We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mango Inn

Save Saved
You added Blue Mango Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Mango Inn
Sitio Angol | Barangay Manoc, 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 172 Boracay B&B and Inns
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We travelled with our daughter who was about 1 1/2 years old back then. And we loved it!

Mr Vauhgan and his staff really makes the effort to make you feel welcome.
They arrange everything for you, transfer and are generally very very accommodating. He even arranged a cake for my little cousins birthday dinner party!

We stayed there twice during our travels (went back a month later) and the first room was the family pad at the back which was perfect for our daughter! The second room we got was a good size as well though. On the down side the rooms were a bit musty.

Blue Mango was located in station 3, the quiet part of the white beach, which was perfect. The walk down to the center took about 20-30 min but it was easy enough to get a tricycle down as well (along the main road).

The beach really is perfect. Paradise!
Thank you Mr Vaughan for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    50
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
57
54
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 2 wonderful weeks on Boracay during xmas and new year 2012/2013. Our family of 5 stayed at the Blue Mango Inn. We were greeted at Caticlan by one of the Blue mango staff and we just followed him. This was great because getting from the airport to the island hotel is a little tricky first time round. You have to take a motorized tricycle, then a boat, then a small bus, and then walk maybe 5 minutes. A word of advise is travel light! We checked into our room and then chilled for 2 weeks. Vaughn and Blue Mango family gave us great service, our rooms was always clean the food was good, especially the Breakfast. My daughters lived on waffles and pancakes for 2 weeks, the mango pancakes are excellent. My son who is a little fussy even managed to get special food. The staff bought us mango smoothies etc on the beach! Nothing beats lying on a bambu lounger under a thatched umbrella with your favorite book, fresh mango juice and an ocean view.
Another major plus is the location. Its on the beach and away from the crowds. There are some good bars and restaurants a few doors down and also the fantastic yasuragi spa.
The day we left we had leave at 5am. Vaughan was awake to say bye and even speed of into the dark on his motorbike to find some tricycles (the mini bus that was booked did not show, must have forgotten to wake up). Anyway everything worked out and we made our flight UNFORTUNATELY! We will without a doubt be returning to Boracay and the Blue Mango Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in Boracay. Vaughn with his staff were superb. Vaughn has been many years on Boracay. He knows everything and will help you with everything about Boracay. Blue Mango is located on the calmer part on White beach which is realy nice!
Thanks again Vaughn for a great holiday.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very good accomodation considering the rates charged. Collection from the airport was superb and we were swiftly helped to the boat and onto a tuk tuk to the b and b.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom family room which had a really nice living space and balcony area where we could play cards. The bathroom was also a good size with a powerful shower.

The location is great, down the quieter area of the beach. The loungers were nice bamboo rustic style, rather than the cheaper plastic loungers seen elsewhere along the beach.

Breakfast was basic but nice. The juice is from a carton, but you can always pay extra for some freshly squeezed.

Walking along the beach was very safe and a really enjoyable bit of exercise.

The beach sellers were very annoying however I do not know how any of the hotels could limit them. Thus this is a problem everywhere along the beach.

Please note at the moment there is building work happening next door. This was slightly annoying as they start early and finish late. Maybe confirm this has stopped before you next book.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Many thanks to Vaughan, Christine and team at the Blue Mango Inn, my partner and I just spent the most relaxing 12 days of our lives on this beautiful island and were taken care of as if staying in our family home at The Blue Mango Inn.

The location is perfect, close enough to walk to the action at station 2, though far enough to have space and relaxing days at the beach without hordes of crowds wandering past your sunbed which would happen if you stay further up the beach.

The Garden room we stayed in was very spacious, quiet with a lovely big patio. Breakfast was always excellent (especially the pancakes) and the fact you can have this at any time of day is a huge bonus!

There is also a great spa next door “Bella Isa” , a cute beach bar “Cocoloco” and the best fish and chips I have tasted at “Cowboy’s Cucina”.

We would come back here in a heartbeat, however next time would definitely fly in via Caticlan and take less luggage!

Room Tip: Garden rooms seem to be the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at the Blue Mango Inn on Oct. 30, 2012, for 4 days. To get there we had
to take a plane/tricycle/pumpboat/bus/walk/ , we were met at Cagban Bay where Vaughan, the owner arranged for a very helpful worker to pick us up. Our 2 bedroom unit was lovely, comfortable with a kitchenette, and situated in a jungle island theme surrounded by local greenery. We enjoyed
the complimentary breakfast daily and also one night free candlelight dinner on the beach. But we opted to eat inside because of the mosquitoes coming out by 7pm. My son had a problem with the
faucet in his washroom but it was fixed efficiently the same day. My son and his wife had their baby son with us and Vaughan's wife even held the baby on the first day while all four of us sat down for lunch which was nice of her. One day, 2 workers called in sick and Vaughan was running around like a chicken but you could see how all his other workers worked quickly and picked up the pace and helped one another. Even the cook, she became a waitress and the fellow who buses the guests around became the bartender making drinks.. We enjoyed ourselves at the Blue Mango.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I can not help but think a lot of the good reviews are from the owner of this place, Vaughan told me we would have a clean room with a view, neither was true, room was gross, very poorly maintained, air conditioner was old and loud, no view at all, this place is way overrated in my humble opinion, we went close by to a place called Dave's Hat inn, this was a way better experience, except they were almost always fully booked because it is such a great place!!

No idea why so many people give this place a good rating, I would never stay here again, the owner says anything to get you too book a room

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Mango Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mango Inn

Address: Sitio Angol | Barangay Manoc, 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Mango Inn is a family owned and operated establishment located at the station 3 end of Boracay's white beach. We have 14 rooms ranging from, Oceanview rooms, to deluxe garden rooms to family rooms able to accommodate entire familys of 4-6 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Blue Mango Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mango Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mango Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.