We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horribly overpriced and noisy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of One Crescent Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added One Crescent Place to your Saves list
One Crescent Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Horribly overpriced and noisy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

First of all, my partner and I have stayed in everything from luxury beach front resorts and small, cheap backpacker rooms, and almost always been more than happy with our accommodations around Southeast Asia - if the price equals the quality and service.

THIS hotel is so extremely overpriced for what you get. Let me explain:

We paid 140 USD per night! Yes it was peak season, we know - BUT when you pay this much you expect alot and when everything is so badly managed, a bad review is the only solution.
This was the most we've ever paid for a hotel - even for beach front luxury in Thailand and Vietnam. And what do you get for all this money?

- A small, small room with a nice balcony - but no furniture, so pretty much useless.

- A leaking toilet drain, that overswam our bathroom everyday - and did not get fixed even though we asked for it.

- A mediocre at best breakfast

- When booking the office in Manila tried to rob us of 75 USD because of an exchange rate they couldn't really explain.

- We had the newly renovated top-floor rooms and apparently even the slightest noise from the staircase will enter your room and wake you up and trust me with the many all night-party-people coming home in the wee hours, they will make a lot of noise. We had a couple of sleepless nights.

- We knew the hotel was not beach front which is fine, it's a short walk, but again the PRICE, does not apply to a hotel 3 blocks from the beach.

- The staff is friendly in a "we have been trained to smile"-kinda way. But the service was so lacking. We asked for someone to pick us up and take us to the ferry. That was not arranged and the girl working in the morning had no idea. And did not take any actions to try and help.

- The same girl we kindly asked to see if she could arrange a trip to Carabao Island to get away from terribly crowed Boracay. After an hour she came back with an offer of 6000 pesos (140 USD) for a 5 hours trip including lunch. I told her that this was way too much and what the price would be without lunch. We waited another hour before she returned saying she had a different offer now at 7000 pesos!!! What? Wait: I already told you 6000 was over our budget - and you come back with a higher price. Such a waste of our time. 2 hours we waited in our room for nothing.

Well we sound like really angry, bitter people. But we're not, we enjoyed the Philippines so much, mostly our time in Bantayan Island, staying in a simple but truly personal and private spot. Devestated by the typhoon but still so worth visiting. Save your tourist money for different places around the Philippines that really need it and will be appreciate it.
Boracay has been destroyed not by the typhoon but by overdevelopment and is a terrible place if you want peace and authentic adventures.
We will never return to that island and definitely not to One Crescent Place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear JoSoJu,

First, we are sorry you did not have a good time at all in Boracay and in the hotel.

There were lots of people who though had a great time in Boracay, where the beach is one of the finest in the world, bar none. In fact, people keep on coming back year after year. It has its allure. You came in at the peak season time, so it is a bit crowded, but people still enjoyed it.

Regarding the price--pricing is a bit more complicated as it has not only to balance between demand and supply but also on sustainability. In fact, we are fully booked. And people are not probably aware on how much premium is paid on properties such as in Boracay, even inland, and how we built the hotel to provide safety to guests. There are many things that you don't see that we spent on for your safety and convenience, such as very strong building foundation, the redundant water system, fire safety systems, power generation system, proper staffing, government taxes and more. We are fully booked during the peak season for a reason. We use top of the line appliances, amenities and fixtures and we take care of guests. (If prices are cheap in other places, one would wonder, why?)

It's unfortunate that these things as you say should happen to you. But nevertheless, rest assured we have deliberated each point you have raised. For those we have control of, such as no furniture in Balcony, we have furniture you can put upon request. On toilet leak, it is fresh water intermittent leak, but reportedly not much. We use only fresh clean water for everything. Housekeeping has wiped it off during housekeeping, but we have our contractor fix it now after he came back from the New Year break. It's a more involved fix. For breakfast, we use only fresh ingredients, freshly prepared. We don't know how to do it any other way. There's ~ PHP 3 per USD difference in the exchange rate when you booked at the Manila office. We have corrected this as we were operating on a pegged rate of PHP 40 per USD. We now our rates dynamically float, but with a short deadline. Thank you for pointing this out. But, the bottom line is that you did not lose this USD 75. In case, we would have corrected it. Regarding noise of guests coming back from the stair case--while we are still putting more noise attenuation materials, and while we cannot put carpeted floors, it just so happened you were on over the New Year. People have merriment have a good time, and then come back a bit loud. But we will will control it.

It had been a busy season, so the night shift might have not properly relayed your arrangement request for a tricycle in the morning. It would have been an easy fix, if you let the front desk help you, would not take five minutes. Our staff is also human, not perfect, but are there to assist you.

For the Carabao Island trip, it's a private boat from two different contractors, pricing of which was relayed to you. We don't have control of the pricing. Again it was a busy time.

It's sad you had a terrible time during your stay. Again, many other guests had a grand time in Boracay at least. It had been a bit busy, but still they had a grand time.

People go back to Boracay to unwind, have a grand time. We strive to make it happen all the time. Boracay is a bit quieter during June to November, but has become a year round destination.

Best regards,

OCP Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
31
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We are very happy with the service and accommodation at this fine establishment the staff are so very helpful and accommodating. I would recommend this place to anyone. Only 2 minute walk to the beach. If you have a problem with anything at all the staff are more then happy to try and fix any issue. One of the best places my family and I have stayed. Breakfast is amazing so many options ! Yum ! Thank you for making our trip to boracay that little bit more fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Susan D,

Thank you for your superlative review. We are temporarily speechless from your generosity. Yes, the staff will be glad to help you and assist you. As for breakfast, we try to get the best ingredients available or that we can get hold of, and breakfast is prepared fresh before serving to you.

We do realize that guests bring their gadgets, had issues with the intermittent internet after typhoon Yolanda, but that is solved now. We should have smooth internet. For any issue raised, we address it. We have the staff available to assist you and make your stay fantastic, as you stated.

Our staff has read your review. We appreciate it. Cheers, and we will do our best to maintain and improve the service. Please do visit us again.

Thank you,
One Crescent Place Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and it was quite pleasant. Our room was quiet and we had a green view outside. They offered 4 different complimentary breakfast choices. In one or two minutes you can reach the beach.The hotel staff was very helpful and kind. They arranged our transportation to kalibo airport also. Would go there again definitely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear iboKulay,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you had a pleasant time with us. This is our goal. We try our best to deliver you the best service from breakfast choices, upkeep of your room, and in general, taking good care of you and your wife. Thank you for your review. Our staff have read your review and indicated on how you were assisted in your travel arrangements. We have many persons behind the scenes assisting towards a pleasant stay for you.

Please do visit us again,

Thank you,
OCP Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

much to our chagrin, at the time of arrival, the hotel was renovated! about which when booking us, no one warned you. This moment is very messed up our idea of ​​the hotel. We have repeatedly asked us to move to another room, but there was no place.
every morning at 8:00 we are awakened by the sound of a hammer and a perky saw! repair work continued until 8 pm!
And so every day! even on weekends! it's just disgusting!
why guests should come to the hotel and "enjoy" a repair??
we had booked a room Premier with view of the garden.
if you do not depress eyes down, then everything is fine! under the its windows you'll find some crumbling building, pieces of roof and other lumber!

some about pluses: good fresh breakfast, 3 minutes from the beach, away from the road

As compensation we were offered a 10% discount on the subsequent booking. I'm sorry, but discount for your gift is not necessary! I do not advise anyone to this hotel! it's just disrespectful to spoil people stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We have alerted the management of TripAdvisor of your review. We have to. Per your e-mail via an online travel company, two days after you checked out, you were trying to get compensation from us. We cannot provide you with compensation after your stay. You stayed with us and used all of the booked nights.

Upon check in, you were properly notified that there can be sporadic renovation noise, we offered you a quieter room on the ground floor--but you refused to move, and told our staff that you are already okay with your room on the third floor. And, you continued to stay with us, for 12 straight nights.

This sporadic noise is temporary. We would have gladly moved you, or refunded your unused nights, should you have opted to move out because of the renovation.

We are finishing new quality and elegant rooms on our new top floor. They are Premium Hi-Flr, and Grand Premier rooms. It will offer more scenic views. The new rooms are open for accommodation stay starting November 24, 2013.

We again apologize for the noise. However, this is just temporary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We moved into this hotel from a speciality lodging at Tulubhan Beach after one night there due to our horrible experience at that place. After we moved into One Crescent Place, we were pleasantly surprised as the cost of this hotel was much cheaper and of a better quality than the previous lodging.

This hotel is within 5 minutes walk to station 1 of white beach. Station 1 has the best beach where it is less crowded and cleaner.

Although it is a small and no-frills hotel, it is homely and staff are very helpful. There was a free tour around the hotel area on our first day and there was free use of beach towels, beach mats and umbrellas. Drinking water was free and unlimited. Breakfast was sumptuous. Whenever we needed more information, staff were always ready to answer our queries and go further by providing us with suggestions. Staff even told us what was the 'market rate' for tricycle so that we won't get ripped off by the drivers.

Hotel is well-maintained, clean and cosy. Given its price, it is definitely good value for money for the superior service they provide. Compared to other speciality accommodation at Borocay, staying at this place is definitely a better choice due to its good location. Additionally, wifi is very strong at this hotel. At the end of our stay, they sent us a personalized thank you email.

Room Tip: Stay at hotels located at Station 1 is much nicer than the other 2 stations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Staff were extremely helpful and hospitable. On our day of arrival, the staff brought us to the beach to give us a brief introduction of the surroundings. Whenever we needed help, they will respond to our needs promptly and go an extra mile to give us additional information.


Hotel provides free use of beach towels and umbrellas. Breakfast was very good and our overall experience at the hotel was cosy and homely. Though the room is small, it is cosy. We feel like we are staying at someone's house as the staff were really helpful. The room is clean too.

Best thing about the hotel is it is located at station 1 which has the best white beach out of the three stations. It is less than 5 minutes walk to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our travel agent booked us with this hotel as our regular hotel became unavailable at the last minute. We're very happy that they did.

Sure, they're not on the beach but they're not too far either. About two blocks away - it would take you less than 5 minutes to get there. Part of the charm is their location, really. It's tucked away behind the town church and is in a residential area so it's very quiet. Save say for a rooster or two but then again, you are in a province so these things are expected.

The rooms are small but cozy and modern in design. The bathroom and toiletries are basic but sufficient. They provide shampoo and conditioner in a dispenser and small bars of soap. A/C is good and strong and the tv had cable.They also provide guests with a pitcher of drinking water in the room which is replenished everyday. What we love the most is their crazy fast wifi! Signal is strong anywhere in the hotel grounds and the connection is stable.

Breakfast everyday was a choice of Filipino, American, Chinese or Continental. I had a different "cuisine" each morning and they're pretty decent. Portions are generous and they have free coffee refills.

The best part of staying at OCP is the service from their staff. Ruby Anne attended to us the entire time during our stay and no request was too much for her. Every one else has been very friendly and courteous.

We're glad to have discovered OCP and would definitely consider staying again.

Room Tip: If you won't be staying in your room often, the Deluxe room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One Crescent Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Crescent Place

Address: Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — One Crescent Place 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your One Crescent Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Crescent Place
One Crescent Place Hotel Boracay
One Crescent Place Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Crescent Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.