We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very "quiet" place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of One Crescent Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added One Crescent Place to your Saves list
One Crescent Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very "quiet" place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

much to our chagrin, at the time of arrival, the hotel was renovated! about which when booking us, no one warned you. This moment is very messed up our idea of ​​the hotel. We have repeatedly asked us to move to another room, but there was no place.
every morning at 8:00 we are awakened by the sound of a hammer and a perky saw! repair work continued until 8 pm!
And so every day! even on weekends! it's just disgusting!
why guests should come to the hotel and "enjoy" a repair??
we had booked a room Premier with view of the garden.
if you do not depress eyes down, then everything is fine! under the its windows you'll find some crumbling building, pieces of roof and other lumber!

some about pluses: good fresh breakfast, 3 minutes from the beach, away from the road

As compensation we were offered a 10% discount on the subsequent booking. I'm sorry, but discount for your gift is not necessary! I do not advise anyone to this hotel! it's just disrespectful to spoil people stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We have alerted the management of TripAdvisor of your review. We have to. Per your e-mail via an online travel company, two days after you checked out, you were trying to get compensation from us. We cannot provide you with compensation after your stay. You stayed with us and used all of the booked nights.

Upon check in, you were properly notified that there can be sporadic renovation noise, we offered you a quieter room on the ground floor--but you refused to move, and told our staff that you are already okay with your room on the third floor. And, you continued to stay with us, for 12 straight nights.

This sporadic noise is temporary. We would have gladly moved you, or refunded your unused nights, should you have opted to move out because of the renovation.

We are finishing new quality and elegant rooms on our new top floor. They are Premium Hi-Flr, and Grand Premier rooms. It will offer more scenic views. The new rooms are open for accommodation stay starting November 24, 2013.

We again apologize for the noise. However, this is just temporary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
25
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We moved into this hotel from a speciality lodging at Tulubhan Beach after one night there due to our horrible experience at that place. After we moved into One Crescent Place, we were pleasantly surprised as the cost of this hotel was much cheaper and of a better quality than the previous lodging.

This hotel is within 5 minutes walk to station 1 of white beach. Station 1 has the best beach where it is less crowded and cleaner.

Although it is a small and no-frills hotel, it is homely and staff are very helpful. There was a free tour around the hotel area on our first day and there was free use of beach towels, beach mats and umbrellas. Drinking water was free and unlimited. Breakfast was sumptuous. Whenever we needed more information, staff were always ready to answer our queries and go further by providing us with suggestions. Staff even told us what was the 'market rate' for tricycle so that we won't get ripped off by the drivers.

Hotel is well-maintained, clean and cosy. Given its price, it is definitely good value for money for the superior service they provide. Compared to other speciality accommodation at Borocay, staying at this place is definitely a better choice due to its good location. Additionally, wifi is very strong at this hotel. At the end of our stay, they sent us a personalized thank you email.

Room Tip: Stay at hotels located at Station 1 is much nicer than the other 2 stations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Staff were extremely helpful and hospitable. On our day of arrival, the staff brought us to the beach to give us a brief introduction of the surroundings. Whenever we needed help, they will respond to our needs promptly and go an extra mile to give us additional information.


Hotel provides free use of beach towels and umbrellas. Breakfast was very good and our overall experience at the hotel was cosy and homely. Though the room is small, it is cosy. We feel like we are staying at someone's house as the staff were really helpful. The room is clean too.

Best thing about the hotel is it is located at station 1 which has the best white beach out of the three stations. It is less than 5 minutes walk to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our travel agent booked us with this hotel as our regular hotel became unavailable at the last minute. We're very happy that they did.

Sure, they're not on the beach but they're not too far either. About two blocks away - it would take you less than 5 minutes to get there. Part of the charm is their location, really. It's tucked away behind the town church and is in a residential area so it's very quiet. Save say for a rooster or two but then again, you are in a province so these things are expected.

The rooms are small but cozy and modern in design. The bathroom and toiletries are basic but sufficient. They provide shampoo and conditioner in a dispenser and small bars of soap. A/C is good and strong and the tv had cable.They also provide guests with a pitcher of drinking water in the room which is replenished everyday. What we love the most is their crazy fast wifi! Signal is strong anywhere in the hotel grounds and the connection is stable.

Breakfast everyday was a choice of Filipino, American, Chinese or Continental. I had a different "cuisine" each morning and they're pretty decent. Portions are generous and they have free coffee refills.

The best part of staying at OCP is the service from their staff. Ruby Anne attended to us the entire time during our stay and no request was too much for her. Every one else has been very friendly and courteous.

We're glad to have discovered OCP and would definitely consider staying again.

Room Tip: If you won't be staying in your room often, the Deluxe room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izegem, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at One Crescent Place and I must say it was overall nice and pleasant experience. Rooms are fine and clean. Location is also good for it wasnt next to the sandy beach and can sleep like a baby all night. The value of the room is on the spot. It was fairly cheap because its still located at station one. The breakfast selection was ok aswell.
But the onething that capture us the most are their staffs hospitality. You will be treated nicely in every way and with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Spent 5 nights at One Crescent Place in July, it is an excellent 'boutique style' hotel that would not be out of place anywhere in the world. In Boracay it is located along a quiet lane away from the maddening crowds of the main road and White Beach, these are a short walk away.

I cannot understand complaints in earlier reviews about location, noise, mosquitoes and cockerels. I experienced no excessive noise, no mosquitoes in the room, the occasional cockerel is not obtrusive. The walk from the main road to the hotel at night is lit, albeit dimly, it is safe as there are homes and other hotels located along the same stretch of road.

Breakfast was good quality with juice and coffee refills upon demand, sitting in the front courtyard is vert pleasant, staff will bring out electric fans directed towards your table. They will ask if all is ok with the room and hot water...... all in all a great little modern hotel in an excellent quiet location close to the beach, nightlife and small shops, what more do you need in Boracay?

I unreservedly recommend this hotel to those looking for quality at an acceptable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zamboanga City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have stayed here for 3 nights. And i find this place very nice.
Good: good rooms. Nice staff. Few mins away fron the beach. Friendly service. Free wifi. Average breakfast.
Bad: the walk way through the hotel is not cemented and full of rocks

I recommend this for travellers who want a nice place but on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Joseph I,

We appreciate your review and thanks for staying with us! As again, you'll have privacy once you are in One Crescent Place, with our staff being very attentive to your needs in the hotel. We continuously maintain the hotel very clean.

There are a number of choices for breakfast, and we offer a balanced offering with fruits, juice, coffee or tea.

Thanks for you comment on the pathway that leads to the hotel. This has been in our minds for a long time. While we desire to change the pavement, cementing it or the likes has drawbacks, that it can cause easy and prolonged standing water during rains. What we have done is to remove the bigger porous rocks and formation, and have replaced it with construction type sand, and then encouraged the growth of grass. This will make it more natural, will not cause drain issues. We believe this is an optimum solution given that this pathway is also shared with others.

We again appreciate your review and your stay with us. Please do contact us during your next visit to Boracay and at One Crescent Place.

Cheers,

Armie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One Crescent Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Crescent Place

Address: Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — One Crescent Place 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your One Crescent Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Crescent Place
One Crescent Place Hotel Boracay
One Crescent Place Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Crescent Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.