We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile if you want to get away from it all...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boracay Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Boracay Hills to your Saves list
Boracay Hills
Bantud | Manoc Manoc, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worthwhile if you want to get away from it all...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Boracay Hills for 2 nights during Chinese New Year in 2011.
As it was high season - most White Beach hotels were fully booked when we reserved (at the last minute) - and Boracay Hills looked like the best bet of what was left. I dont think that we would have booked at Boracay Hills if other hotels on white beach were available.

On arrival we were mat at the pier and driven to the hotel. The service was at all times friendly and the staff made an effort to remember your names. The travel advice was good as well.

The rooms were basic - and not very private as we had a room facing the pool. A little disappointing really. The bed was a bit too soft for my liking.

Breakfast was served at our porch but was just toast and tea. Not even any fruit which is pretty silly considering you are in the tropics with cheap yummy fruit readily available.

The hotel gardens were well kept but there were not many places to sit/hang out.
The pool was good.

The location was indeed very quiet. It was about 10-15 minutes to white beach. When heading out the hotel shuttle was available - or you could take a tricycle.

All in all - i would say that the hotel was very good - but not as good as some of the reports on this site are making out.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    41
    6
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
86
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

First time me and my wife have visited Philippines this NY2011. Moscow and Boracay -you can imagine the distance. If earlier I was in doubt about the hotel choice - may be it would be better to book a hotel near the White beach, but after the flight I understood that It was the right choice. I can`nt even imagine who could be disappointed of this hotel. May it just be crew of teenagers but I am sure they would very like it, not sure about other guests at the same time:). There is the difference between boring hotels and the hotels where you feel like at home. Beautiful garden, swimming pool and outdoor sofas many times crashed our nightlife plans. I could say that Philippinians are one if not most friendly and industrious nations so be sure that the hotel staff will satisfy all you wishes. If the chief was absent at certain moment It was pretty that everyone was ready to prepare tea/coffee or fry eggs and did it with sincere smile. There is no language problem like you have at other Asian countries , my English mostly was worse than the hotel staff has. Especially I would say thanks to Barry - the hotel manager, he created such surroundings and staff discipline and at the same time in 3 days I got a feeling that he is my own uncle. All my cons became pros - you are living at the lonely calm place but if you want in 10 minutes you could appear at the heart of nightlife using free hotel shuffle.
Just two minuses I marked - the breakfast might be more various and the air-condition devices are old enough and consequently a bit noisy for sleep.
There is no doubt that combination of Boracay white beach and this hotel makes you vacation amazingly memorable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We were on the top floor with two bedrooms and a huge bathroom. You could really feel the place had been built as a private house. The atmosphere was nice and friendly, the staff made us feel welcome and at home in all ways possible - we were there when the weather was not super so it was nice to come off the beach sometimes. However the place does have a feel of being a bit run down and the food could definitely do with an upgrade.Overall very good value for money and an easy place to stay with children.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We reserved this hotel from internet without any reference fo good or bad. However, after staying 4 nights over there, I would say, if you want to find a place stay away from noisy tourist area, if you want to have feeling like at your own home, if you want to chat very casually with nice guy, such as its manager, Barry, driver and chef, Boracay Hill's is perfect choice! BTW, its really very good price comparing others my friend and me have visited in the island. Try it...if you go to this beautiful island...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Stayed at Boracay Hills on four occasions within the last two years. The hotel and staff are nothing less than top quality. The pool and garden area remain well kept and beautifully lit at night. We would not hesitate in recommending Boracay Hills to any of our friends and look forward to returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

This was our second stay at Boracay Hills. Our first trip was during the low season in June 2009, the flights were quite a bit cheaper at that time of year but the island was very quiet. So we decided to return for the Christmas and New Year celebrations, which were amazing! The fireworks on New Years Eve were crazy! You really have to visit the island for NYE and find a good spot on the beach to watch them. We were particularly pleased to be staying at Boracay Hills though as the noise from all the bars on the main strip must keep people awake who stay on the beach. Boracay Hills is a short ride away and so peaceful.

The hotel was just as before, wonderful setting, beautiful gardens and a lovely clean pool to keep dipping in and out of to cool down. The rooms are spacious and clean and the bathrooms are clean with showers big enough for two!

The staff are so friendly and nothing is ever too much. There's always a driver available to provide a free shuttle bus service into town/to the beach (but it's easier to jump in a trike coming back for about 50pesos - but watch out as the trike drivers like to rip off the tourists!). Barry the hotel manager makes you feel at home and can give you any information on the island you need.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Boracay, it's great value for money and the staff are very welcoming. Oh and contact them directly for their best rates!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Boracay is such a beautiful island and, whilst friends and family asked why I didn't try one of the other hotels on the island, the only place I wanted to be was Boracay Hills.
I'd visitied earlier in April 2010 and had a good chance to have a look around the other options but there are a number of things that for me puts Boracay Hills ahead of the others.
Whilst the hotel isn't directly on the beach it's only a few moments away ... but far enough to get away from the noise of party-goers, night clubs and bars. I spent many a night along the beach front and feeling rather smug when retiring to the perfect oasis, and peace and quiet, that is Boracay Hills.
The very atmosphere and setting of Boracay Hills relaxes me on arrival, assisted by the wonderful staff who welcome you in to this family run hotel. Breakfast and meals are prepared by the wonderful Rex, who works his magic in the kitchen. And nothing is too much trouble for Barry, Helen who go the extra mile to make sure that your stay is wonderful.

The pool is beautiful and set in the perfect place to catch the sun, whilst retaining a few shaded areas if, for some bizarre reason, you want to escape the rays.

I can't rate this hotel and its staff highly enough and I'm already planning my next visit. Would I recommend Boracay Hills - hell yes!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boracay Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boracay Hills

Address: Bantud | Manoc Manoc, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boracay Hills Resort is not located on white beach but offers an alternative quiet break away. Have the perfect night's sleep after a long day on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boracay Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boracay Hills Hotel Boracay
Hills Hotel Boracay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boracay Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.