We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dave's Straw Hat Inn to your Saves list
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Boracay
Makati, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

While i'm staying in Dave straw, i'm really amaze with how nice, friendly and helpful all the staff there. Even i have a lot of ask and request, they still help me sincerely. And most of all, the room is very clean which i'm looking for the hotel to stay. Thank you dave straw, Janet and all the staff. All your help while i'm staying there, highly appreciated. Keep up all your good work and hope to stay in your place again soon! Cheerss!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    150
    18
    13
    5
See reviews for
86
294
81
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What an amazing experience! Dave's Straw hat was a fab place to chill in a quaint, friendly and very clean tropical enclave!!! Liza, Mae and Efrem made us feel like family! Mae can cook like nobody else. Liza's warm greetings as we came and go made our trip so special. We will never stay anywhere else but here when we travel to Boracay!!!!' Thank you for making our stay so special!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

A mate and myself escaped Manila for a weekend for Boracay. Picked the right place to stay. Super friendly, very helpful, simple and cheap. Short walk to where all the action is, but it's fairly scenic on the way. Will be visiting again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The rooms at Dave's are nice and modern, and well-priced if that is what you are looking for. Personally, we were looking for something more rustic, so the modernity of the rooms didn't appeal to us. Still, for what it is, Dave's is great. The staff is wonderful. The only real downside is the location. It is a long walk to restaurants and bars, especially in the low season when Station 3 is very quiet and you can be hit by heavy rains at any point during the walk. Still, this is a selling point for some. So, if you are looking for modern, quiet, relatively inexpensive, and a bit out of the way, Dave's will be great for you. If you are looking for a less modern feel, simply walk next door to Orchids Resort, where you will stay in bamboo rooms and save some money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

stayed for 2 nights in august during our honeymoon - the staff at dave's is fantastic, very nice people and always there to help you with whatever you need. the room was very clean and was great to come home to each day (especially during the typhoon rains!). it's a nice quiet location and was great to be secluded from the really busy parts of the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

i went along to Dave's Straw Hat Inn with my mum and it was absolutely fantastic - I have to admit that we were slightly sceptical when we read the reviews beforehand as we didn't really think that a place could be sooo good, but it really was - the staff were exceptionally friendly (Janet, Lisa and Jean were especially great), the rooms marvellously clean and the food absolutely scrumptious...such a relaxing place to forget about worries...location is 5 mins from the beach at the more chilled out end which made for quite a nice walk back from the bars/clubs that we checked out all the way down the other end...!
Really glad we made the trip and hope to go back again soon one of these days!
(Also bumped into a friend whilst we were there, and we both agreed that this was the best place to stay in Boracay!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Daves is the #1 choice to stay on Boracay.. Excellent value for money, clean,and some of the best service i've encountered on my many vacations throughout Phils..Cheap food and drinks, be sure to try the mango or banana pancakes they're great! Daves is located at the quiter end of White Beach and an easy 15 minute walk to D'mall or an even easier P10 pedicab ride.It's quiter location is good especially for those who value a decent sleep, which i'm sure the bigger more expensive resorts cannot provide.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dave's Straw Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dave's Straw Hat Inn

Address: Sitio Angol, Manoc Manoc | Malay Aklan , 5608, Aklan Province 1265, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Resting Place, which offers a serene and intimate tropical nirvana, located less than a minutes walk to the beautiful Boracay Island "white" beach. Allow the staff to cater to your needs while you spoil yourself in the beauty of Boracay. Enjoy the family atmosphere and those amenities that most big Boracay resorts offer without the high prices. We have been referred to as the "best budget hotel on Boracay," but without skimping on the comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dave's Straw Hat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dave`s Straw Hat Hotel Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Boracay
Daves Straw Hat Hotel
Daves Straw Hat Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dave's Straw Hat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.