We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Dave's Straw Hat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dave's Straw Hat Inn to your Saves list
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Our stay at Dave's Straw Hat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at Dave’s Straw Hat Inn for one week in May 2013. Overall, I agree with the other reviewers and think it is a fine residence for a Boracay vacation. Here is my take on my week:

Service. While I do not feel that I was treated like family, I was treated well and have no complaints. Janet answered every email quickly. And, when we caught an earlier flight out of MNL, we called DSHI and they adjusted our transfers.

FYI: DSHI operates on a cash basis while at the hotel. No credit cards, no paypal.

Transfers. A circus. Definitely ask DSHI to arrange your transfers. We flew in, took a bus to the boat area (5 minutes), took a boat to Boracay (10 minutes), took a vehicle to the drop off point for Station 3 (10 minutes), walked to DSHI (5-10 minutes). All along the way there was one porter per bag and all were very insistent on getting a tip. Key point…..have plenty of small (50 -100 p) bills to give as tips. We had three bags and paid about 800 - 1000 P for the entire one-way journey in tips. That is about $20-25 USD and we are savvy travelers.

Room. We had three in room #3. The room was very clean, the toilets flushed, and the water was hot. The room was small but had everything that we needed, including air conditioning. YOU NEED AIR CONDITIONING. Boracay is hot and humid. And, the one drawback to the quiet location is that DSHI is about 50-75 yards/meters off the “main drag;” there is very little circulation and it can get very stuffy and it is hotter than out by the ocean. I sweat just walking to the main gate.

Breakfasts. Yes, the pancakes are as good as everyone says.

WiFi. Very slow.

Bugs. Given the off the main drag location and the humidity, you will need (require) some type of bug spray. The bugs are on the clock 24/7. I recommend preparation even when sitting in the common area in the AM for breakfast.

Overall location. Excellent. We contemplated Station 1/2 along with Station 3 ad nauseam. After one 15-minute walk down to the D’ Mall, I realized that we made the right choice. The D’ Mall area is way too crowded and way too loud. It is an easy walk and you have the luxury of leaving when you have had enough. If you are staying in the D’ Mall area, there is no relief.

Restaurants/water sports/diving/etc. Station 3 offers it all at competitive prices. Also, as you walk toward the D’ Mall, there are restaurants and bars along the entire route. You won’t go hungry or feel like you are in rehab when staying in station 3.

Email with questions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    150
    18
    13
    5
See reviews for
86
294
81
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had an amazing time there, their staff were excellent all the time with us, good food, good drinks, excellents advises of where to go, excursions, restaurants, night clubs.
The reception area is very comfortable. And the hotel is very good located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had a fantastic time here - very very friendly staff and great location. Great breakfasts, quiet and away from the main street activity and noise. Booking from the UK was straightforward and quick. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Dave's Straw Hat Inn is a perfect place if you want at relaxing and down-to-earth place to stay in Boracay. Location is fantastic, just in the south end of White beach. It is tugged far enough away from the beach to get a good night’s sleep, with no noise from the bars or clubs and yet it is only a 1-2 min walk away from the beach itself. Rooms are clean and daily cleaning service is fast and efficient (and very imaginative towel decorations). Service is excellent and staff is warm and welcoming...And then there is of course the fantastic breakfast pancakes. Mango was our favorite taste of choice :-) We look forward to return to Dave’s…

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Large modern rooms, very clean. Very friendly staff that are genuine. 1 or 2 minute walk from beach. Rooms are cottages so very private, also has nice area to eat.

I would deffo recommend this for anyone as brilliant clean rooms, they clean room every day for u. Some days we left room late and they still cleaned room unlike some other places we have stayed on our travels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Dave's Straw Hat is located about 3 minutes walk from boat station 3 and is the perfect place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of Boracay beach. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable with excellent aircon. Staff are very friendly whilst the rows of books and reasonable menu means you can relax here if you don't want to chill on the beach nearby.

The free use of sun lotion is a nice touch!

Def worth staying at if you want a nice place close to a less hectic beach area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our stay was made Special by the Lovely dedicated crew at Dave's Straw Hat Inn. My partner and I would highly recommend this place, a little back from the beach, Quiet, Peaceful, We stayed in the deluxe suite next to the front desk, a great room! and Spotlessly Clean! the Shower is big and the water Hot and plentiful, Order the fresh fruit pancake its a must try, be warned 1 is big enough for 2 people unless you have a big appetite, the complementary drink is to die for. we stayed 4 days but would spend a week or two next time. Go, you wont regret it...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dave's Straw Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Address: Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Resting Place, which offers a serene and intimate tropical nirvana, located less than a minutes walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. Allow the staff to cater to your needs while you spoil yourself in the beauty of Boracay. Enjoy the family atmosphere and those amenities that most big Boracay resorts offer without the high prices. We have been referred to as the "best budget hotel on Boracay," but without skimping on the comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dave's Straw Hat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dave`s Straw Hat Hotel Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Hotel
Daves Straw Hat Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dave's Straw Hat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.