We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique style hotel..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One Crescent Place

Save Saved
You added One Crescent Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
One Crescent Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balabag, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 132 hotels in Boracay
newcastle
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique style hotel..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Spent 5 nights at One Crescent Place in July, it is an excellent 'boutique style' hotel that would not be out of place anywhere in the world. In Boracay it is located along a quiet lane away from the maddening crowds of the main road and White Beach, these are a short walk away.

I cannot understand complaints in earlier reviews about location, noise, mosquitoes and cockerels. I experienced no excessive noise, no mosquitoes in the room, the occasional cockerel is not obtrusive. The walk from the main road to the hotel at night is lit, albeit dimly, it is safe as there are homes and other hotels located along the same stretch of road.

Breakfast was good quality with juice and coffee refills upon demand, sitting in the front courtyard is vert pleasant, staff will bring out electric fans directed towards your table. They will ask if all is ok with the room and hot water...... all in all a great little modern hotel in an excellent quiet location close to the beach, nightlife and small shops, what more do you need in Boracay?

I unreservedly recommend this hotel to those looking for quality at an acceptable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zamboanga City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have stayed here for 3 nights. And i find this place very nice.
Good: good rooms. Nice staff. Few mins away fron the beach. Friendly service. Free wifi. Average breakfast.
Bad: the walk way through the hotel is not cemented and full of rocks

I recommend this for travellers who want a nice place but on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Joseph I,

We appreciate your review and thanks for staying with us! As again, you'll have privacy once you are in One Crescent Place, with our staff being very attentive to your needs in the hotel. We continuously maintain the hotel very clean.

There are a number of choices for breakfast, and we offer a balanced offering with fruits, juice, coffee or tea.

Thanks for you comment on the pathway that leads to the hotel. This has been in our minds for a long time. While we desire to change the pavement, cementing it or the likes has drawbacks, that it can cause easy and prolonged standing water during rains. What we have done is to remove the bigger porous rocks and formation, and have replaced it with construction type sand, and then encouraged the growth of grass. This will make it more natural, will not cause drain issues. We believe this is an optimum solution given that this pathway is also shared with others.

We again appreciate your review and your stay with us. Please do contact us during your next visit to Boracay and at One Crescent Place.

Cheers,

Armie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

First trip to Boracay. Selected One Crescent Place based on the reviews. Nice clean hotel. Well appointed rooms. Short walk to the beach. Very quiet location. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast choices. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear WhiteKnight0802,

We appreciate for you taking time the time to write the review--that you've found One Crescent Place a nice relaxing place. Indeed, we ensure that the hotel, the rooms, in all areas, are clean to a high standard. It's in a quiet location, and only short distance to the White Beach. Aside from the several choices (four main categories, and sub categories), we also ensure that breakfast is great--served fresh, hot, and fast, comes with coffee (or tea if you so wish), fruit, and juice. It will keep you energized for your morning activities. You can arrange for island hopping, and other water sports activities. Also, you can just relax and read a book or magazine at the hotel, as it's quiet, away from the general public. For us wanting to be connected to the internet, we've blanketed the hotel with complimentary WiFi service, so, there is WiFi in all rooms, at the lobby, at the patio. We've employed technologies for improved internet experience.

Behind the scenes, all of the management and staff personnel work hard every day, to ensure that you and other guests get consistent high quality service at One Crescent Place.

We thank you again for your review. Please do visit us again.

Sincerely,

Armie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuxi, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

One Crescent Place is where I will stay if I return to Boracay. It is very close to the beach - only a couple of blocks away from Station 1. It is clean, quiet and comfortable. Wifi works well in rooms. Breakfast is a choice of a few options. In the room you get towels, shampoo and soap, and you can get a hairdryer and beach towels at reception. It was raining when I was there and staff loaned me a umbrella without me asking. I was on the ground floor and my room had a small outdoor area with a chair and tables and a small drying rack - very handy. Another nice touch is a water jug in the room that you can refill at any time. When you leave staff can call a tricycle to pick you up from the entrance. On the street there are plenty of food options without even having to walk the extra block to the beach. This includes a small pizza takeaway, a great Filipino food place and a Jonahs Juice - the banana choco peanut smoothie was my favourite. There is also a laundromat nearby. You will hear a rooster early in the morning but that was part of the charm for me. This place suited me perfectly and I wish I could go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Stephanie F,

We are so glad you found One Crescent Place your home in Boracay. It is indeed clean, quiet and comfortable. We thank you that you have noticed all the small little things that makes it so comfortable, relaxing and peaceful in One Crescent Place. We're happy if you are happy, more than anything.

Thanks so much again. Please write to us if you need anything ahead of your next visit.

Sincerely,

Armie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Overall the stay here wasn't bad. My husband and I enjoyed it overall, but here are the pros and cons of our 3 night stay to give you a simple breakdown of a premier room.

Pros
-Great breakfast. It's not a buffet, but the serving portions are good and it was a tasty selection.
-Great Service. Everyone was so nice and well trained.
-Newly remodeled and decent sized rooms.
-Free wifi.

Cons
-Bad location. It's not that it's THAT far from the beach, but to get there isn't that safe of a walk. It's dark and you have to go down a gravel road. It's only really a 3-4 minute walk to the beach, it's just not that convenient.
-Hot water only worked if we turned our sink faucet on to the temperature point that we wanted our shower to be. Then we had to leave the water running in the sink the whole time.
-Lots of noise. There's construction and hammering everyday all day except for on Sundays. At least 3-4 roosters will wake you up while it's still dark outside.
-While trying to eat your breakfast, there are neighbors burning trash next to you and you end up with burnt trash in your coffee and food.
-Huge Mosquitoes will frequent your room, although they are quite easy to catch because they are so big and well fed.
-The aircon is set up to blow right in your face across from your bed. Thankfully my husband is tall enough to close the vent and point it downwards.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again. I wasn't impressed especially for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear CrabisGOOD,

We're sorry that you don't feel like visiting us again, even though you said that it was not bad, that you and your husband enjoyed it overall, that the breakfast is great with good serving portions (breakfasts are served hot and food is always fresh), that each one of the staff was so nice and well trained, and that the hotel is newly renovated with decent sized room and that there is free WiFi.

Since you listed the cons, we'll address them all. On location, we can say that it is generally safe in our area. Why do we say this? The location of the hotel is private, the public does not access the hotel area, as it is by a private road. It is a minute walk behind the church, and near the church is where the village chief lives, and near the church is where the Village Watchmen are. Perhaps the lights are not that bright at night, there are lights almost equally spaced from the main road, and to the hotel. The lights by our pathway are not too bright so as not send strong light energy to the windows of our neighbors. But it is safe in our area.

There is some temporary construction noise, but it is only during specific hours of the day. We are doing some renovation in a section of the hotel to even improve the service we provide and at the same time fit new equipment in to the hotel for better efficiency on the use of electricity and water. This is temporary, as we position the hotel to deliver service to you, our guests more efficiently. We are sorry for the noise, but we don't have an option, but to proceed with it.

On hot water operation issue, on the mosquitoes, the roosters, even the air conditioner--all of these are easy to fix. Dial zero from your phone in your room to call reception. It would have been fixed in a snap. On hot water, a check or a quick sensitivity adjustment could be made by our maintenance (does not take even a minute to fix), on the mosquitoes, a blue light with mosquito zapper can be brought to your room - does not take a minute). The air conditioner control is quite advanced that you have adjusted the air blowing to very minimal, while adjusting the vent. You could also have just dialed zero, even if you just want to have the vent manually put on vertical down position. The vent though has to be open for the air conditioner to work. Our reception has mentioned that you did not allow to have your room cleaned, so, they did not have the opportunity any issue. On roosters, it's a quick fix, even less than a minute--all of the Premier rooms have a thick folding door with sound proofing, aside from the laminated glass sliding door. The sounds of the roosters crowing would have been muffled to be disturbing (some guests though reported that it does not bother them as they are the sound of nature). We're sorry to hear that you have to suffer through these, but most should have been an easy fix.

Actually, to even expound on some points, on roosters, years ago, we've pushed for an ordinance, which was later passed, on prohibiting roosters to be adjacent on hotels, but there are still some roosters that are owned by locals at some distance. For, mosquitoes, we've ordered new devices today to be placed on hallways, in case mosquitoes linger around and find their way to the rooms. But all rooms have screens, and we have available portable zappers that can be brought in your room in case one or two finds its way in.

For trash burning by a neighbor, we'll double check on this, as there is an ordinance against it. While some locals in the neighborhood maybe negligent, from our experience in the past, they burn only leaves. But still, this is against the ordinance. We'll have our staff even more alert on this.

Thanks for your review. Note that our staff is always there to help you, adjust anything in the hotel, as we want our guests to have a pleasant stay.

Sincerely,

Armie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarawak, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in January 2013. The hotel is located at Boat Station 1. It is very quite area but i really love the view of the garden with bougainvillea, the hills at the backyard, i feel i found peace when i stayed there. The hotel is very clean and the facilities in great condition. The staff are very friendly they offer their assistance whenever we need them and they are very proactive, still wide awake when we returned to hotel at 2.00 in the morning and i asked the staff to make hot tea, he prepared it in a short time. I didn't get this kind of service when i visited others hotel before this. We stayed at Family room, spacious and great ambient. Great breakfast, what can i say more.....I feel like home in One Crescent Hotel.I would come come again...Thank you to the staff for their nice and kind service.

Room Tip: Room at the south with amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear DebbieJenggut,

We thank you for your stay and for your review. The bougainvilleas are very lovely with the hills on the background. And you found peace and feel safe in a clean home with excellent service. The experience you described is the exact experience we have planned and execute on on a day-by-day basis. Our staff and management has read your review. We will keep at it for the next time you visit us. Thank you and we welcome you again.

Please do visit us again.

Sincerely,

Armie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My stay was quite a while ago, during Chinese new year so the island was packed and noisy, but this place is hiding behind a lovely little church and some trees. Quiet and clean, with nice helping staff, and amazingly close to the best part of white beach. More importantly it gives you the feeling at home, and the real beat of Philippines out of a tourist heavily populated island.

Room was clean and comfortable, air-con wi-fi worked well...if I have to be a perfectionist i would say the toilet is a bit too close to the shower. But the room was worth what you paid for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear MissEchoechoecho,

We have informed our staff and management of your lovely stay with us. Thank you for your review. We take good care of our guests, and please contact us in case you have special requests ahead of time if you plan to visit us again.

Our management has taken your input, and will consider it in any future plans. Thank you.
We welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Armie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One Crescent Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Crescent Place

Address: Balabag, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 132 hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — One Crescent Place 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your One Crescent Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Crescent Place
One Crescent Place Hotel Boracay
One Crescent Place Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Crescent Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.