We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not safe” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bat Caves

Bat Caves
East of Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 63 things to do in Boracay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At twilight every day, thousands of bats awake from the caves and fly over White Beach.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“not safe”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

don't let the official tour guide badge fool you, this is a country specializing in knock-offs . The cave itself is pretty cool, but there is no easy, or safe way in or out. I have crocs on and it was extremely slippery and steep, one wrong slip and you would be a statistic. This place would benefit by some climbing aid, even just a rope. Very hot and humid and muddy and slippery. Some bats, saw a crab and a snake, some poor stalagtites etc. Stick to the beach attractions.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    5
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Nice interesting tour, guide was great and new lots bout the area

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was my first bat cave experience, so I'm unjaded in saying that it was an awesome one.
The trek through the jungle is ok, but the cave itself is steep, slippery when wet, and fairly dangerous on the best of days. So naturally my girlfriend and I were interested in doing it.
There's a pool at the bottom of the cave that emits light from below because the cave actually empties into the sea. Amazing sight. Amazing experience. Oh, yeah, and the bats have a blast with every visitor.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Poop!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was really cool, but quiet dangerous - you should have proper hiking shoes on to go deep into the cave. It is incredibly hot and smells like, well, poop. There is bat poop everywhere, be prepared to get VERY DIRTY. It was a very neat adventure, but I dont think I would do it again. The Crystal Cave (next to it) is about the same but no bats- no poop. We enjoyed the walk through the jungle and our guide was amazing, but not worth ruining my clothes for :)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
“Too Many Hustlers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Many people like to go to this location, but in my opinion its a waste of time I rate it as average as others may like it. To get to the caves, you must deal with a myriad of hustlers trying to charge you for this or for that or in some case trying to take advantage of unwary tourists. Its just too tiring to deal with them for us, even though the caves may be slightly interesting. It is not worth dealing with the hassle.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bat Caves also viewed

Boracay, Aklan Province
 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to Bat Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bat Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.