We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely overrated don't believe the hype !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boracay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Boracay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Boracay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   380 White Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hugely overrated don't believe the hype !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and i booked to come here for our two week belated honeymoon this February 2013.

Firstly this is not what i would class a resort. As a resort gives you the impression that your hotels part of the beach is sectioned off and private. This is not the case. If you enjoy being gawped at by the millions of Chinese and Taiwanese tourists walking past your sunbed, this is the place for you!

The accommodation is very presentable and clean. We were originally booked to stay in the nipa huts within the resort, these looked a bit run down and old. Luckily we were upgraded to one of the hotel rooms on the outside of the resort. This was a bit like having your own apartment near the beach which was good. However the view opposite your balcony was pretty grim with rubbish and junk strewn everywhere and exposed cables and fuse boxes running along the top of next doors fence!

On our second week there was a boat regatta and our entrance into our apartment was crowded up with people using a rowing machine and bundles of regatta paraphernalia cramped into the small space that was under our staircase up to our room. I know i may sound like i am moaning but £825 for two weeks, with transfers not included i think that is an awful lot of money for such a basic place! Plus the added surprise at the end of our trip that the transfers were not included even though i had email confirmation that they were!

Now the cafe del mar bar which is where you have your breakfast, was the only venue on the whole island covered with ants and fly s hovering near your food, and it also had the most expensive drinks on the island too. I would recommend not to bother with the breakfast as its not great, and if you are a guest with the complimentary breakfast included, you get seen to after the paying customers! One day we waited 45 minutes, we did not bother going again after that!

The resort is the rowdy end of station 1 pretty much in the thick of station two, which is quite frankly like waterloo train station in rush hour on a beach! AKA PACKED AND OVERCROWEDED!

I think we envisioned Boracay as a lot less crowded and unspoiled. This is unfortunately not the case. However station 1 proper and station 3 are far more tranquil. Diniwid beach is lovely and quiet.

I saw lots of accommodation on here for less money because they did not have a beach front position. Do not get fooled like we did by paying the extra £300-400 pound extra for the beach front location. All the restaurants and bars have sun loungers you can use for the cost of a few drinks and none of the beach is privately sectioned off . I would also recommend getting a hotel with a pool too as the water in the sea was full of light green algae. This does not bother me but my husband really didn't like it.

Boracay as a whole has been sadly ruined by tourism.It is overcrowded and expensive and difficult to get around to any other islands or areas at a reasonable price, like you can in Thailand or vietnam.

The Phillipines as a whole is not quite geared up to the standard European travelers are used to. I loved the fact that it was a bit gritty and raw. This is not to everybody's taste. I would not go back as it is so far(23 hour flight and transfers) to travel and there are better more accessible areas closer to home .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    66
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
56
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This turned out to be the absolutely best choice for us. A perfect mix of quiet and relaxing day time at the beach, and good cozy atmosphere late afternoon and evenings. Plenty of life around the hotel with restaurants and beach front bars popping up in the late afternoon. Noise level absolutely acceptable, at around 22.30 music is turned down, and at 23.30 all is quiet.
Red Coconut Bar is located about 100 meters away, and the noise level from that point and onwards in direction station 3 was considerably higher.

We stayed in 2 Ocean View Suites (3 + 4) for 6 nights in March 2013.
The suites includes a sitting room with sofa, 2 chairs and coffee table. Flatscreen TV plus a DVD player and a wide choice of TV channels (incl. HBO) will give you something to do on a rainy day. There is a refrigerator is of a decent size, as well as safe deposit box in the room. Bathroom is large, the choice of toiletries limited, but hey we usually bring our own. In the back a large bedroom with King size bed. The sitting room is facing the beach, which was only 25 meters away. The bedroom which is facing the garden was absolutely quiet, even at 20.00 hours.

The hotel has a small private part of the beach, with sunbeds reserved for hotel guests. It works! What a relief to come to the beach at 10.00 and find vacant sunbeds.

The "restaurant" / bar where breakfast is served is operated by a separate company. Breakfast is a la carte, a choice of a few plates ranging from Continental, to American and of course a Boracay version. The portions are small, and I mean really small. A second cup of coffee is charged as extra, and you get to pay it. You only get what you pay for, in this case I think the hotel should pay a bit more to the company serving the breakfast!!!

The staff in reception was extremely kind and polite, and our rooms were cleaned to perfection every day. Nice touch with the flowers on the bed and in the bathroom.

Sometimes it is nice to stay in a 5-star hotel, and sometimes less will do. At this very hotel we found that less is actually more, and we would be happy to go back to the same place should we ever decide to go to Boracay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Its my first time to visit Philippines, and people recommed me to visit Boracay Beach, only I can say it was a great place to visit with. The beach is awesome with the white sand attraction. It makes me more comfortable, I love the foods and hangouts/bar/restaurants/rooms. But I was dissapointed in the services they had, its very lausy !! ..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Arrival to Boracay via Kalibo was somewhat strenuous. The bus from Kalibo to the Caticlan ferry terminal takes approx. 1,5 hours and getting from Kalibo to our hotel was in total a 2,5 hour journey. Check-in procedures went smoothly and we received a warm welcome. We had a garden room on the first floor with a nice balcony. The room is fairly spacious with a small couch and coffee table area. The bathroom is surprisingly large - the size of a bedroom. The room has basic amenities including a fridge and water boiler for making coffee. The hotel is very centrally located right between Station 1 and 2 with a short walk to all the restaurants and bars in the area.

The staff are very helpful and cheerful. They really made us feel welcome and provided tips and help efficiently throughout our stay. We booked a full day boating and snorkeling trip through the hotel. Can recommend the guide "Fernando" who works for the hotel. The only negative comments concern the water pressure which was quite low when showering. There was also lots of mosquitos in the garden area - especially during the night - which made hanging out on the balcony somewhat itchy. Would recommend brining mosquito repellent or the hotel providing mosquito repellent incense for the balconies.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Like the other reviews say the location is great. It is right in the center of the beach close to D'Mall. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. The rooms were nice and clean. It's not a chain style hotel and the room really felt like an apartment. Our room had a balcony (great for drying swimsuits and towels after a day at the beach). The beach is right out the front door which is really great.

The only issues we had was our key broke in the door and our DVD player didn't work (we wanted to look at pictures from Helmet Diving). The staff fixed the problems very quickly and were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Boracay Beach Resort is centrally located on the edge of Station 2 metres away from beautiful,clean white sanded beach with clean green coloured sea.
The rooms are either the smaller garden bungalow or the larger building rooms with all the facilities in small tropical gardens.Even though the rooms are clean and modern the wooden floors could do with varnish recoating and possibly new beds to replace the creaky older ones.
Great breakfast setting with views of the beach,choice of various styles of breakfast,plus a nice bar and friendly staff for an evening sunset drink.Reception staff friendless enough too.
Short stroll to D'Mall which is full of restaurants,cafes and designer shops.a little further behind are the local shops which are cheaper than the more expensive D'Mall and seafront restaurants and shops.
Central Boracay far busier than I anticipated with large groups of Koreans,Taiwanese and Chinese but all in all a most pleasant and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is at a very good spot of the main beach. All restaurants and amenities are very accessible from here. The rooms are modern and are recently refurbished, and the staff on the front desk are very friendly. This hotel is very pleasant and I will be back sometime!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boracay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Beach Resort

Address: 380 White Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boracay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Boracay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boracay Beach Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boracay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.