We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dave's Straw Hat Inn to your Saves list
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in Boracay
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is great, it's far from the action, but close to Angol -5 min walk (station 3). The staff is friendly, the food is good (spaghetti with garlic and pancakes are really good !) and the room is comfortable. I recommend this place :)

Room Tip: -Ask for a quiet room if you're a light sleeper. -If you like to watch tv in the evening, be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    143
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
82
283
75
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was a walk-in traveler with no prior bookings. I stayed here for 5 nights on May 2014

I was attracted to the place because of the atmosphere. the place has character. I entered the premises and the service I got was immediately quite warm and friendly. And then I found out that the rates were very reasonable.

I have to say that the staff were amazing. They were kind, friendly, very understanding and accommodating, and were quite knowledgeable. It was nice conversing and joking with them. I really appreciated the Inn. When a cheaper room came up in another resort nearby on the beachfront, I decided against leaving the Inn because I liked where I was already.

The place around the area needs some lighting, but it is safe and there aren't any dogs or wild animals loitering the area. At times when I get back there at 3:30am, there would be somebody who would be at the receiving area, so I never felt unsafe or neglected. The place is cozy and one can just enjoy the many books in the receiving area of the Inn while waiting for companions or just waiting for the hot noonday sun to dip low. There are board games and some other things I never got to play with too.

The place is far from the action of Station 2 (where the popular bars and party places are). It takes me more than 30mins to walk to D'Mall or, alternatively, less than 10mins by trike. That is one of the considerations for my rating. However, if you don't mind that, then it's fine. The Inn itself is a one-minute walk from the beachfront (it isn't located on the beachfront; you have to take an alleyway to reach the beach). It is near the more undeveloped part of Boracay with a few quaint little places with a lot of character (I'll be exploring those places next time I'm there). The beach fronting the alley entrance is well taken care off and the sand is just as powdery as in others (as much less pebbly than in other beachfronts as well).

I stayed in the single occupancy fan room. There was no window at all, although one could keep the door open since there is an outer screen door to keep insects from coming in. Average lighting. Relatively clean toilet - all within expectation for the price. Clean towels and beddings each day. Was satisfied with the bed as well, but I'm not so selective about that. Internet was so much better than I expected and were comparably better than more expensive hotels in the area. In fact, the WIFI was so much better than a couple of 5-star resorts in Station 1 where my friends were staying.

I would come back here again when given the opportunity especially if I want to explore the rest of Station 3.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend in May 2014 and can highly recommend it.

Dave's was very cosy and secure with a beach cottage feel and friendly staff to look after us. This was exactly what we were looking for in Boracay, with an eye on the independent and cash savvy traveller.
We liked the location, despite seeming to be a little out of the way in station 3, it was great to escape the crowds over in stations 1 and 2. I also have to say that station 3 still manages to capture a little spirit of the old Boracay and there are no shortage of good restaurants and massages available around the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayugan, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Treating guests like a family is the perfect experience we had at Dave's straw hat inn.
My husband and I had a great time exploring Boracay. It feels like home when you go back to the hat from a very long tiring walk and then you see the staff welcoming you with great smiles again and again. Everyday their rooms are perfect, you leave it messy and when you go back it's clean again, linens are new and comfort room smells fresh. It feels like you are living in a 5 star hotel.
Staffs are honest, we always leave our phones and wallets and other important things but it will always stay in the place where you left it.
I will surely recommend Dave's Straw to my relatives, friends and family, and when We come back to boracay we will surely come back to Dave's straw hat.
THANK YOU SO MUCH DAVE'S STRAW HAT STAFFS.
'til we meet again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

At first I could not understand how a simple, backpacker-style guesthouse could receive such good reviews, but after staying at Dave's Straw Hat I could see why.
Like everyone else says, the staff there are really nice and professional and gave us personal treatment. We even got a discount on accommodation and were upgraded to a deluxe room for free!!
Our deluxe, A/C room was just great - everything just worked well, including plumbing and water pressure. The fridge is a real treat as well.
On the minus side, Wifi connection was so-and-so (as in all the Philippines... ) and location was a little weird as well - hidden away in an alley and hard to find, although only 3 mins from the beach.
All in all, amazing value for money and very recommended stay in Boracay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Definitely the best place to stay in Boracay. The staff is amazing, they will make sure to make the absolute best of you stay with them. The rooms are very clean and nice especially for what you pay for it. The location is very convenient, you are at the beach in just a couple of minutes. It was just great! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The staff at Dave's Straw Hat Inn are fantastic! My flight was delayed so I got on later then expecting, as I was unpacking one of the girls knocked on the door with iced tea and a sandwich because I looked tired and hungry... so thoughtful! I stayed in the bamboo fan hut, it's basic you get what you pay for with that one, for me it was perfect.
I was travelling alone for the first time so wasn't sure what my trip would be like. The girls who work there where great at suggesting and organising things to do. They are so friendly and seemed to take good care of everyone. I felt totally at ease.
The people who work there really made it for me, if I'm ever back in Boracay I'd stay again :D

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dave's Straw Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Address: Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Resting Place, which offers a serene and intimate tropical nirvana, located less than a minutes walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. Allow the staff to cater to your needs while you spoil yourself in the beauty of Boracay. Enjoy the family atmosphere and those amenities that most big Boracay resorts offer without the high prices. We have been referred to as the "best budget hotel on Boracay," but without skimping on the comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Dave's Straw Hat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dave`s Straw Hat Hotel Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Hotel
Daves Straw Hat Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dave's Straw Hat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.