We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worthy experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balinghai Beach

Balinghai Beach
Balabag | Naturephilippine. Com, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 30 Attractions in Boracay
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A romantic, secluded cove on the northern tip of the island.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Really worthy experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We've been on the both parts of Balinghai beach - the almost wild part and on the beach of Balinghai hotel. On the wild part we were delivered by boat for BBQ and snorkeling. BBQ from Red pirates was beautiful, but the beach in this place is not really good - many broken glass in the sand.
The beach of the Balinghay hotel is very comfortable. We've been there all the day long. There is the restaurant here, in the beach, and you can eat and drink whenever you want. The beach beds are soft and pleasant, the sand is white. And there are many living beens here - on the shore and in the sea.
Near the beach tied several rafts for snorkeling. The sea life that we've seen from them was very interesting - starfishes, urchins, corals, fishes...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    7
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Paradise and a very romantic dinner option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My boyfriend and 5 friends of ours rented a house in the nearby Alargo villas for 4 days, they are right next door, off the same branch road. The first morning we were politely stopped at the top and told that it was a private beach for hotel guests only, but as soon as they realized we would be buying food and drinks from the restaurant, we were wholeheartedly welcomed. In fact, they missed us when we didn't visit that beach one day.
So this is a perfect setting, once you are down the stairs - there are lounge chairs, excellent snorkeling, protected swimming from the passing boats, and the most wonderful little bar with a sweet basket system with the kitchen further up the cliff. There are even platforms a little ways out in the water to sunbathe on/dive off of, a spot to rest at while snorkeling. Bring your own mask, I'm not sure if they rent them.
The beach is shaded by a large tree, which we were told by the bartender, it has night blooming flowers. My boyfriend and I were interested in seeing these flowers, so we set up reservations with the reception desk for a 3 course dinner for the next day around sunset. We paid half the dinner cost up front, which is really inexpensive by US standards. Here's the most amazing thing - we came back the next day, they had made the beach private for us, and set up several candles, a bonfire, scattered flowers around and a single table in the middle, lined up with the sunset. Dinner was delicious, we had chosen the seafood option.
It didn't matter that the tree flowers never bloomed - this was the most romantic dinner of my life. If you are looking for an engagement spot or a celebration dinner, I'm not sure what could top this experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Got to Dive here, very cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Much more relaxing beach than white sand, and the diving is excelent!! Make sure you make it for happy hour because they have tons of great deals!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“NEVER in low season!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

First of all, I want to be clear that my husband and I were very excited to book at Balinghai. We were so excited, we booked about 9 months in advance to be sure we could get a room. We saw the pictures, knew how peaceful and romantic it was, knew that it was more 'rustic', and knew about the tons of stairs to and from the beach, reception, etc. Email confirmations were quick and professional.

Then we arrived (July 2012).

We were one of only two rooms being used...which originally we thought excellent, more like a private resort...Until we were told that due to low season, they would only have two people working at a time, no reception available in the evenings (meaning you can't go to town or eat-no way to phone a tricycle, and no one to man the restaurant). What???!!! Oh, and by the way, the 'beach bar' down at the beach will "only have staff for a limited time, maybe only two times this week". Huh? This isn't what we signed up for....

A little stunned, we went to check out our room, Rock House. It is as charming and romantic as all the reviews state. I do agree with previous posters that due to the bathroom being on the first floor, and the bedroom on the second, using the washroom during the dark requires a good high powered flashlight, and could be a little creepy with 'creepy crawlies' about.

Wanting to see if we could make the best of it, we decided to head down to the beach. Yes, there are many steps, and yes, we knew this. What we did NOT know were that the steps simply STOP at times - as in three foot drops from the steps to the sand-and even still, the 'sand' in some of these drop offs were collections of loose stones. My husband had to literally lift me by the waist at times as the drop was too steep (I'm 5,4). Then you have to balance precariously on the rocks, hoping you're not going to roll an ankle. Running shoes would have helped, but come on, you want to wear runners to the beach?

STILL - we thought maybe the beach was better. It was totally deserted....of anything. No beach bar operating, rusty beach beds nowhere to be seen (we were told later by staff this was low season so they weren't setting them out)...Great...so we can go to a beach and stand...lovely.... (sarcasm noted)...The photo currently of the boat, beach beds, and umbrella SIMPLY DOESN"T EXIST in low season or if the hotel is underbooked.

Heartbroken, that one of our 'dream locations' on our vacation was turning into such a dud, we used the free wifi to search for another hotel. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR AN ALTERNATE TO WHITE BEACH and want a similar seclusion to Baling Hai, stay in the Diniwald area. Check my review for Artisa Beach Villas. We caught a trycicle there, where not only did they match the rate we were given at Baling Hai, but threw in complementary breakfasts as they could see how distraught we were with our Boracay experience. We returned to Baling Hai to move.

This is when things went from disappointing and disheartening to simply Unbelievable. We were literally at Baling Hai LESS THAN 30 mins-we didn't even unlock our luggage! When we explained our issues to the desk (the lack of staff, no beach beds, no beach service, no evening staffing, and dangerous drop offs on the stairs) she said there was NOTHING SHE COULD DO.

THERE IS NO REFUND. So - if you book in advance, you forfeit your ENTIRE stay - not even just the first day (which we still think is shocking for 30 mins, but we should have received the other four days refunded). Essentially, if you book more than one day in advance, show up, and decide it's not to your liking in any way, your money is gone.

We emailed the owner outlining our grievances, as none of these 'low season changes' were known to us in advance. We got an email back saying we were informed of the stairs (which was never our issue - the condition of the large drops which we were not informed of, and having to tip toe over large loose rock piles) were not acknowledged. The owner had a chance to make this right with a refund, and refused to do so.

I have travelled to over 20 countries in the past two years, from 1.5 stars to 5 star luxury resorts, and categorically, this is THE WORST CANCELLATION SERVICE I have EVER encountered. Even with the corruption rampant in Ukraine, the standard practice is to refund the other days, and possibly charge for the first. Most reasonable places would realize if you get there, and the hotel failed to inform you of major changes, a 30 minute stay would result in a full refund.

IF YOU GO - perhaps only book one night, as if it's not what you were lead to believe, you would only lose one night's fees. If it is what it has the potential to be (high season), book subsequent nights only after you get there.

Shame, Balinghai, Shame on you.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Tropical Cove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great private beach in the Island of Boracay. Though it is a small cove but ideal for families and couples who want a peaceful but enjoyable vacation on the Island but not ideal for a solo travelers who want party all day and all night:) Since this is Private Beach (cove), it is located away from the crowded area of the Island. It is located in Brgy. Yapak (Baling Hai - Yapak) approximately 20mins from D'Mall via tricycle. You can enjoy not only the beach but also the trees around the place. The private villas are scattered around the private property overlooking the beach since the property is a cliff-forest type.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balinghai Beach also viewed

Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 
Boracay, Aklan Province
Boracay, Aklan Province
 

Been to Balinghai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balinghai Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.