We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach)

Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach)
Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Attractions in Boracay
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The second largest beach on Boracay, this popular destination is also called Puka Shell Beach after the prevalent white seashells.
Warrnambool, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We travelled to puka beach by Tricycle and it cost us 150php booth ways but the driver sat there for an hour while we looked around to take us back into white beach. There are a number of stalls there much the same as along white beach but a little cheaper.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    205
    59
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I wish it would stay pristine, like a hidden paradise that's totally opposite White Beach. It could be made a little bit accessible but not totally overpopulated with establishments. That way, it could be a haven for people who aren't comfortable with the wild parties at White Beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A mystic distinction of peace and joy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The beach is equally interesting as in the White Beach. Though the sand is bit coarser and less perpetual white, it has character of its own. The sand glitters on a sunny day as this composed of fragments of well-polish puka shell and other shell variety. The shoreline is considerably long with its 1.3km stretch. The water was perfectly clean and the waves were playful. We stayed so long for the day in this place just to catch a different scenery of the setting sun in this corner of Boracay island. And we were not failed. It was so beautiful and mystical.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Much to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Upon landing in this area, you will be approached by many local vendors trying to sell their goods, at which point becomes annoying. However, it's a consolation that the beach is beautiful and the water is CRYSTAL CLEAR and comfortably warm.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Quiet, private and shell-y”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Puka Beach is located at the north of Boracay so not many people go there. We stayed at Alta Vista so it was nearer to us.

We loved the fact that it gives the private feel with minimal crowd. Plus we had our lounge chairs and huts allocated to us by the hotel.

No tout going about asking you if you want boat rides etc. Very few vendors trying to push souvenirs so the experience was indeed much undisrupted.

Sunset view from Puka Beach was just as pretty as the one in White Beach (unless you like the view of many boats lining the sunset like in White Beach).

Beware: Walking on Puka Beach is like walking on a sea of Lego bricks because of the sea shells so unless you have strong soles, wear your flip flops. That's why it is called Puka :P

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach) also viewed

Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yapak Beach (Puka Shell Beach), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.