 9 rooms, suites and apartments - each tastefully decorated with antique Filipino furniture or modern accents, all designed to ensure you can feel right ‘at home’. TRUE HOME offers cheap accommodation, super value for your money, excellent service and unbeatable location- your best bet on Boracay hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your True Home Hotel, Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
True Home Hotel, Boracay Hotel Boracay
True Home Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True Home Hotel, Boracay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.