We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, but more bad than good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of One Crescent Place

Save Saved
You added One Crescent Place to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
One Crescent Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balabag, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great Service, but more bad than good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Overall the stay here wasn't bad. My husband and I enjoyed it overall, but here are the pros and cons of our 3 night stay to give you a simple breakdown of a premier room.

Pros
-Great breakfast. It's not a buffet, but the serving portions are good and it was a tasty selection.
-Great Service. Everyone was so nice and well trained.
-Newly remodeled and decent sized rooms.
-Free wifi.

Cons
-Bad location. It's not that it's THAT far from the beach, but to get there isn't that safe of a walk. It's dark and you have to go down a gravel road. It's only really a 3-4 minute walk to the beach, it's just not that convenient.
-Hot water only worked if we turned our sink faucet on to the temperature point that we wanted our shower to be. Then we had to leave the water running in the sink the whole time.
-Lots of noise. There's construction and hammering everyday all day except for on Sundays. At least 3-4 roosters will wake you up while it's still dark outside.
-While trying to eat your breakfast, there are neighbors burning trash next to you and you end up with burnt trash in your coffee and food.
-Huge Mosquitoes will frequent your room, although they are quite easy to catch because they are so big and well fed.
-The aircon is set up to blow right in your face across from your bed. Thankfully my husband is tall enough to close the vent and point it downwards.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again. I wasn't impressed especially for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear CrabisGOOD,

We're sorry that you don't feel like visiting us again, even though you said that it was not bad, that you and your husband enjoyed it overall, that the breakfast is great with good serving portions (breakfasts are served hot and food is always fresh), that each one of the staff was so nice and well trained, and that the hotel is newly renovated with decent sized room and that there is free WiFi.

Since you listed the cons, we'll address them all. On location, we can say that it is generally safe in our area. Why do we say this? The location of the hotel is private, the public does not access the hotel area, as it is by a private road. It is a minute walk behind the church, and near the church is where the village chief lives, and near the church is where the Village Watchmen are. Perhaps the lights are not that bright at night, there are lights almost equally spaced from the main road, and to the hotel. The lights by our pathway are not too bright so as not send strong light energy to the windows of our neighbors. But it is safe in our area.

There is some temporary construction noise, but it is only during specific hours of the day. We are doing some renovation in a section of the hotel to even improve the service we provide and at the same time fit new equipment in to the hotel for better efficiency on the use of electricity and water. This is temporary, as we position the hotel to deliver service to you, our guests more efficiently. We are sorry for the noise, but we don't have an option, but to proceed with it.

On hot water operation issue, on the mosquitoes, the roosters, even the air conditioner--all of these are easy to fix. Dial zero from your phone in your room to call reception. It would have been fixed in a snap. On hot water, a check or a quick sensitivity adjustment could be made by our maintenance (does not take even a minute to fix), on the mosquitoes, a blue light with mosquito zapper can be brought to your room - does not take a minute). The air conditioner control is quite advanced that you have adjusted the air blowing to very minimal, while adjusting the vent. You could also have just dialed zero, even if you just want to have the vent manually put on vertical down position. The vent though has to be open for the air conditioner to work. Our reception has mentioned that you did not allow to have your room cleaned, so, they did not have the opportunity any issue. On roosters, it's a quick fix, even less than a minute--all of the Premier rooms have a thick folding door with sound proofing, aside from the laminated glass sliding door. The sounds of the roosters crowing would have been muffled to be disturbing (some guests though reported that it does not bother them as they are the sound of nature). We're sorry to hear that you have to suffer through these, but most should have been an easy fix.

Actually, to even expound on some points, on roosters, years ago, we've pushed for an ordinance, which was later passed, on prohibiting roosters to be adjacent on hotels, but there are still some roosters that are owned by locals at some distance. For, mosquitoes, we've ordered new devices today to be placed on hallways, in case mosquitoes linger around and find their way to the rooms. But all rooms have screens, and we have available portable zappers that can be brought in your room in case one or two finds its way in.

For trash burning by a neighbor, we'll double check on this, as there is an ordinance against it. While some locals in the neighborhood maybe negligent, from our experience in the past, they burn only leaves. But still, this is against the ordinance. We'll have our staff even more alert on this.

Thanks for your review. Note that our staff is always there to help you, adjust anything in the hotel, as we want our guests to have a pleasant stay.

Sincerely,

Armie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarawak, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in January 2013. The hotel is located at Boat Station 1. It is very quite area but i really love the view of the garden with bougainvillea, the hills at the backyard, i feel i found peace when i stayed there. The hotel is very clean and the facilities in great condition. The staff are very friendly they offer their assistance whenever we need them and they are very proactive, still wide awake when we returned to hotel at 2.00 in the morning and i asked the staff to make hot tea, he prepared it in a short time. I didn't get this kind of service when i visited others hotel before this. We stayed at Family room, spacious and great ambient. Great breakfast, what can i say more.....I feel like home in One Crescent Hotel.I would come come again...Thank you to the staff for their nice and kind service.

Room Tip: Room at the south with amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear DebbieJenggut,

We thank you for your stay and for your review. The bougainvilleas are very lovely with the hills on the background. And you found peace and feel safe in a clean home with excellent service. The experience you described is the exact experience we have planned and execute on on a day-by-day basis. Our staff and management has read your review. We will keep at it for the next time you visit us. Thank you and we welcome you again.

Please do visit us again.

Sincerely,

Armie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My stay was quite a while ago, during Chinese new year so the island was packed and noisy, but this place is hiding behind a lovely little church and some trees. Quiet and clean, with nice helping staff, and amazingly close to the best part of white beach. More importantly it gives you the feeling at home, and the real beat of Philippines out of a tourist heavily populated island.

Room was clean and comfortable, air-con wi-fi worked well...if I have to be a perfectionist i would say the toilet is a bit too close to the shower. But the room was worth what you paid for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear MissEchoechoecho,

We have informed our staff and management of your lovely stay with us. Thank you for your review. We take good care of our guests, and please contact us in case you have special requests ahead of time if you plan to visit us again.

Our management has taken your input, and will consider it in any future plans. Thank you.
We welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Armie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited this hotel last year in November. Having visited a few places in the Philippines on our visit I was pleasantly surprised by this little hotel. It was very clean and had a nice spacious feeling to the rooms, all the mod cons and a well needed 'modern' air conditioning unit, which had been rare until then. I found this hotel via Agoda on the on-line booking website. Amazingly this hotel was around the same price as some others along the beachfront that were more run down and not on the same level. I liked the location being away from the noisy beach front so we could escape to the hotel after a large night out.
The staff were very helpful and cheery. We visited when it was quiet and were made a fuss of. Breakfast outside in the sun with our mango's was fab. I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear ElsieMabel,

Happy New Year! Thank you for your review you made last year, and most especially for being a gracious guest of One Crescent Place. In 2012, we are pleased to tell you that we've upgraded our air conditioning system in all rooms--even better than the previous very good one you had in your room. This will give you the ability to dial in the settings you want, whether temperature or humidity. Or if you want the system to automatically do the fine adjustments for your comfort through its AI (artificial intelligence) sensing mechanisms, you can set it that way. All these to make your stay most comfortable. Moreover, we are pleased to tell you that WiFi signal is even made stronger and robust in all rooms. We do continually make our product even better for you. Thanks again for your review, our staff will be glad to welcome you again.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldau
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights.
Pros:
+ Very, very friendly and courteous staff!
+ Nice and clean room and bath room.
+ Aircon and fan
+ TV
+ Balcony or terrace
+ WiFi and PCs for hotel guests
+ Quite place, not too noisy in the evenings/nights

Cons:
- WiFi-signal isn't sufficient in all (parts of) the rooms.
- PCs and the internet are quite slowly or not working.
- 5min walking distance to White beach.

Bottom line: Can absolutely be recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with One Crescent Place, and we do take great care of our guests.

There are many advantages of staying a bit inland, as you are protected from the weather, from the noise of the beach front. It's only less than three minutes to the beach.

Yes, we do have complimentary WiFi. We are deducing on which room you have stayed. There are strong access points on each floor, which should be sufficiently strong, as when we did several testing. You should though pick the access point that is strongest, which should be located on your floor. We can do signal shaping, we can even increase the signal strength, but we optimize it levels so that we don't cause undue interference to our neighbors, and we minimize susceptibility for network intrusion. There could be varying signal strength as the hotel walls are made of concrete, but it should be sufficient for uninterrupted broadband connection. Nevertheless, we will conduct another optimization.

For PCs, we do have four PCs at the lobby, it should all be working, if there is a problem, please just alert our staff, and the proper reset procedure can be done should it be necessary. We do employ energy efficient Intel Atom powered computers, and are complimentary use of our guests.

Thanks once again for staying with us, and we'll improve our network even more this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I are very happy to have found One Crescent. The room where we stayed may not be that big but it just fits us right. It's quite relaxing and a/c is good; room is very quiet we never thought the hotel is fully occupied then! The linens and towels are changed everyday and every time we would request them changed. All our needs are attended to. The staff are all kind, friendly and very accommodating. Food is good and served well. The hotel is located a few steps away from the beach so it's never a hassle at all. The church is quite near the place, so you can attend mass as well :-)

Just few things we noticed: the cover on the sofa bed was a bit dirty when we arrived and that we had to remind the staff about it and that the net was a little slow, just that. Anyway, we'd say, It's still worth our stay and we wouldn't fail to recommend this place to our family and friends and we won't hesitate to book again at One Crescent in our next bora getaway :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thanks for staying with us, our staff was glad to be of service to you. Yes, hotel was full at that time, and we try to keep noise to a minimum. We also do now have some noise attenuating solution employed to even make the hotel even more quiet.

Also, thanks for bringing to our attention the extra bed/sofa cover. It's actually clean, but there are spots that developed because of laundry detergent's bleach, and fabric is quite sensitive to static cling of lints. We've pulled out the particular fabric and have replaced it. We're doing more - from the use and type of of laundry detergent, washing machine and dryer procedure, fabric selection) - to ensure that this does not happen again.

For the internet, normally, it should be good, but it can be slow at times when the hotel is full. But you still should be able to get in and do some surfing and do some e-mails. We actually do have fast network equipment. We are aware that many gadgets now does auto updating of its operating system and its applications that can negatively impact a network or user experience. We actually have solutions on study, and will deploy a mix that should address this proliferation of gadgets.

Thanks once again, as your review is quite helpful for us to improve even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My friends and I had originally planned to stay at the Astoria for four nights but they were fully booked so we had to stay at One Crescent Place for our first two nights in Boracay. We found it through Agoda. While not 100% satisfied with my stay, I would recommend it to friends as a second or third choice to their hotel of preference.

Bad things first: the shower takes forever to heat up. By the time it does, I'm already done with the shower. But most of the time I never got to experience a warm shower. This is disappointing. The owner told me that they have back-up heaters available but this is essentially useless since the damage has been done. It would be better to check the showers before the guests come in. Secondly, I am a very light sleeper and wake up at the slightest sound. Before going to bed, my friends and I could hear incessant loud chattering and banging of the doors. That said, management needs to come up with a way to soundproof the rooms. Needless to say, the fact that I had ear plugs with me saved from two nights of sleeplessness. The bathroom is also a tad too small for my taste.

Good things: I am extremely impressed by the excellent service and pleasant attitude of the staff. This applies at any time of the day. Whether at 10 a.m. or at 3 a.m., the staff never failed to greet my friends and me and make us feel welcome. They also promptly responded to every request that we made. The AC tends to get really cold at night so we asked for extra blankets and duly provided with some. Breakfast is also excellent. I also appreciated the free water downstairs as it definitely saved me from having to buy extra water. I like all the channels on the TV, the fact that there's a microwave and dishes in the room. Room is pretty spacious as well. Bed is comfortable.

More power!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armieocp, Management Representative at One Crescent Place, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thanks for your stay. As you have stated, we offer excellent service. One Crescent Place is a boutique hotel, and only guests who stay here, hang around here. We offer more privacy during your stay.

Our staff is now making sure that we show guests how to use the fixtures, such as water heater, the air conditioning controls, and more importantly get feedback during their stay--and not after, and complain on the Internet. There is actually no damage, as we did not get any comment or complaint during your stay. During your check out, when you mentioned about the water heater and chatter and door noise, we asked you if you told reception about it, you said "No". While we check things, part of the feedback loop is the guests letting us know at that instant (or shortly after while they are still staying in the hotel). We would have fixed things to your liking if you would have told reception, by just dialing "0". We could have flipped a switch (which takes two seconds or less) in the water heater to boost up the wattage to six kilo watts, no kidding, six thousand watts to make a very warm shower). We keep things to medium to "kill off" the coldness in the water and with enough warmth so you don't get cold. The shower mixer though has to be in the left most position. While also trying to preserve the environment, and frugal in the use of resources such as electricity--the Philippines is not a cold or winter country, so, we don't need to have super hot shower. But if you want it, it's available for the asking, just dial "0", and we would have flipped the switch. If there is really something wrong with the water heater, we have brand new heaters on standby. We can replace the existing one in very short time. But so far, when verified in your room, the water heater is working as designed.

On air conditioning, you can dial in the exact temperature you want the room to be. The air conditioner we have is the most technologically advanced air conditioner, and you can exercise precise control over the temperature you want in your room. It is able to provide you a constant temperature at the setting. If you want California type temperature during late spring, dial it to 23 or 24 degrees Celcius. If you want cool Baguio temperature, 25 - 26 degrees Celcius.
More so, the hotel is equipped with laser guided infrared thermometer to verify temperatures.

On any issue or "issue", or if you need for a massage, dialing "0" would be of help to make your stay as pleasant as can be.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to One Crescent Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Crescent Place

Address: Balabag, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — One Crescent Place 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your One Crescent Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Crescent Place Hotel Boracay
1 Crescent Place
One Crescent Place Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Crescent Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;