We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and enjoy Boracay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artista Beach Villas

Save Saved
You added Artista Beach Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Artista Beach Villas
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Artista Beach, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and enjoy Boracay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at Artista Beach Villas the first week in October 2011. It was awesome. We checked the reviews here on tripadvisor first and decided on Artista because it was at Diniwid beach which is quieter, more secluded than White Beach which is what we were looking for.

Firstly the room we had was great - such a good view + a great balcony. The views were breathtaking - you are so close to the ocean you can hear the waves crashing on the shore.

The staff are incredible - it has such a relaxed atmosphere - nothing like a hotel or resort, as a few o the other reviews say, more like a family house. The food was good - the rooftop cafe (whatever you want to call it) has a spectacular outlook and you can eat all day for next to nothing. I thought they had made a mistake when we got the bill for all of our meals when checking out - soooooo cheap! Even the drinks etc that they leave in your fridge aren't at an inflated price like some hotels/resorts.

In terms of places to eat at Diniwid, there are only a couple of other restaurants you can go if you don't want to make the trek to White Beach so if u are staying for longer than a few night u will have to go around to White Beach to eat out. The walk to White Beach takes 10 - 25 mins depending upon which station you go to but its really scenic and enjoyable. A try cycle ride back should cost between 100 - 150 pesos and take about 5 - 10 mins. Best to walk around as the sun is setting – have a few drinks somewhere before you eat.

If you like less crowded beaches make sure you also spend a day a Puka beach. Its about a 10 min try cycle ride from Diniwid and faces on the Nth side of the island but there is nobody there! Its like having your own private tropical beach. Very secluded and pristine.

Boracay is a great place and Artista is a fantastic place to stay. We will definitely be going back one day. Hopefully sooner rather than later.

If you are planning to travel to Boracay - its best to wait till late October onwards for the better weather! September and early October still get a fair bit of rain and quite windy with onshore winds.

Room Tip: Ask for room # 7 if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    47
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
108
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed there for one week and it was one of the best accommodation on Boracay Island. The Staff is so helpfull and friendly. The feeling is like being in a family house. The rooms are very very nice and made with love. The Hotel is located at the lovely Diniwid Beach and away from the busy White Beach. Good place to relax and being with local people. The owner of the Hotel is a swiss guy. The price is it worth what you get, not like the too expensive tourist spot white beach. Enjoy the wonderful fresh squeezed juices at the Bar on the roof top!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We had a great time at Artista!
We stayed there for 10 days and loved every minute of not being on the crowded white beach.

The staff is super friendly, the rooms are nicely designed and very clean.
They clean your room and make your bed every day (not so obvious in other places in the Philippines).
The breakfast is very good.
There is also great WIFI signal, in the rooms, the bar and even on the beach!
Attention to all smokers, it is forbidden to smoke on the beach front on white beach!!
there is a 500 peso penalty, but on Diniwid beach where Artista is located this law does not apply.
The distance to white beach is about 10 minutes walk on a lovely path that is curved in the cliff. when it's dark you can take a tricycle to take you through the road.

We had a great time, if i would come back to Boracay i would definitely come back to Artista.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at Artista for a week this week and were very pleased with our choice. The hotel is situated far enough away from the crowds of White beach but close enough to get there walking or via 10 minute tricycle ride. Rooms are clean and very charming with lovely beach views.

We were there during a particularly busy October week so were happy to lounge at our own private beach away from the crowds. We would head to White beach at night for the food and explore the islands or stay at Diniwid beach by day.

Breakfast was delicious and cooked fresh upon order and all the staff at Artista were so hospitable and lovely.

Next time we come to Boracay we will definitely stay at Artista. We were happy that we avoided the hotels along White beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is a beautiful gem in what is a beautiful island. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts were amazing and everything made fresh for u. With an amazing view.
The location is great tucked away in your own corner of the island. It is a quiet location but there are hotels like the Nami and West Cove next door which offer amazing views and food so your not totally cut off. I would def visit the fish restaurant next door called big mammas i think, they do amazing fresh prawns.

The hotel is about 15mins walk along the beach to where the mall is, which is a small area of shops bars and food places. I personally prefered being away from it all as the busy area can be a bit crowded and in my opinion is not as nice. Plus the walk is romantic. I would advise getting a tuk tuk back at night though only about 60 pesos and much safer.

The hotel room has got everything u need we were in the quattro room which had beautifu views. Room was cleaned daily and very clean. The only reason why I didnt give 5 is because I am a coffee lover and would like to have been able to make coffee in the room at night. There is a fridge but even in hot temps I need a coffee and there is nowhere to get one. I would also have a liked a hairdryer but other than that the place is faultless. I would guarantee you will not be dissapointed. If u can get the hotel to book a helicopter tour worth the money.
Thank u to all of the staff and I hope one day I get to return. I will attach pictures soon.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We spend four days vacations my girlfriend and myself.......It was a very good stay at Artista.
Instead of the others "frontbeach hotels" of the main Boracay beach without charm and noisy, Artista offers a quiet place with a smaller beach but very peacefull...:)
The staff is very discret and friendly. I recommend to take the breakfast, it is very good and the little terrace is a lovely place above your beach....:)
After 10 minutes walking through the rocks separating the main Boracay beach, you reach all the beach activities....or you can ride a " tricycle"...
The transfert from the airport is very efficient, fortunatly, because it's not so easy to reach the hotel if you're not filipino...:)
Have a good stay...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

For Boracay, this hotel is fantastic. Nice rooms, beautiful location and its quiet. You can walk or motor in the party area of Boracay if you want and come back to the tranquility of Diviwind Beach. The staff are really excellent and they make a great breakfast for you (available all day). I will always stay here when I go to Boracay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artista Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artista Beach Villas

Address: Artista Beach, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artista Beach Villas 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach of Boracay, Artista is a family owned and operated beachfront boutique hotel with only 7 rooms and 2 studios. All rooms have sea view and are artistically designed in Mediterranean style. State of art comfort: king-size beds, ensuite bathrooms with hot water and rain showers, air-conditioning, cable TV, wireless broadband internet, minibar. Artista cafe' on the roof deck for Swiss and American Breakfast, light snacks and sunset drinks with a beautiful ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Artista Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artista Beach Villas Hotel Boracay
Artista Beach Hotel
Artista Beach Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artista Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.