We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach)

Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach)
Yapak, 5608, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 34 attractions in Boracay
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The second largest beach on Boracay, this popular destination is also called Puka Shell Beach after the prevalent white seashells.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Hire a boat for a whole Boracay island hoping. Boatman will bring you to this beach were boats stop for an hour or two for lunch and swim. Really love the white sand beach and a crystal clear water And the sand castle made by a very talented local man.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    176
    45
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

the beach is very clean and you can find some shade. The sand is also very nice and the water is clear. The waves can get quite big. You have to take a tricycle to come here. You must come here during your stay at Boracay.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Love Puka Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Puka Beach is the place I often retreat to at the weekends with my colleagues and friends.

We go well prepared with water, snacks, books, scuba gear etc which allows us to walk a nice distance away from the entrance and the small groups which arrive on Banca's and Paraw's as part of their island hopping tours.

It is with sadness that my favourite restaurant has closed and demolished to make way for a new resort but there is still one restaurant at the main entrance and they thankfully haven't hiked their prices now that they have no competition.

There's also a couple of little spots further up the beach where you can buy food straight off the grill and there are usually one or two ice cream sellers walking up and down the beach

Puka has some great little scuba spots but it's easy to get disorientated when swimming from one reef to the next, and I would encourage anyone to make sure that their friends are keeping an eye on them, as the current can be strong and some of the banca's can sail close to the shoreline.

Puka's sand is not powdery white like White Beach, but is made up of lots of shells and coral pieces, which is great for hunting with kids. Just remember that you should not remove these from the beach; take only photos, leave only footprints!

Puka, for me, is my escape beach - especially in high season when White Beach is crowded with travellers, hawkers and boats

My One Tip - when leaving (1. take all your rubbish with you please) is to walk up the road a way from the Trike Parking area. It should cost around 100PHP to get back to D'Mall but if you pick up a trike at the beach entrance they'll charge you a lot more and they'll all quote the same price. Walk up the road and you'll either reach agreement with a trike driver just dropping people off or one of those waiting at the entrance will drive after you and you can reach a reasonable fare for your return

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Stunning and secluded!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Probably the most amazing beach I have ever been to. It was beautiful and unspoilt. Only a few stalls and bars near the entrance. We managed to find a spot which was completely to ourselves. A must visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio City, Philippines
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“a looooot of puka shells!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Not much to do here. This was one of our stops when we had our island hopping. We just bought some accessories from the locals there. It was a little difficult to walk because the sand was too soft, and there were a lot of shells (not comfy for you feet).
But if you want quiet and less people, this is definitely worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach) also viewed

 

Been to Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach) to your Saves list