We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jonys beach resort is perfect for family......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jony's Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jony's Beach Resort to your Saves list
Jony's Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Balabag, Malay, Aklan | Philippines, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“jonys beach resort is perfect for family......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

it took me many days to decide where to stay in boracay......good i made the right choice ..at jonys...4days 3 nights package! Me , my husband and my 6 yo kid really enjoyed our stay considering the location, the peaceful surrroundings and the staff. We were so comfortable during our short stay. Its a perfect place if you are with your family to relax ....D mall is just few min walk. beach is just a few steps, theres free wifi , food was okey especially their famous shake...ill surely miss it( my fav avocado shake) !.........but there is one thing i would like to comment.....theres no tooth brush provided in the room. We have travelled to different places and stayed in different hotels and all have toothbrush for there guest. But over all...jonys is perfect place for family....Thanks to the staff! See you next summer...and hope this time theres free toothbrush LOL.....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    97
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
116
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Jonys is a wonderful place. We had booked in for 12 nights originally in April 2011 but had to move after 3 because a 'trance / disco bar' has opened up next door completely ruining the atmosphere of this lovely place.

They were really sweet when we explained why we had to move and completely understood. I feel really sorry for the owners of this place because unless they can shut the next door place down they will loose business.

Boracay is a busy tourist destination for the neighbouring asian countries, so the place gets pretty busy on weekends and holidays.

The food in this place is great. Never thought i liked Mexican as much as I did. If you choose not to stay here you should still search it out for the food and the shakes which they are famouse for.

The other thing to note is that the rooms are accross a road so you need to cross a relatively busy road when you go from the beach to the rooms. There is also only a few bedchairs so if you want to sit around on bedchairs all day this might not be the place for you... depends on what you are looking for.

Room Tip: go for a room on the second floor or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We chose Jony's based on trip advisor's reviews and stayed at for 4 nights, traveling with our 11 year old. We requested pick up for the additional price and were met at the airport. Upon arrival at the resort, we were greeted with mango shakes. These are fantastic and worth the trip itself. No where did we find a mango shake as good as at Jony's! Our 11 y.o. gobbled these down in minutes!

The service and attentiveness of the staff was top notch. We were greeted by Ging who I had been communicating with when making our reservations. A roll away was immediately brought to our room for our daughter. The beach and restaurant was just across the street and having the guard there to help you cross is a definite plus!

The restaurant was great as well. We'd always be greeted by the staff. Arjay was one staff member who would always help us out at the restaurant and get us lounge chairs on the beach. They would even set umbrellas up for us! All we had to do was look and someone would come to us and ask if we needed anything. The restaurant staff would even look out for the personal items of their guests. You could ask them to watch your camera and they would take it and put it in a safe place.

The breakfast was included in our package. We found it to be the appropriate amount of food and delicious as well. The fried pork adobo is yummy. We also had dinner there as well and found all the food to be tasty. My family and I would definitely return to Jony's. We enjoyed our stay and the excellent service the staff provided. The rooms are clean and taken care of. Wi-fi was a little slow, but when one of the most beautiful beaches is right outside your door, wi-fi was way down the list of things that needed to be done! Oh and if you need a 110 outlet, just let the front desk know. They have one and will charge whatever you need charged.

Jony's was the best. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011 via mobile

The location of this hotel is the best thing abt this, right on the beach on station 1 but very close to station 2, best of both worlds. The rooms were clean and ours was large. The bathroom was fine and clean also but nothing special. We had a balcony facing the beach which was lovely. The front desk staff were good but service was with a functional air rather than a genuine friendliness you get in say Vietnam or Thailand. Staff in the restaurant often had trouble with understanding English and one in particular seemed to enjoy lecturing us about not eating or smoking on the beach - way beyond the point where we had understood the rule. In the late evening  the desk is manned by security guards with very limited English. 

Breakfast is basic, my friend found it really salty. Good shakes as everyone has said but otherwise the food here is not great.  There are a limited number of loungers in front and they are not put out in the morning due to high tide. However, there are way too few for the number of guests so you have to get lucky or bag yours early as we found many guests just left their beach towels (jony's give you your own) on loungers then didn't use them for most of the day. 
There is a bar with a live band nearby who sang till about 1am so I had to put earphones in to sleep.
All in all,  a decent, but not spectacular hotel experience. 

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I stayed for 4N, 5D. Jony's was great and welcoming. Staff at the front desk would remember me by name. They were helpful with organizing our excursions.
The rooms were nice and clean. Pretty updated. The keys come on a long shell lanyard with the room number on it, so instead of carrying it around, we would always leave it at the front desk when we would hang out at the beach.
It's just a walk across the backroad, and with the helpful assistance of the security guards, we always got across the road safely.
Location is just right. It's close to the restaurants and nightlife, but far enough away from the loud music and crowds.
Breakfast was good. Shakes were yummy and came in a large tall glass.
Free wifi available, but really slow.
Good value for what it's worth. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I think this is a case of managing one's expectations before arriving. Maybe based on the glowing tripadvisor reviews, I had expected a bit too much - the tiled floors in the room, the toilet that blocked and would not flush, the tired (but clean) towels and bed-clothes, the shower fitting that flooded out of the bath tub onto the floor however carefully one placed the shower curtain - all these things came as a bit of a shock at first. Then I realised that, in reality, this is a basic resort hotel, which provides clean and reasonably comfortable rooms, just across the road from the beach. It is not a city-centre 3 or 4 star hotel, nor does it pretend to be. So, after I had settled that in my mind, I did not bother too much about the closet doors that would barely close, the ancient TV set with unreliable control, and so on.

The staff I met were definitely friendly enough and helpful. Breakfast in the open-air, but covered, eating space across the road was very basic indeed, and would not be enough to fill up anything other than a small adult. There is no buffet selection - it's basically egg, a tinned hot-dog, two slices of airy toast, and juice OR coffee! Just a snack.

The location is good if you are willing to walk for 10 to 15 minutes to get to D'Mall and the real centre of beach activities. And since most guests will be on holiday, I'm sure the walk will be a pleasure, not a burden. It was nice to be located somewhere that was quiet enough, but not cut off from resort life.

Overall, I was content with the stay, but not delighted. The free wifi everywhere was a bonus. Maybe compared with the competition, and based on value-for-money, it deserves it's top ranking on tripadvisor, but if I return to Boracay again, I think I would try one of the many other resorts.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Right from the get go we were met with amazing service. I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to the La Perla suite upstairs which has an amazingly huge balcony that overlooks the beach. The room itself was fantastic - but what made it such an experience was the level of service that was displayed by all staff members

Breakfast is provided at the restaurant located across the street. After experiencing the same breakfast buffets provided by most other hotels, it was great to have the option of a great tasting breakfast freshly cooked every morning. Oh, and their shakes are out of this world - definitely a highlight of Station 1.

Location wise, it is located on Station 1, which is typically the quieter station of White Beach. Saying that, it is on the cusp of Station 1 and 2, which means it is close to the hustle and bustle of Station 2, whilst being far enough from it for it to seem like a bit more of a personal experience.

In terms of any negatives, the only thing I can think of is the reliability of the hot water system. It seems that you can have long hot showers one time, and then have only 2 minutes of hot water on the next shower - but really, in the grand scheme of things, it is no biggy.

Yes, there are more flashier and prettier resorts out there, but whether or not you'll be getting the same great personalised service is another. I recommend this to anyone who visits Boracay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jony's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jony's Beach Resort

Address: Balabag, Malay, Aklan | Philippines, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jony's Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been one of the oldest and unwavering family founded establishments in Boracay Island, Jony's Beach Resort cemented its position as one of the prestigious resorts on the island since 1985. Known for it's personalized service, Jony's Beach Resort not only has convenient access to the famous powdery white sand beach and crystal blue water, but it also connects it's guest to the much sought- after bars and restaurants on the island. One just has to experience it in order to believe it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jony's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jony`s Beach Hotel Boracay
Jonys Beach Hotel
Jonys Beach Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jony's Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.